We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded Relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Secluded Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I'm just returning from a 5-day stay at Secrets Sanctuary. I booked this package through Luxury Link and was scheduled to stay at the Golden Bear Resort, but switched to Secrets Sanctuary less than one week before our trip. While I never made it to Golden Bear, I can't imagine it being able to trump Secrets Sanctuary.
It was pretty late (around 10pm) when we arrived and I was pleasantly surprised to find The Steakhouse still open for dinner. After a bite, stopped by Love Piano Bar before retreating to our room for the night. We were originally placed in a ocean-view junior suite, but after a call from our Luxury Link customer concierge the next morning, we were upgraded to a fabulous 1,300 sq.ft. honeymoon suite in the Fortress. We had a private pool and sun deck and an absolutely gorgeous view. Front desk staff should be a bit more helpful and more knowledgeable of what amenities are available.
In the light of day we were really able to take in the beauty of the Spanish Colonial style resort and it's meticulous landscaping. The resort was maybe 30% full, so we often felt like we had the place to ourselves and never had trouble finding lounge chairs near the main pool. The beach is not very large and despite the efforts of the staff, gets speckled with seaweed every few minutes.
Breakfast at Casa Bella was delicious. We ordered a la carte one morning, but opted for the expansive "continental breakfast buffet" for the remainder of our stay. We had lunch at the Blue Marlin most afternoons and enjoyed the food for the most part. Although my boyfriend had the red snapper for lunch one day and it was overcooked and quite tough. The restaurant offers a nice breeze while sitting on the deck and provides a welcomed break from the sun. Our dinner at the Wok was, by far the most enjoyable. We ordered from the menu, as there are only two teppanyaki tables. Wok was only open two nights during our stay, so be sure to check the hours when you arrive and plan accordingly.
The spa is currently located in a converted suite within the Fortress. It is too small and not what I consider full service. I had a manicure and the portable manicure desk fell short of my expectations. Also, there was not much to choose from in the nail polish department (color and quality). I could've done my honey's pedicure because they used the same portable foot spa that I have at home. Even though both technicians were nice, I would suggest waiting until the new spa location is opened next to the Wok restaurant.
Water in the shower took a while to heat up, and drainage was a bit of an issue. On one evening we didn't have any hot water and had to call maintenance.They didn't get it fixed until the next morning which was bit of an inconvenience.
Service all around was good. We found all the staff to be pleasant and engaging, but Marlene was definitely our favorite.
Construction is going on nearby, but we never heard a peep.
I would definitely return to Secrets Sanctuary - maybe with a group next time.
Side note: Secrets Sanctuary is adults only and I did encounter a female guest going topless at the main pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Island Girl _123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,036
    828
    289
    126
    89
See reviews for
610
2,858
64
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We had a room with a nice sea-sight view. The brightness of the stars at night, in the morning the warm sunrise, it was so romantic, so charming. Not a single cloud in the morning, the sun bright, so blue the sea and the beach, so white the sand... waooo!
We stayed by the beach, (take your suntan with you, you will need it!). The sound of the waves, was so relaxing, no other sounds but some birds that come and go.
So quiet, you feel so free!
The rooms were made for kings, and the services are top quality. People is nice, and very enthusiastic to give you the best, makes you feel like they care!
We were enchanted by how good it was the food: gourmet quality. The colors, the sauces, the smell... the variety; elegant, so tasty!
We really valued the small distance from the airport, when you arrive you can't wait! When you leave, you try to stay longer!
What a honeymoon: We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We have been to other Secrets resorts so this led us to the Dominican Republic. Secrets just took over this resort a couple of months ago so they are in a transition period. I think if there were a 100 people there when we were that would be pushing it. You never had to wait for anything! The resort itself is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly. You will read in other reviews that some staff don't speak much English; this is true. HELLO...you are not in America anymore! LOL. There are 4 pools, 3 of which usually are empty. The pool bar staff is wonderful...especially Tony! He does morning aerobics that is entertaining! The beach is small, but never crowded. The restaurants are not all opened each evening. Be sure to check the schedule when you arrive (we didn't, and missed out on the Japanese restaurant). The steakhouse was by far the best!!!! We had an Ocean View Suite. It has a very comfortable bed, with a separate sitting area & balcony with 2 chairs & a table. The one odd thing; the bathroom is one open room. The shower has NO door or curtain, so you stare at the toliet that is 4 feet away. A bit strange. The housekeepers are excellent! They even folded beach clothes we had left in the bathroom to dry! Each evening you get an itinerary of the following day's events, restaurant openings, etc. I did not get to the spa, but heard from others that it was amazing.

We went on vacation with our only agenda being rest and relaxation.. Secrets Sanctuary was able to provide that and then some! We would recommend this resort to anyone! I am sure as they continue to build up this resort it will only get BETTER!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kskrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

-By far one of the best vacations we’ve ever had. Our Suite had the best Ocean view, we were able to enjoy the bay and its turquoise sea even from our living room, without mentioning how beautifully every space was decorated and how nice the staff was with us. We simply felt like home but with and amazing landscape on our front yard.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

My husband and I are currently staying at the resort. We've been here for 8 days so far. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Our suite is beautiful and very comfortable. No matter which restaurant you choose the food is very good. But what really is making our stay enjoyable are the staff. Everyone is very helpful, friendly and they really go out of their way to ensure your enjoying your time. I would recommend Secrets to anyone who wants to relax and be pampered.
The Sanghas

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anoop07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

From the moment i arrived to the date of departure i have never been to a more beautiful, restful and pampered vacation in my life. the accomodations, service and all around beauty of the resort were perfect. my wife and friends were never so relaxed and happy. I was sad to leave but happy in the knowledge that i will be returning again.
secrets sanctuary will be a perrenial vacation spot for years to come.
Bravo

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jgfabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Recently my husband and I decided we needed an escape from our daily living chores and an opportunity to fall in love again. Our stay at The Secrets in Cap Cana revitalized and restimulated all our senses. The courteous and over induldging staff catered to our every need and sometimes demanding requests. The food was excellent and the selection was splendid. To the extent that even one of the managers whose name was Cory Santana constantly asked us if we were happy and if we needed anything. We have traveled all over the world and I really feel that Secrets is probably the best kept secret. We look forward to returning many more times in the very near future as we have made Secrets at Cap Cana our designated MUST vacation spot.
Lynda Schwartz / May 1010

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnyc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.3 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.8 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,767 reviews
16.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
14.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
16.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing