We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon”

Captain Cook Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 311 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A busy place at times, but to sit beachside and enjoy Sangria, crisp coin fries and chicken or fresh fish ( any style) is a great way to spend a late afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    252
    114
    41
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love for Captain Cook”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been to Captain Cooks 3 times and enjoyed the pleasure the food brought to my mouth and tummy each time. Each visit was shared with friends and family who equally enjoyed. I've never had a Sangria I liked until Captain cooks. I was further impressed by the fact that their well done steak was as juicy and flavorful as a medium rare one. The salad and fries are suburb and the seafood was even better, straight out of the treasure chest! Captain Cooks is my only reason for visiting The Dominican and I plan on visiting in the very near future!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFHardyTheWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Captain Cook excels”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were recommended to this restuarant by our hotel receptionist, suprise suprise it was just as recommended. On arrival by taxi first impressions were oh dear as it looks like a thatched refuse tip. On entering what a difference, 10 paces to heaven, the sea view to die for, having absorbed that we were shown to our seat, very basic but the view persisted. Then the drinks menu, varied, then the food menu, wow factor 10:10. Can it continue, local starters very tasty, main course, we were invited to make our choice from their display, this was cooked fresh and can only be described as the best meal of our holiday, topped off with several more drinks. The cost for this was about GB£75.00. If you include this with the taxi fare return to the Hotel Excellence and we had a exceptional day for just over GB£100 in my view money well spent, Captain Cook well done and may you continue for many years to come

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertHall133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and great view”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to go with family and friends.
Friendly staff and good food at a razonable price.
Beautiful view at the beach but still wouldn't recomend for a romantic evening since it's a bit loud.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service, bad food, high prices”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stay at this reastaurant at the christmas eve and we are not satisfied with everything.

It takes 15 minutes to get a ashtray. The light was so "low" that you can see nothing from
the food or your wife which is sitting in front of you. The lobster are not really good, because
they are underdone. In case that we are little bit late (arround 22:00h) they take away our plates
immediatly after one person have finished, but also try to take away the plate from the otherone, which is still eating. The bill was also not correct. We have to claim the weight of the lobsters.
Ok they changed the bill, but it look like to make more money.

All together we can say - forget this restaurant. It look like that they do not need to make a good service because the people get offered this restaurant automaticly from all hotels.

The prices are the highest which we saw. 900 Pesos for a half lb. was tremendous. There are many other restaurants which have better prices and better service.

The only positiv thing is - the guy who drive the taxi boat. He is really friendly and takes care of you. He is a really nice guy and make a good job - but we think for a very low income. So it was nice if you give him a good tip. Forget that you will have this taxi for free - he never earn enough money for this job. But it is up to everyone, we give him a good tip.

Look for other locations - Capitan Cook have to do a lot - if they will satisfy the guests in the future. We will never visiting this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook Restaurant also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Captain Cook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing