We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Punta Cana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,472)
Filter reviews
6,472 results
Traveler rating
4,729
1,072
395
157
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,729
1,072
395
157
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue marlin love bar casa bella juanillo beach ocean bar taco truck monarch villa castle pool wok restaurant castle suite royalty villa main pool sexy belly room service punta espada our honeymoon ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 6,472 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first time to the Dominican Republic. I was absolutely blown away by how amazing and accommodating the staff was. I don’t even need to try another resort! First off our butler Miguel was the best. He remembered everything. We were celebrating my birthday and he made sure everything was perfect. From helping my boyfriend arrange our transports and dinner reservations to making sure our room was decorated with cake and balloons on my birthday. We danced, played volleyball, went to sanctuary town and did pool bar activities with Chicken Legs, Sexy Belly, Jefferson and Gasolina. They have tons of energy and know how to have fun. They kept us laughing and involved the entire week. It was just like hanging out with friends. The pool bar bartenders are attentive and never miss a beat. Gilbert, Carlos, and Edy were hilarious! They kept my drinks coming and had us laughing. Happy Boy and Jefferson are fantastic as well. They get you moving with beach volleyball and by the pool! They also took the time our last morning to go above and beyond by turning one of the valet beds around to face the ocean for me! I didn’t even ask or mention it. It was their idea. I couldn’t believe the attention to detail they all have and it meant everything. So sweet. Aside of the pool bar and volley ball we spent a lot of time at the love bar (piano bar) with Eddy and David. They were phenomenal. Eddy is definitely an experienced bartender who cares about the guests and what he does. I’ve never cared for bloody Mary’s until I tried one that David made, I ended up with three! David was young, happy and funny the entire time. We enjoyed watching him have fun with his job and the guests. Emanuel and Filipe were at the front of the main lobby always saying hello with smiles. The whole staff was amazing actually. You never passed anyone that worked there without them saying hello and seeing if you were okay, having fun or needing something. Even the gardeners would call you over and cut the top of a coconut off with a machet so you could drink right out of it. We actually left and genuinely missed everyone within a few hours. We hope that everyone gets the privilege to visit these wonderful people at this breathtakingly beautiful resort. We know we can’t wait to go back! Thanks again for the best birthday ever with the nicest most fun people ever! Hope to see you all again next year!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank laurenhK1668MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear laurenhK1668MP,

Taiguey!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Dominican Caribbean.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service and pool facilities. We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

1st time in Dominican Republic and hate to leave. Had an excellent time people and food are off the chart great! Want to throw out a special thanks to Gasolina, Chocolate, Juan from the blue marlin, sexy belly, Gilbert& Carlos pool bar, and wait staff Lorena and our captain of butlers Carlos and our butler Jeremiah. Last but not least happy boy who always made us feel like number 1 and el presidenta who always got us our chairs at the pool. The list goes on and on it really does if your looking for a place to come you will not be disappointed in booking here.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bill L,

Taiguey,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time. Very clean, private and safe. Staff was awesome - helpful, friendly, fun. We enjoyed all of the food but wish there would've been more choices between 4:00 - 6:30. Johan at Beers of the World kept our drinks full. Andreas at the Spa was very helpful Chocolate gave us some great information. Special mention to Sexy Belly, Lorena, Gilbert and Carlos for keeping us happy at the pool.Thank you all!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Experience780750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Experience780750,

Taiguey!

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second trip here. We got the room we had last time, and the butler we We were in villa 1002, with an ocean beach view. It faces what's called a 'public' beach, with no one over there - totally quiet and undisturbed. A ton of privacy. Emilio Cruz is an amazing butler! The servers are amazing, and a few remembered us from last year even!! Shout out to all who made our trip amazing! They truly appreciate you and treat you like family! Servers that made our dining experiences awesome: Fransisco, Valentina, Lourdes, Juan Carlos, Niersen and Carmen. Conan is an amazing hostess too!! She greeted us every morning for breakfast, and knew where we wanted to sit! Also, we needed a birthday card, but the gift shop didn't have one. Yubelkis went home that night, and MADE ONE for us!! Room service, and housekeeping did great too - Shout out to Alexis for keeping our mini-bar stocked!!

Room tip: villas 1001 - 1006 - face the ocean, with minimal traffic outside your door or beach.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BKOASIS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BKOASIS2014,

Taiguey!

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most amazing stay at Sanctuary , it was my Birthday gateaway !!! And it was only me and my husband we really enjoyed our stay , everything from breakfast to dinner felt extraordinary .
The peace and quiet of the resort was just what we needed to disconnect from the stressful life of NY ,
Everything absolutely everything was great !!!!
Credits to the guys at the bar of the castle always doing a great job .The highlight of our stay was the food , we travel frequently and we’ve been to couple of places inside and outside of DR but my friends the food at Sanctuary is everything you could ask for from a high end restaurant .
Our faves were the Italian : the risotto The steak house : the ribeye and Blue marlin : everything .
Planning on our next visit in may , keep up the excellent Job .

G .Acosta

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GAcosta08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GAcosta08,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews