We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
carlsbad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This property exceeded our expectations. Rooms were very nice, and they upgraded us (without asking) from ocean view to ocean front. Food was very good. 5 restaurants to choose from. We experienced all of them, and had very good meals. Good house wine....Spanish. Premium liquors at no charge. Exceptional staff. Accomodating, friendly, and warm people.Beautiful pools, lovely private beach, and gorgeous grounds. We would definitely go back and highly recommend this beautiful property. No negatives. Just don't go on the excursion to Soana Island. You are just paying $110 per person to go from one gorgeous island to another. Maybe go ziplining...or to the capital.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlsbadMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable, thank you for you kind remarks and recognition of efforts. Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,092
    834
    294
    126
    89
See reviews for
620
2,910
65
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Service is excellent. All the hotel is staff is great. All inclusive is a must if you are staying here. The drinks are great. Try the sangrias, the ronron. Several restaurants. Best one is the italian and the paella on the one in near the ocean. The Asian restaurant made some of our group guests food poisoned but the hotel took care of us. The rooms are spacious. And try not to stay in the bovedas as they are a little humid. We were moved to other rooms and all great. They have several activities during the day like dance lessons, drinks and cooking lessons. The beach and ocean is beautiful. If you go on New Year's Eve they through a really nice party with a Dj and the ambiance is really vibrant. Would return, and the price was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsinthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your recent experience in our Sanctuary on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful holiday in our resort, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and Service.

We are very grateful with your mention about our associates, thank you very much for recognize their work and for comment the details that they have had with you, our team consists of people that are always ready to go the extra mile, in order to provide an excellent service and to transform your vacations into memorable moments.

Be sure that they will know about your review and you recognition, they will be more than happy to know the good impression that they left on you.

We hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable week over Easter break at the very private Sanctuary. It felt abit like adult spring break with the pool bar and the place is manageable compared to other resorts. It had a minimum of 3 pools and a very private beach.

Family of four with two young children (6 and 3) stayed in a premium beach front room. It's a large room with a sitting area and roll away and couch was good enough for the children. Room cleaning was good but fresh and extra towels needed to be requested.

We paid for five days wifi as didn't want to always be going to lobby for the free wifi (which was also really slow). Let's keep in mind that we are also on an island so don't bring massive high speed expectations. It took sometime to sort out the room wifi but mgmt and team were persistent and made sure it worked and missed days were added back without hesitation.

Had a problem with the in room safe but that too was sorted quickly.

The pool(s) are great and the hotel tries to promote pool side activities with stretch, Zumba and pool classes. Music for these classes could be disruptive and loud but they help bring a lively atmosphere.

All inclusive food wasn't great, a lot of recycling but they do try with different restaurants and not helped by a no wrist band system.

breakfast: all selection with omelette and juice stations (best meal of the day in my opinion)

lunch: all the restaurants are opened for lunch including a buffet at casalina and BBQ station in the beach (over cooked burgers and hotdogs)

dinner: same restaurants are opened but impression is that all of them pushes out the same 'type' of food we didn't like the menu and quality at Blue Marlin specifically as the 'fish' on offer didn't seem that fresh
The Wok wasn't great either but gives abit of variety

As we were all in ... Booze was included and they don't skimp on those it's strong and if not careful can knock you down perhaps reason for what's attract people to this place. It's cheap liquor and comp wine isn't good and nearly drinkable

The Love Bar serves proper cocktails and the staff at the pool bar were always friendly. Pool man 'Oscar' was top notch and ensured preferred sun loungers were properly towelled each and everyday. It's not allowed to 'reserve' loungers but often people do wake early and put things on them to ensure they get their spots (which could be annoying).

This is a place to relax and it's not kids free so if that's what you want then it ticks all the boxes. Food could be a lot better and that really could make this a much better establishment. There are a lot of staff on hand and mgmt will help if required. Hector is the front desk king cheese so everything will need his approval, very accommodating and will do what he can to help.

Good place and could be so much better with a few tweaks.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WorldCosmonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

The comments and suggestion of our guest’s are of the utmost importance and assistance to us and I greatly appreciate the time you took to post your review after having stayed with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Exceeding the expectations of our guests and offer truly exceptional experiences is our goal. We know that in order to achieve this it is necessary to provide good service and attitude; therefore I am proud to hear that our staff went above and beyond in their effort to fulfill all your needs.

I am glad to hear that your vacation have been better than you expected and it is clear to me that we have achieved our goal. Notwithstanding, your comments on improvement areas will be part of our daily work.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again at

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed 5 days in April and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and stay. If you've never stayed at island resorts, perhaps you don't have a great comparison. I've been to 3 other resorts and by far, this was the quietest and one of the nicest.

The rooms are not the most modern, but they are updated and tiled to accommodate the humid weather. This is common in the islands. We had no issues with room service or maid service, they replenished supplies and completed room visits twice per day.

I can't say enough about the staff, they went above and beyond to entertain and complete our stay. I have to give a special thanks to Ramon and Keila who kept us busy at the beach and pool each day. Margarita is the best waitress ever!!

If you read other reviews, they talk badly about the food, but I didn't have anything bad! Yes, my salad may have had a bit more dressing than I'd prefer, but I get that at home too! Not a big deal at all. My favorites? The filet at the Steakhouse and the salmon at the Blue Marlin. We managed to eat at all the restaurants and even had the beach side lunch during our short stay.

The hotel is quiet. Yes, there are some families there, but we found that the majority of visitors were like us - there to eat, relax and enjoy the weather. By 10:30pm, you probably won't hear anything but the waves at the beach. If you're looking for a great spot to relax, drink and indulge in food, I would suggest The Sanctuary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I went here with my wife and two boys, ages 8 and 5. We all loved the place. But I was worried at first because I read reviews of over booking, being transferred to another resort, etc etc. But when we went their, our room was ready. In fact, we switched to a room with a better view with no problem or push back from the front desk. The food at the restaurants were alright, good thing we didn't do the all inclusive. We were able to go to several restaurants for dinner throughout Cap Cana. And by the way, this place felt VERY safe because you had to go through a guarded gate before you can even get to any of the resorts in Cap Cana. Back to the Sanctuary, every day, they had several events and their concierge was superb. The one and only gripe I had was how long it took to get towels. And even though I asked for 4, they would always bring a set of 3. I ended up packing a couple fresh towels from the pool each day. The pool was warm, and to my 5 year old, that was important. BUT the jacuzzi was just bubbles. It was no warmer than the pool, and they don't heat it at all. One suggestion when going outside of Cap Cana, make sure you book a taxi for the day through your concierge. They can help you plan you day, help you get a good rate on the taxi costs, and you will safely get from point A to point B,C,D and back to A again. Finding taxis outside of Cap Cana isn't easy and more expensive.

Punta Cana is a great place to visit, and I recommend staying at Sanctuary Cap Cana. Enjoy...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I are frequent travelers and typically stay with brands like Four Seasons, Fairmont, and Rosewood. My husband is easy but I'm very picky. We both loved this property. The architecture is unique and looks like it's been there forever. The fortress really does feel like a castle as you walk the halls..austere, but we liked it. The grounds are gorgeous and there are several lovely pools. The water is warm and very calm in Cap Cana....much better than Punta Cana! The beach is small, but the sand is powdery, white and pale pink. There is very little shade at the beach, no palapas, and too many lounges for the small space. This is my only criticism of the whole place. There are great chaises at the pools though and we didn't have an issue getting two at 9:00. Later than that, it may be difficult. The food and drinks were all pretty good, especially for an all-inclusive. I think what I liked best was that Sanctuary doesn't give you that weird "Love Boat" vibe like some all-inclusives do. If you want to do nothing on vacation but relax all day, have a nice dinner, and maybe a nightcap at a laid-back bar, this is it!

Room Tip: The swim out suites are pretty private....would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZjkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and it is a real honor for me to hear your comments and it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities, the walk through our grounds and corridors and the service provided by our staff.

Thank you for preferring Our Sanctuary!

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

reviews. If anyone didn't like their stay at the Sanctuary, there is a problem with them, not the resort. My wife and I spent our honeymoon there from Sunday 4/20- Friday 4/25 and it was absolutely amazing. Juan Felix at the front desk went over and beyond to help us with any and all issues we had with our room. Jorge at the Photography booth was extremely helpful. We stayed in private villa #2004 and it was awesome. For an all inclusive, most of the food was above average. The only place we didn't care for was the Italian restaurant but all the others get a thumbs up. The grounds were extremely nice, the resort was tranquil and relaxing, and the beach was very nice. All in all we had a great time and are already planning a family return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BandMo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for the confidence placed in us to celebrate your Honeymoon with us, for recommending us to property to other travelers, and for your compliments.

I am very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and it is a real honor for me to hear your comments about our facilities and service, At Sanctuary Cap Cana is our PASSION to provide the best guest experience to make them feel at home!!!

We will be waiting for you to experience another great stay at our Sanctuary.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
36.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
1.0 mi away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
#10 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing