We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,054)
Filter reviews
6,054 results
Traveler rating
4,353
1,042
388
154
117
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,353
1,042
388
154
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue marlin love bar casa bella juanillo beach ocean bar taco truck monarch villa castle pool wok restaurant castle suite royalty villa main pool room service punta espada our honeymoon ocean view walk in closet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 6,054 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Timing:
September 14th to September 21, 2019. We had an unfortunate amount of rain and cloud coverage, but we know we booked in the quiet rainy season.

The Grounds:
The grounds are beautiful. Stylized to resemble colonial castles, the grounds are immaculately kept and picturesque.

The Beach:
The beach is the most disappointing part of the otherwise beautiful resort. It is a small beach which unfortunately has a lot of clay and very fine sand in the water. This makes for very murky, sometimes brown waves coming up on shore. This may be due to the rainy season. We easily had choice of any and all beach-lounge seating which is varied and comfortable. The staff actively walks around periodically to ask if you would like anything to drink. They are happy to provide anything from the nearby bars. This is all included.

The Staff:
One of the highlights of our trip is the attentive, accommodating and friendly staff. We had no negative experiences with any staff and they are all excellent. We particularly wanted to thank/recommend:

Angel - Our castle butler. His service exceeded our expectations. He organized all of our special events and restaurant reservations (all included) and assisted us with my girlfriend’s birthday surprise. The butlers use WhatsApp to keep in touch throughout your stay and the system works very well with the resort’s included wifi.

We had many great servers and bartenders during our stay, some of which we unfortunately didn’t catch the names of, but they were all excellent.

Lorena, who alternates between the pool and ocean bars always recommended excellent new drinks to try and was very friendly. Wander, who is a server at the various restaurants, always greeted us with enthusiasm and a fresh mimosa (ask for the “wander special” if you like mimosas). Elben, another server, was especially helpful finding the best foods at the event during our first night and has a heck of a singing voice. Don’t miss Bryan Luna’s special appearance at karaoke.

Activities:
We travelled during offseason intentionally, and the resort is exceptionally quiet during this time of year. With few guests and poor weather, activities were limited, but Happy Boy and Presidente were great fun and always entertaining. This is a relaxing resort.

Food:
Small selection, but enough you will find something you like. Steaks, omelettes, cappriccio and taco trucks are quite good, sides are less so. Overall the food was quite good despite the somewhat limited selection.

Room tip: Castle Jr Suite Ocean View is a nice room with a beautiful view and private bridge to a shared bluff full of wildlife.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director General at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CanadianAccountant,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service and staff. We have striven to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We really appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

Regarding our beach, please be advised that our maintenance department cleans the beach daily. Juanillo beach is next to us, so our guests can take a long walk if they want to. Cap Cana beach that is next to the Villas is also public.

We have taken notes of your suggestions of more food options.


We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room is very comfortable and clean with great view.
The restaurants have great food and great service. We did the couples massage and the SPA was incredible. They always had activities hosted by Presidente Happy Boy and Chocolate. These three have great personalities and are very entertaining! Even if you don’t participate in the activities, it is still a great time seeing everyone enjoy the games and just watching Presidente and Happy Boy is all the entertainment you need.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bmann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director General at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bmann10,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service, spa and staff. We have striven to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We really appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.


We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is beautiful as you see in pictures, everything is neat, clean, the food is amazing and the staff is excellent. The Spa is gorgeous ,they give the best massages ever and I loved the smells of the SPA. Good entertainment and the Sanctuary town fest is espectacular you cant missed it.

I would like to thank everyone that help us to had the best mini vacations ever , the service and the charisma of all the staff was so amazing and wonderful that we do not have any complain at all . In special I would like to thank leidy (Spa) luis (Building maintenance), Housekeeping (sorry I cant remember her name) but she was wonderful keeping our room clean and neat , Bernardo from the pool bar , and Jhonny ,the most humble and noble person that I've ever met, he made our romantic dinner at the beach something really special and unique moment.

Sanctuary Cap Cana is highly recommended, definitely we will come back.

Thank you Sanctuary Cap Cana.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director General at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kira T,

Taiguey!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. We really appreciate your compliments about our service and staff.

We are more than glad to know that our property, spa and staff fulfilled your expectations. Thanks for recommending our services.

We will share your gracious comments with all our Team!

We have striven to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

Our team looks forward to having you back in a not too distant future and please let us know by email before your next visit so we can take care of your requests.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would like to let everyone know that this resort is the best place so far I have been. Excellent services. I also would like to rate the experience on a special person Johan Tejada (bartender), great person and very respectful and professional. Thanks Sanctuary for all the great experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank engracia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director General at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear engracia m,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service and staff. We have striven to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team (especially with Johan).


We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just got back from our week stay from 9/7-9/14. We had a group of 8 and it was a first for all of us visiting Cap Cana. We have all been to Punta Cana but never this area. It was beautiful!! Sanctuary Cap Cana is very clean, and everyone who works there truly makes you feel like family. They knew all of our names & room numbers before we could even say it for our reservations. The drinks were amazing!! Thank you Carlos, Gilbert, Barnardo & Eddy! Presidente & Happy Boy always got our crowd going! My uncle, who they nicknamed "Sexy Papa" said it was the BEST place he has ever been too!! Every morning we had plenty of loungers near the pool and beach to pick from. The buffet had crab legs for lunch... who can beat that?! The dinner at the steakhouse was amazing! You will not be disappointed, this place has something for everyone. Please do not believe everything that is in the media. Sanctuary Cap Cana goes out of their way to make sure your stay is perfecto!
It's a trip my group will talk about forever.

Much Love to you all!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMT1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director General at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AMT1133,

Taiguey!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. We really appreciate your compliments about our service and staff.

We are more than glad to know that our property, food and staff fulfilled your expectations. Thanks for recommending our services.

We will share your gracious comments with all our Team!

We have striven to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

Our team looks forward to having you back in a not too distant future and please let us know by email before your next visit so we can take care of your requests.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews