We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Excursion”

Bavaro Runners Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.98*
and up
Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour from Punta Cana
Ranked #9 of 230 Tours in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore all the hidden treasures that this wonderful country has to offer. Visit a spectacular cave, ancient shelter for the Taino Indians and discover their secrets. Enter a typical house and learn how the local people live and visit their coffee and cocoa plantations. Also have fun horseback riding. Take a walk through the sugarcane field and see firsthand how Dominicans roll the world's best cigars. An adventure high in colors!
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
“Great Excursion”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is the best excursion we booked while in the DR. Very interesting and informative. It really shows what the towns and just life in general is like for the people there. All in all, very worth the money spent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runners_Adventures, Manager at Bavaro Runners Adventures, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are proud about our staff and yes, Nacho is very entertaining and informative. You definitely have to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    180
    30
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meshoppen, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dominican Culture Tour with Nacho”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fun excursion to see the Dominican culture first hand. The open-air safari trucks picked us up at our hotel. Our tour guide (Nacho) and driver (Rolando) made the experience top notch. We traveled a little ways on paved highway before going on a bumpy ride to tour the farms and sites (their roads are in sad shape -- but not as bad as what we experienced in Jamaica).
We visited an area where we saw how coffee, cocoa (the best ever), sugar cane were raised and processed. We stopped and had a lesson on cigar making (there were several on our tour who wished they'd seen this before they purchased cigars on the beach), the rum distillery was quite interesting as well as the historical background information on the island with two countries (Haiti and Dominican Republic). My favorite part was Nacho sharing of natural recipes for ailments and the spices, cocoa and coffee tastings stop. (Yes, some of those made it home to Pennsylvania!) The stop for lunch was good. (Glad for the flush toilets and running water).
Nacho's fun personality and love of history, storytelling and jokes made the trip enjoyable for all.
Be certain if you book to ask for Nacho -- you'll be quite glad you did!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runners_Adventures, Manager at Bavaro Runners Adventures, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are proud about our staff and yes, Nacho is very entertaining and informative. You definitely have to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Safari Adventure with Nachos and Freddie”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went to the Dominican for the first time for our 25th wedding anniversary we took a day tour and our guide (Nachos) and driver (Freddie) where simply the best we have a great time leaving about the local culture and lifestyle.

We learnt how coffee is made as well as coco processing.

The ride but a little bumpy but it was to be expected with the shape of the roads we where on.

Lunch on the river was very good.
We cant wait to go back to the Dominican (Punta Cana) again next year.

If we happen to go on a tour I hope Nachos and Freddie are with us.

Randy and Mary Anne

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runners_Adventures, Manager at Bavaro Runners Adventures, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Randy and Mary Anne, We hope to see you again next year! Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best way to learn about country and its people”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We truly enjoyed the whole day tour of sugar cane fields, horseback riding, learning about the people of this beautiful country and their history. The cave tour was very interesting. Its a shame the Taino natives were totally wiped out by Columbus, But be aware, their back roads are not paved so you will be bouncing all over the place. We called it a free massage, though I need to see my chiropractor to get adjusted now that we are home. We toured sugar cane, tobacco, coffee, chocolate plantations. We got to see how most Dominicans live. They have about 1/8 of what we (USA) have and they are happier than we are. They live off the land and appreciate everything that has been given to us. The President is making sure everyone no matter what age learns to read & write..God Bless this beautiful country.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzeQ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runners_Adventures, Manager at Bavaro Runners Adventures, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your positive comment about our tour and our country! Bumpy terrain is what we call "Dominican Massage" and is part of the real Dominican Republic. We are glad that you learned the real way of life that Dominicans live! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok but too much time on really bumpy roads”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

They should warn you about the very large amount of really bumpy terrain you have to go on....rocky roads to get to each stop. Caves were interesting....would have been better to give samples of sugar cane instead of squeezing the juice out of it (yuck)....kids enjoyed it but much more traveling than things to see and do.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runners_Adventures, Manager at Bavaro Runners Adventures, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your positive comment about our tour and our country! Bumpy terrain is what we call "Dominican Massage" and is part of the real Dominican Republic. We are glad that you learned the real way of life that Dominicans live! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavaro Runners Adventures also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Bavaro Runners Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing