We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

My husband and I are currently staying at the resort. We've been here for 8 days so far. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Our suite is beautiful and very comfortable. No matter which restaurant you choose the food is very good. But what really is making our stay enjoyable are the staff. Everyone is very helpful, friendly and they really go out of their way to ensure your enjoying your time. I would recommend Secrets to anyone who wants to relax and be pampered.
The Sanghas

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anoop07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,147
    847
    297
    128
    89
See reviews for
629
2,961
65
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,223)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

From the moment i arrived to the date of departure i have never been to a more beautiful, restful and pampered vacation in my life. the accomodations, service and all around beauty of the resort were perfect. my wife and friends were never so relaxed and happy. I was sad to leave but happy in the knowledge that i will be returning again.
secrets sanctuary will be a perrenial vacation spot for years to come.
Bravo

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jgfabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Recently my husband and I decided we needed an escape from our daily living chores and an opportunity to fall in love again. Our stay at The Secrets in Cap Cana revitalized and restimulated all our senses. The courteous and over induldging staff catered to our every need and sometimes demanding requests. The food was excellent and the selection was splendid. To the extent that even one of the managers whose name was Cory Santana constantly asked us if we were happy and if we needed anything. We have traveled all over the world and I really feel that Secrets is probably the best kept secret. We look forward to returning many more times in the very near future as we have made Secrets at Cap Cana our designated MUST vacation spot.
Lynda Schwartz / May 1010

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnyc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I traveled to the Dominican Republic on April 17-24th, and we had a fabulous time at the Secrets Resort...
Here are some great tips..
1. The Room- You must stay in the castle suites.. Our room was 2054 and amazing. It was a spacious suite with magnificent ocean views. It is on the far end of the hotel, so very quiet and just steps away from a white sand secluded beach.
2. The Weather- Never believe weather.com. My husband and I were bummed when we checked the weather a couple of days before and it said thunderstorms for the entire week! When we got there it was nothing but sunshine! It rained once, in the late evening. It was in the mid 80's for our 8 day stay.
3. The Resort- The resort is secluded and there is nothing near by.. literally. You have to be willing to just relax at the pool or beach and do nothing ! It was great! We didnot have to fight for pool chairs, plenty were available. The beaches are beautiful. We went to Riviera Maya, Cancun in June 2009 and we were amazed that the beaches in the Dominican were even more gorgeous than Cancun. Clear light blue water, very calm.
4. The food- There was a variety of food available and we never had to wait for a table. Dinner was really good. Capricio- (italian) very good, romantic setting outside with ocean views, order the Lasagna. The Wok- which was teppan style cuisine, had a very fun atmosphere. We didnot have the sushi but another couple we met said it was really good. Blue Marlin is really good as well, great ocean views. I think the seafood party that they have once a week was the best. It was a buffet, with all you can eat lobster and amazing shrimp! Breakfast was just ok.
5. Entertainment- everyone there is extremely friendly. Especially Mildred the activities coordinator. We went kayaking one day which was alot of fun. They also had break dancers that were doing crazy amazing stuff with fire! One night they had a magic show which was good as well. They have 2 bars that are open at night until 2am, and the drinks throughout the hotel are delicious.
6. The sun- you will get sunburned. Bring Aloe in advance because everything at their shop is expensive. We had on SPF 50 and we got sun burned as did everyone staying at the resort.
7. Shopping- the only shopping available is a couple of stores at the resort such as Prada and Fendi. Not really any place to get Souvenirs.
8. Bugs- It is very tropical and humid, if you have curly or wavy hair dont bothering straightening it! There are bugs and mosquitoes, we brought our "off" and they supply it as well. We did sustain some bug bites, but what do you expect in such a tropical environment?
Overall my husband and I had a fabulous time at this resort and we would highly recommend it. Before we went I read some of the bad reviews and I totally disagree with them. If you want to relax, drink, eat great food and hang out with great people, you will definitely enjoy yourself at this resort !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pink0878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I had no doubts that this resort would please us and we would love it... Let me tell you, all expectations were met and exceeded. When we arrived, we couldn't believe the resort was so immaculate. The grounds are gorgeous, and the resort is HUGE. We had a beach front jr. suite... And we LOVED it. At first, we were put in a double bed room. We weren't so thrilled, it actually smelled a little musky and we called the reception desk upon arrival and asked to be put in a room with a king sized bed in it. The purpose of this trip was a romantic one, so obviously we wanted that little touch. The room we were then brought to was amazing. Very spacious, and very nice and the double doors were a huge bonus.

Now onto the food. We loved all the restaurants. Our favorites were the Steak House, Capriccio, and WOK, the Asian restaurant. Blue Marlin was great only for its views and atmosphere, but the food was fine there too. We were just major fans of the first three I outlined. Breakfast was good too, with ample of choices between Continental Breakfast, where you get a lot of choices between muffins, donuts, cheeses, hams, fruits, cereal etc. Then there's a menu where you can get pancakes, french toast, eggs benedict, etc! So good. And the room service was also excellent. We ordered it on 3 different occasions.

The beaches are great. We really enjoyed Juanillo Beach, you MUST go to it. It's on the far end of the resort to the left... you have to walk all the grounds and then you'll find this beach. We went early and it was COMPLETELY deserted. I mean, the best thing about this resort is that it never feels crowded. EVER. During the weekend, it started to get a little livelier, but during the week it was just empty, and it was great. One of our favorite things to do was walk on the beach at night - SO relaxing. The weather was great, HOT, but good. Just make sure to bring sunscreen, the Dominican sun is brutal. Make sure you bring Aloe Vera, in case of sunburn... the resort sells sunscreen, sun tanning lotion, and aloe vera lotion for EXTREMELY high prices ($20+) so make sure to bring it from home.

Also, it's important to note that the only beer that is all-inclusive is PRESIDENTE. That is the only beer they have that is inclusive, and it is their local beer. My fiance liked it. But for those of you expecting Coronas or Budweiser products, they aren't inclusive. The swim-up bar at the pool is fantastic and the bartenders are great. There is poolside and beachside service and it's fantastic. All the people were great - very friendly and VERY polite. All the waiters were great - so really, the service is immaculate.

Hope you enjoy it... We surely did and can't wait to come back. Zero negative reviews, except for those minor notes. But you will LOVE it - don't hesitate nor doubt it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vianni911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The Hotel has great installations. I had the opportunity to visit many rooms and they are wonderful.
What i really don't understand is how such a beautiful hotel has such a bad service. The room service takes about an hour and and the food always comes cold, i ate at 3 restaurants and the average wait for the waiters to take my order was 45 minutes, and the food came all at different times. I ate, and 25 minutes later my wife's food came. The had to give us a free meal every time we ate because of this kind of service.
The hotel staff is very kind, but they are not prepared at all for having people over. I will think it twice before going back to this hotel.
I heard that La Romana has hotels with very good settings and service.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joelcohena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We just returned from an 8 night stay at Secrets Sanctuary Cap Cana.

First of all this hotel is in transition, it was recently purchased by Secrets. We were told that as of March 31, 2010 it was an adults only hotel, not true! There were several parties with kids, when we asked the staff they said that the hotel was honoring all previous reservations from the past owners, makes sense but wish I would have been told up front.

This property is still under construction. Although we never saw any construction workers on site so perhaps its better to say they have left the construction incomplete. The Castle is a joke. It is dark and desolate. The pool that is adjacent to it has algae and the bar on this side of the hotel is completely vacant along with the restaurant.

The property was only built 2 years ago but it appears a lot of corners were cut in construction and planning. The bathrooms were constructed with unfinished stone which allows mold! The hotel rooms wreak of must and mold when you walk in and you can see mold on the shower walls - bring slippers for the shower!

Some friends of ours had a villa ($1,000 USD/Night) onsite that was gorgeous and did not have the mold problem in the bathroom, but the windows in their room did not have screens so they got bugs in their room (as did some other folks who had these types of rooms.)

Room Service: We ordered a room service a lot and received our order within about 1/2 hour each time. That is until a large party arrived for a wedding and much of the hotel staff seemed to forget there were any other guest at the hotel. Once the party arrived we ordered Room Service two more times, one time they took 1 1/2 hours to deliver and the other night they didn't bother showing up at all.

The Restaurants: The restaurants are on a floating schedule, so there are typically only 2 open per night. The only breakfast spot is Casa Bella - the breakfast stinks, stick with the fruit and pastry buffet. Casa Bella is a good spot for lunch however. Blue Marlin - the seafood restaurant was a favorite - the Paella is fantastic! The Wok is good, the tepanyaki flavors differ from Benni Hana but the Filet is wonderful. The sashimi and rolls are great - try the Dominican Roll !

The Pools: We hung out at the main pool, the bartenders are awesome! You'll love Carlos! I would bring a blow up air mattress, they do not provide any.

The Beach: The beach in front of the pool is small and crowded but if you take a walk to the other side of the hotel where the castle is the beach is gorgeous and no one is around. We took a walk every day, be careful though because we did see jellyfish and sting ray's in the shallow water!

All in all we had a wonderful vacation. The staff are wonderful and go out of their way to help. In the future I probably not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saribear77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
36.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
1.0 mi away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
#9 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing