We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another fantastic holiday at the Majestic Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Ranked #22 of 108 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another fantastic holiday at the Majestic Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just returned from our 5th stay at the Majestic Elegance Club in Punta Cana and had a fantastic time. Everything was definitely 5 star! The food was great - my mother practically licked the plate of the lamb she ordered in the Gourmet Restaurant. Our thanks to Head Chef Virginia for the 'out of this world' romantic dinner for two that she provided to us (see attached pictures). The food was wonderful, the venue (the wedding gazebo) beautiful and the service of Nelson Mandela was perfect (his decorations and service were impecable!)
The service throughout the Majestic Elegance was wonderful - we send our special thanks to Maxima at the Elegance Club Pool Bar who always has a smile and a cold drink for us. We would also like to mention the great service from Francis at the Lobby Bar, Randy in the Gourmet Restaurant and the new young man cooking the eggs in the Sea and Sea in the morning - always a smile and a perfect omlet. We also send out thanks to Thomas at the Casino bar for his fabulous service.
The Elegance Club cocktail parties were wonderful - lots of fun and great food. We also love the grapes in white chocolate delivered to our room. Choosing the Elegance Club is well worth the upgrade!

We can't wait for our next visit to this "Excellenté" resort!!!

Room Tip: Any pool-view room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,372
    3,268
    1,120
    400
    267
See reviews for
2,453
7,800
105
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,689)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Magestic Elegance would be more aptly name - Brokedown Palace. From the outside, the place does look Majestic, but a closer look reveals some significant issues. The rooms smell, and the tubs, and fixtures are dirty and rusting. Air conditioning is spoardic and can lead to very hot rooms. The pillows in the room are the tiniest I've ever seen and are meant for dolls or hobbits, but certainly not adults.
The staff is average, but not overly concerned about making your stay comfortable. Rooms were not ready for a 2 pm check in. The mini bar was only periodically stocked, which is troublesome when it's your only source of drinkable water.
The food is average, with many of the al a carte restaurants featuring the same fare as the buffet - boring.
Travelled with small children and the play place look old and delapidated. Would not recommend. The evening shows were entertaining and well thought out.
The pool area is very nice and does provide for some relaxation - but that's about it.
All in all, if you are looking for luxury, or even a mid-level all inclusive look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are very nice, with easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quinlc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I went to the Majestic Elegance with a large wedding party from Nov 17th 2012 until the 24th.
I am not one to write reviews on hotels, but felt compelled to after my stay at the Majestic Elegance.
After our initial greeting, we were handed a folder/passport with our Room and Towel cards, and sent on our way without any instruction on where our room was or how to find it. The service at the Bars/Restaurants was great, but the front desk/phone service was terrible.
We stayed in a swim-up suite with our 2 children, and the room was a disappointment from the start. Our room had a very distinct musty and damp smell to it. The shower head was falling apart, the shower attachments didn't work, and there was a dirty film over the bath fixtures. The finishing touches with paint and plaster was a mess, and it definitely wasn’t elegant. I would suggest bringing pillows, as the ones the hotel provides are tiny. The Maid service was good, and they cleaned consistently every day.
After discussing with other people in our group, most people complained about the smell in the rooms, and many had multiple issues with the air conditioning.
I visited approximately 8 different rooms (Including the Elegance club), and found the state of the rooms to be fairly consistent.
The food was average to poor, but I did enjoy the Japanese and steak restaurant. The buffet food was usually stale and was average tasting at best. They had Pizza and burgers for kids at the buffets, but the burgers were terrible.
The pool was clean, but the tiles are falling off all over. There was very little for kids entertainment, and the kids club at the colonial is a filthy mess, and I would never leave my kids there.
The alcohol is cheap and they can’t make consistent drinks from one bar to the next.
The beach out front was really nice and we never struggled to find free chairs/umbrellas. The kids had a great time in the Ocean.
I realize the humidity levels in the Dominican are high which causes issues with the building/rooms, but I found the pictures and descriptions of this resort misleading.
If you are expecting 5 star (4.5) quality and service you will be disappointed, in my opinion this is a 3.5 Star resort that needs a lot of work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Korry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Best vacation ever! I wish I didn't have to leave! The resort was nice but nothing over the top. Food was good, beach was really nice. What made this resort exceptional was the staff, they really go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. The 'Funjestic' team was great, they forced you to have fun, I loved that. Can't say enough about the whole team!! Coffee Girl and Crazy Jackson were my favorites, but again, the whole team made the trip for me!!
The food was good at some resaurants and awesome at others. My personal fave was the japanese hibatchi grill, loved it there, Virgilio and Julio were the best there! Virgilio was full of character and Julio had some skills!
All of the bars were good but I found we spent most of our time at the lobby bar because of Diana Martinez. She was a sweet heart, and remembered our names and favorite drinks and was just an overall pleasure to be around.
To future travellers I would recommend brushing up on a little spanish, the more you have, the easier communication will be. I also recommend tipping, a little bit goes a long way, it will put a smile on the servers face for sure. Also be friendly, the staff will reciprocate the attitude. Like anywhere if you are snotty and errogant towards them, you are not going to have the same experience. We sat with a pair of ladies from toronto at our japanese dinner that were just snotty and rude, and they hated their experience but I don't think a winning lottery ticket could have made those two smile.
The Dominican was beautiful overall and will go back to this resort purely because of the staff! Friendly people, even off the resort people were friendly!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonp252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. We have stood at other all inclusive resorts so kinda know what to expect. We truly enjoyed this resort. My husband and I always read the reviews but go with an open mind to decide for ourselves. The room was beautiful. The food was good definitely better than other resorts we've been to. It's quite easy to get reservations for the restaurants. The rib eye steak at the steakhouse restaurant is excellent. No need for a reservation. Ask to be seated in the area Richard is working you will be well taken care of. The Presidente beer does take some getting used to but we added some lime and it was all good. Also, Jasmine (Coffee Girl) from the Funjestic Team, made our trip more fun. She took the time to talk to us and being it was just my husband and I, she would come up to us and take pictures of us with our own camera which was greatly appreciated because it difficult to take those of yourselves.Only negative: Pool closes to early, 6:00pm. Hope this reviews helps and we enjoy the Majestic Elegance as much as we did!

Room Tip: We booked a swim up room and loved our location. We were not to far from anything. Obviously the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Majestic Elegance in October 2012. A special thank you goes out to Argenis Guzman Castillo who made our stay most memorable. Argenis made sure that we were well taken care of as I have life threatening, anaphylactic food allergies. Another special thank you goes to Ariella Aquino M. as she was so incredibly kind and thoughtful during our stay . . . and of course to Roberto Tavarez the famous bartender! They are truly a 5 star staff! This stay was as amazing as our last stay at the Elegance. The food is VERY good and there is something for everyone. We love the fact they cater to guests with food allergies and food sensitivities. They even had a celiac station. We always found management staff available to assist with special requests. Our room was beautiful and kept spotless. We had no issues with towels and face cloths, which staff replaced daily. The grounds are immaculate and you will always see staff working hard to keep it that way. We cannot say much about the shows as we spent most nights up at the bar with Roberto while chatting with other guests. People are incredibly friendly at this resort. We are returning to the sister hotel, the Majestic Colonial, in January 2013, and are looking forward to our stay. Thank you so much to Elena Alvarez who while we stayed at the Majestic Elegance in October took time to give us a private tour of the Majestic Colonial. She was very detailed, ensuring our upcoming stay is perfect. Then there is the beach, so beautiful and warm. Hello to Yaqui at the Steak House!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OakRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful getaway vacation! We spend 5nights at the majestic elegance and loved every minute. There were several employees that made our experience the best. Our butler, Dario is a top notch employee that knew what you wanted before you do. Extremely friendly and always checks in with you. I relaxed and Dario took care of everything, such as dinner reservations, aromatherapy, jacuzzi bath drawn at a specific time and more. The best bartenders by far were Reynaldo B. and Santa F. They were located at the first elegance club members pool bar. He is talented with a variety of mixed drinks. We found ourselves continuously going to him for the best preminium drinks. Absolutely wonderful service. Another employee that took very good care of us was Bienvenido at the towel service. He always greets you with a smile. We were surrounded with some great people. On the other hand, I didn't like the female employees at the gift shop. They constantly follow you and ask you what you are looking for. Its a crime to browse! The enterainment staff was AWESOME.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teethandbnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majesctic Colonial Punta Cana
10.9 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#13 of 108 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 11,745 reviews
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Elegance Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Elegance Punta Cana

Property: Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Address: Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro | Arena Gorda a Macao, Punta Cana 3005, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Elegance Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in October 2008, the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana is the answer to fulfill the needs of a clientele, which is becoming more demanding of a high-end menu of facilities and services. This spectacular 5 star all inclusive resort is surrounded by the most astonishing landscapes, exuberant flora and fauna, making it an ideal place for Caribbean lovers and first timers visiting the Dominican Republic. In two words “comfort and style”, is the best definition to describe the New Majestic Elegance Punta Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Majestic Elegance Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Elegance Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Majestic Elegance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing