We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Captain Cook Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 308 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was great, the ultimate Dominican Republic experience. It is right on the beach and easy to find. The menu is in Spanish on a large wooden board. They have the fresh fish in a cooler for you to view. We had chicken, shrimp and fish of the day. They brought 3 appetizers, salad, homemade fried potato chip/french fries and the BEST breaded grouper (fish sticks). The main meal followed and you actually also got vegetables and potato with it. Then they topped it off with a light dessert. An array of banana, coconut and pineapples drizzled in chocolate. The cost for all this (4 meals) and we all had a beer or 2, was $67 American. The best part was that we didn't have to wait really long for the meal. Usually there, they are on "island time" at all the restaurants. They do not speak much English but we got by. I would have eaten here again but we ran out of time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trailrider12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    251
    115
    41
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved it and will be back”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

After 4 years of vacations in the area, we finally got to Captain Cooks on Valentines night. It is right on the beach, literally steps from the surf, which in the small flood lights was gorgeous.

You pick your dinner off a large menu board and then select the seafood you want from the cooler next to the grills. The service was outstanding and the food was just as good. I had the shrimp and was in heaven. Jean had the langosta, seafood medley and she was very happy she did. The "chips" they serve are incredible and all of our drinks were cold and quick to be served.

That night they had a 4 piece band walking through the restaurant playing requests (if they knew it haha) or bachata music of their choice.

All in all, I have nothing bad to say. We will be back next year.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed at Ocean Blue. Learned about it from the candy man from Mass. Walked south for 45 minutes. Indoor and outdoor seating. Nothing fancy but great fresh seafood. Cold beers.
Reservations can be made. Call and they will send cab for you and your party.
Really worth the walk.
Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasmen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a rip off more like Capitan Crooks!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Well we decided to try this place after already having tried the Jelly fish. This place was more expensive costing a group of 6 adults $600. Not fancy and basically we were told one price when ordering our seafood and each persons bill jumped by approx $60 for adding a few cokes. I would never return and feel that they take advantage of tourists

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovebug2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Eat fresh, local seafood on the beach”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Fresh seafood, great service and a lovely view. This restaurant is located in the small fishing village of El Cortecito, just minutes north of the big resorts of Punta Cana. We ate at Captain Cook twice during our visit to DR and both times, we loved it! The thinly sliced, fresh dorado is not to be missed. Ask if you can hire the restaurant's water taxi to take you back to your resort (an inexpensive and unforgettable ride).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook Restaurant also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Captain Cook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing