We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Bahia Punta Cana NOT so "Gran"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Gran Bahia Punta Cana NOT so "Gran"”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

On a recent trip with my friend this week we found many problems with this hotel. Unfortunately there were more Cons then Pros, but let's start with the positive

Cleanliness- The hotel is very clean, except for the lobby/pool bathrooms which at times were a little messy depending on when you went to use them. Other than that the hotel was very clean and maintained. There were workers always out maintaining the grounds, painting, and cleaning the pool and beach area which were all very clean.

Hotel Staff- Most of the staff here were very kind and helpful ( with the exception of the reception/guest services). The towel guys, bartenders at the pool/lobby, and the workers in the restaurants were all very friendly, kind, and helpful. They worked very hard and always had a smile on their face

Now to the CONS
Front Desk- Upon check in they could not find our reservation, check in was a complete disaster, even though we had all our information. This took over 3 hours to finally get a room. When they finally found a room they tried to through in an "upgrade" option which was ridiculous. Saying that for 200 more per person we would get a better room and would be able to eat anywhere in the hotel. Dont fall for this especially because the golden rooms were just the same as the others located in the Punta Cana side.The staff at front was also not very helpful and constantly had the same answer to every question we asked which was "that is not possible".

The Room- After we finally arrived in our room after all the check-in problems we realized that we did NOT have a tv remote, no hot water & the shower would also turn off mid rinse( be careful), there were holes in our shower which I covered using flowers, and the balcony door did not lock or close. During our stay we were also bitten by some kind of bugs in the room. It took 2 days after several complaints to the front desk and speaking to guest services/managers for someone to finally come to our room with a remote, and fix the door and water. Instead of just switching the room they made it very difficult to enjoy or feel comfortable in the beginning of our vacation by giving us the run around.
Our room phone also did not work to make outgoing local calls which we needed to do once to speak with our transportation company. When we went to the front desk they would also not allow us to make a local call for us and said that the front desk phone did not dial out or make local calls which was obviously ridiculous.There was one nice lady in guest services who allowed us to finally make the call the next day.

Another important thing to keep in mind is the size of this hotel, it is very big and in order to get around depending on where you stay you need to take a trolley, which at times was annoying. Also there is nightly entertainment but all lobby bars close at 1130 and the only other places to go after that is the casino,disco,or sports bar.

If you are expecting good customer service here I would certainly think twice before booking a room at the Gran Bahia because if you have any problems don't expect them to be handled too quickly no matter how persistent you are.

Room Tip: They will try to offer you an upgrade to stay at AMBAR or ESMERELDA but for a price be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teemarie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,256
    2,002
    988
    386
    294
See reviews for
2,424
2,674
98
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lexington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We visited this resort June 19 for 7 nights. We'd booked the Punta Cana Golden section. Upon arrival, we were told they'd booked our room and upgraded us free to the Esmeralda section. At first I was a little upset by this, but after reaching our rooms, we couldn't be happier. This section is the best of the resort. We had access to everything. All areas of the resort. The resort is quite large and the Esmeralda is right on the beach. It is more quiet and we loved it. You do have to get to the beach early if you want a hut, but there were plenty of chairs and some in the shade of the plam trees. Our pool was beautiful, but the water was warm like bath water by noon.
We never waited on drinks. But we found out there is little, if any, rum in the drinks. But all you have to do is say whatever drink "with rum" and they fixed you right up!
We ate at the buffet all the time and found it to be really good and once we got to know our waiters, it was a lot of fun to go there. Every night they had a different theme and greet you at the door with a drink, breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Room service was good too. There is a limited menu, but it was perfect for us.
As for tipping. . . we had taken plenty of $1 and tiped when we ate in the restaurants, housekeeping and room service. It ranged from one to three bucks. We didn't have money on us when at the beach or pools so we didn't tip then.
We never had to wait long for the tram and it was perfect. Also, a short walk up the beach toward the Riu is a group of local vendors where you can do some shopping.
No cockroaches either. Our bed was good too. I slept very well. Nice kingsized canapy bed. Bathroom very large with separate shower and double sinks. We felt like our section was 5 star. Better than the Golden Section.
We did have trouble with the language issue. But all in all a good vacation. And there was sea weed on the beachs and every day there were works out there raking and picking it up. There was always someone working on the grounds. It was very well kept and looks just like the pictures everyone has posted or the hotel pics.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melissat193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just came back after one week with my wife and two kids, we had an excellent time i have nothing bad stay about this hotel the service was excellent the food was excellent the shows was excellent the room was excellent with swimming as our backyard! nice.
we love this place buffet food was totally awsome and varieties galore well presented and cooked very nice !! we would go back again with out hesitations! DONT LISTEN TO THOSE PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN AND WHINE ABOUT THIS PLACE THEY ARE LOOSERS AND HAVE NOTHING BETTER TO DO THAN COMPLAIN THE SHOULD NOT TRAVEL AND STAY HOME!!!!! GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE PUNTA CANA IS AN EXCELLENT HOTEL FOR THE VALUE! OUR NEXT HOTEL STAY WILL BE THE ESMERALDA BAHIA!! WOW! CANT WAIT!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank khan8185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at this complex for two weeks in June the service in the main restaurant at the evening meal was poor the food was good.there are 14 other restaurants on this complex only 6 where open. the room was nice,some days we had a shortage of towels and we had to ask for the fridge to be filled a number of times. The shows where good
The lobby bar had entertainment which was good but the area was very hot and did;nt have air conditioning also very few fans. the swimming pools are lovely ,the gardeners keep the grounds in exellant condition.The beach is lovely but if you want sunbeds with shades you need to be up early.If you want to book trips you can book with your travel company on line cheaper than in resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeldazoom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I'll try my best to give a detailed review so that people considering this hotel can make a decision.

What an amazing place!!!!!
We arrived at the airport and the weather was gorgeous. We walked into arrivals and waited about 20 mins to hand in our imagration forms and $10 so that we was allowed into the country. Whilst waiting there was some Dominican men playing instruments and singing which kept us entertained. After, we walked straight to the carosel to collect our luggage which appeared very quickly, once we had our bags, one of the locals tried to help us with our bags, we did allow him to help us as the airport was very busy and he got us to our rep and our coach within 5 minutes! We gave him a tip but I think he would have left without one if we didn't offer.
As soon as we got onto the coach the aircon was a delight as the heat was VERY hot. The rep/guide on the coach spoke very good english which we thought was very important as they tell you alot that you need to know about your hotel, local area, the do's and don't do's. After a 10 minute talk during the journey to our hotel he entertained us to make the journey go alot quicker, which it did!
Once we arrived at our hotel there were some 'bellboys' unloading our cases off the coach and into the lobby and we was taken into a seperate check-in area away from the normal check-in, there we were greeted with a ice cold slush drink which was divine. We had chosen the GOLDEN CLUB within the hotel which was an upgrade from the normal rooms and facilities. The meeting didnt last too long, and we was given our rooms keys and told abit about the hotel and then sent on our way to the lobby where the 'bellboys' put our cases onto a little bus and took us straight to our room which was located near the beach, he pulled up right outside our door and loaded our cases into our rooms for us.
The GOLDEN CLUB allowed us to use 3 of the pools provided instead of 2 and we had 4 Al a carte choices instead of 3 and our room was alot more spacious and modern. We also had a mini bar in our room which was stocked everyday with beer, 7up, pepsi, orangeage and bottles of safe drinking water (all included in the all inclusive). The bathroom was all marble and we had a bath/ jacquzzi. The bed was huge! The size was equivilent to 2 double beds together (sleeps 4). There was free internet everyday in the lobby which was handy when wanting to speak to relatives/friends back home.

FOOD: The food was very nice and the buffet area was VERY clean and the staff were so friendly you couldnt fault them at all. However, I am a very picky person when it comes to food, I was very pleased when we got to go to the Al a Cartes, so that I got to eat somme more familiar foods.
DRINKS: The local drink in dominican is rum, but they have cocktails and other alcoholic beverages on off in the all inclusive as well as soft drinks.

The complex is absolutely huge! I think it had 5 hotels on one site, all 'GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE'. There are bus/karts running every 5 minutes to take you from the beach to your rooms and to the buffet and lobby all the time which is very handy, but mostly we walked, it only took 5 minutes to get around from different areas.

The pools are beautiful and there are plenty of palm leaf umberellas to get in the shade if it becomes to hot, around the pool and on the beach, trust me you will use them at some point. There are bars in every pool so that drinks are always on offer!

Entertainment: The entertainment wasn't great for older couples, the michael jackson show is a must see! it was amazing. I would say the entertainment for children is brilliant, always getting them involved in activities.

The beach: As you would think, PARADISE. Absolutely beautiful. Thats all I have to say about it really. There are bars on beach too, so drinks on hand 24/7. There are alot of activities to do on the beach. E.G paragliding, snorkling, banana boats, donuts, volleyball, speed boats, helicopters. Alot to choose from.

The have shops on the resort for everything you will need including designer clothing and accessories and your everyday needs.

The staff were so friendly, I couldnt fault them in one way what so ever!!!!

Overall i hope this review helps you in choosing your holiday, I will DEFINATELY be returning.

Room Tip: upgrade to golden club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank J22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Just got back from 2 weeks in the Royal Golden and had an absolutely great 1st experience of the Carribean. It was the chill out holiday that my wife and I needed. Where do I start?
FOOD..
How people can moan about the buffets, I'll never know because there was so much choice and it was all so nice. The breakfast was excellent, especially the omelletes which you choose the filling for. Snack bars were great if you were near the pool or beach and the evening buffets were excellent as well. Tried the restaurants apart from the Mexican which was a bit bland all the others were great especially the Garden Grill and Med (can't spell the rest of it).
The resort itself was immaculate, so well manicured gardens and the cleanliness of the whole resort was impressive. Stunning lobbies, great pools and a great beach. Don't be intimidated about the size of the resort as the trollies pass every 5-10 mins to take you where you need to go.
The only little complaint that I did have was the irregularity with which my fridge was stocked, some days no beer then a good tip to the maid and it was stacked. Same with soft drinks and coffee as if she expected it all the time but as for the staff as a whole, they are a credit to their country. So polite and friendly but hard to get to know them as the resort was so big, you hardly had the same waiter twice.
Would we go back? YES. And I would use other Grand Bahia resorts. Try it people I am sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A little tip goes a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwrcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Laurent-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

First nite can not sleep : he room smelt so bad
Second nite got a room with 1 king size and a sofa bed for a family of 4
then stayed there because there was no room available as request 2 month in advance:2beds and second floor
The beach : there is no other words I could use :dirty and unclean during my 8 days stay
Stay away from those guy at the loby with the badge "Privilege member" , they try to get you to a 60 minutes tour showing the new Hotel with a same price but endup to sell you a VIP membership for 13000$ (cost me 2 and half hours, and we hardly escape from them )

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank huynhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,460 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing