We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really expensive but worth it!”
Review of La Yola Restaurant

La Yola Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 320 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Mediterranean and seafood restaurant awarded with the AAA Three Diamond Award, is modeled after a fisherman’s boat and perched right on the sea with magnificent views of the sparkling turquoise waters.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Really expensive but worth it!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Amazing food, service and location. It is pricey but you're on holiday! So just go, go on go.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at La Yola Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Randj,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your dinner experience at La Yola. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at La Yola Restaurant , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY & La YOLA
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    135
    46
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful location!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

amazing menu served w/ excellence and wonderful location near the Punta Cana beach resort...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kwitsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at La Yola Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Kwitsil,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your dinner experience at La Yola. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at La Yola Restaurant , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY & La YOLA
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of Punta Cana's top restaurants”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have lived in Punta Cana since 2004, and if you ask me which is one of the area's top restaurants, I'd definitely say "La Yola". This small restaurant, which is located in the marina of the Puntacana Resort & Club, gets a mix of tourists from the Punta Cana hotel and Tortuga Bay Hotel and wealthy Dominicans and foreigners living nearby.
Pricewise, it's one of the most expensive places you can eat in town, but once in a while it's worth it if you want to treat yourself to a superb dinner or if you are celebrating a special occasion in your life.
The restaurant is a wooden building that is shaped like a boat hanging over the ocean. In the daytime you can marvel at the beauty of the turquoise ocean and in the evening you can listen to the soothing sounds of the waves moving beneath your feet.
The staff is very professional (although a lot of forks were dropped during my dinner there tonight!), very friendly and polite. Even though the restaurant was full, service was also fast, which is quite refreshing.
My last dinner at La Yola was a little over a year ago where I had the biggest and best lobster I have ever had in the Dominican Republic - the memory of that lobster is still clear in my mind. Right now is not lobster season, as there is a ban on fishing them at a certain time of year.
So tonight I had the rock salad, which was good but did not blow my mind. I had the tuna steak with Asian style vegetables which was cooked perfectly - nice and pink inside. Personally, I like it better when tuna is served in strips or smaller cuts, but apart from that it was very tasty. The vegetables were great with a hint of sesame flavor. I finished off with a crepe with fruits and ice cream, which as a perfect ending to a really wonderful meal.
For anyone staying in Punta Cana - especially at the Puntacana Resort & Club - I definitely recommend La Yola (even if it is expensive)...and with celebrities such as Oscar de la Renta, Julio Iglesias and mikhail baryshnikov calling this place home, you never know who you might run into at La Yola.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeinPuntaCana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at La Yola Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Mrs. Lifein,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your dinner experience at La Yola. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at La Yola Restaurant , and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY & La Yola.
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 8002
Cel. (829) 797-1121
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

it was expensive for lunch, but the ambiance and the view were first rate.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ROmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at La Yola Restaurant, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Romom,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your lunch experience at La Yola. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at La Yola Restaurant , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY & La YOLA
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Good food, beautiful setting. Service is good. They seem to run out of their best dishes during our two visits. Delicious, though, when we did have our meals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at La Yola Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Mrs. Ann,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your dinner experience at La Yola. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at La Yola Restaurant , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY & La YOLA
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Yola Restaurant also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Yola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing