We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
“What a place !!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was the best place ever! The nicest staff . A special thank you to Raul and Daniis. They made our stay very comfortable and unforgettable!! Thank you for everything. Dan and Kimberly Meyer
Okotoks, Alberta Canada

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share on Trip Advisor your recent experience in our Sanctuary.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable. Thank you for you kind remarks and recognition of efforts. Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,422
    862
    304
    130
    92
See reviews for
662
3,182
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

great golf, great hotel, great food, this place is great. I got a little house on the beach, so gorgeous and perfect. Not a lot of english spoken here but its worth it. the staff is fabulous, the golf course magnificent and the resort property is unbelievable. Run , don't walk to this place if you are going to the DR. I didn't do the all inclusive, because I don't eat much or drink alcohol but that sounds like a deal if you like to eat and drink.....

Room Tip: love the houses on the beach, the one next to mine has a private pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana.

I am delighted to hear about your recent experience at Sanctuary, as well I would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to write your impressions.

Exceeding the expectations of our guests and offer truly exceptional experiences is our goal. We know that in order to achieve this it is necessary to provide good service and attitude; therefore I am proud to hear that our staff went above and beyond in their effort to fulfill all your needs.

Thank you for the great review and for recommending our hotel to future travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, ME
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have to put it right out there my husband and I just came back from the best trip we have every had in our lives! It was simply sensational! I need to start out be saying we travel quite a bit and we have been all over the Caribbean and Mexico. No one has topped this hotel. And it really comes down to the people they have working at Sanctuary. Everyone is very hard working and super friendly, they all really made the trip for us. So, I want to start out with Enrique Ventura; he is the director of services. He is a professional through and through. He greeted us when we first came in with a huge smile and even sent us a nice bottle of white wine the first night at the Blue Marlin. He even shook my hand when we left and walked us to the van. Great guy! Then I want to give a shout out to Jose Alberto at the Blue Marlin who was always cheerful whenever we saw him and helped me to learn more spanish. He couldn't have been nicer or made our dinner experience more enjoyable for our stay! Brenda at the front desk is another star team player that Enrique has working for him. She is always smiling and is so helpful. She even up graded us to the swim up room in the castle (WHICH WE LOVED!!!). That was one thing that really made our trip as well, the room. Then I want to mention Joanqina the manager of the housekeeping in the castle. She always has warm smile when I saw her and was nice enough to let me look around in the beautiful rooms when no one was around. Our maid that did our room was just the sweetest person making towel animals and putting flowers in our room. She kept room 1044 SPOTLESS! She was a real SWEET HEART! Every day she made a special towel animal for us. I also want to say a special thanks to Valentina for laughing at my bad jokes. I want to mention Briellim's service, waiter at the italian restaurant, excellent to details and very friendly. Also my friends up at the rooftop pool of the castle were great bartenders. Though you would be hard pressed to find a bad bartender there. Oh, before I forget Isaac Cugto, the bartender, at the Blue Marlin made the best electric lemonades of our life; my husband is still talking about them.I hope I am not forgetting anyone, they all made us feel like family and went above and beyond for use in terms of service and friendliness!

Now lets get to the hotel. It was amazing. Each area was themed so the was a spanish colonial area, there where beachfront cabanas and there was my favorite the castle. (it was so neat).
This place has something for everyone. The architecture was gorgeous! We stayed in room 1044 which was a swim up moat room. I was so heavenly to get up every morning and swim in the luxurious pool, it was like a dream. The castle was just so unique, it had a waterfall feature in the middle that kept the area constantly cool. We did the spa (Impeccable). Juanillo beach was right next store to our room, it's a post card come to life. Next time we go back I think that I was to stay in a beach front cabana on the other side of the resort though because I found a spot over the that was to die for!!!! It has the most beautiful beach I have ever seen, and I've seen quit a few. Everyday we went there, there were a few weddings on this gorgeous beach. It was so private a gorgeous find to just relax and enjoy the scenery. That was my favorite spot and really just made the whole trip!! AMAZEBALLS!!!

The food was right on at every restaurant we went to and we went to them all!! My two favorite were the Blue Marlin and the WOK. I love asian food. Taste, texture, presentation spot one. There is a real consistence of the food at Sanctuary.
It's 10 minutes from the airport which is nice. I have paid more for all-inclusives but never gotten this service. They are heads above an Excellence resort or an Iberostar Palace. You are not a number at sanctuary you are a person they remember. I know this has a lot to do with the size they have about 180 rooms but it is all so they people and the way the run the resort. The only place I I have been that comes close is El Dorado Maroma in the Yucatan. But, to really boil it down from a seasoned traveler this place has one of the nicest beach in the D.R., the people and service were spectacular, and food makes my mouth water thinking about it. I can't tell you how happily surprised we we with Sanctuary. I almost don't want to tell anyone about it so we can keep it for ourselves. Also, it was as full occupancy when we were there and we felt like we were in our own private resort. That is even what our friends asked when the saw our pictures. I have just had the warm relaxed glow since we got back that I never want to go away. Bottom line best resort in Punta Cana. Thanks for the great vacation! Everyone should go and have a nice relaxing time. This place is great to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery in a unique place. The staff is caring, thoughtful and always cheerful. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

This resort is for people who want to relax enjoy the company of new found friends and experience a unique experience!!

HATS off to the staff….we love you! Again, thanks for our dream vacation!!

Room Tip: 1044 is the swim out rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanF861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful experience at our Sanctuary, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the service provided for all our staff. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our first trip to DR. We never had a honeymoon so we decided on booking the Sanctuary due to all the positive reviews of this resort. Let me start out with the CON. When we arrived there after a long flight. Upon checking in they had over booked for the night and decided to ship us over to Alsol Village (sister location). We were surprised and had no idea what was going on. When Hector told us about the bad news we were ready to head back home to MN because we were just so frustrated and tired by this time. It took us 3hours from Sanctuary to Asol to finally get settled into our room. A lot of waiting in line because everyone was checking in. We were upset, tired, and hungry. We did make the best of it that evening and let loose at the beach party thanks to the great entertainment there and the host red bull. The dinner at Asol was buffet style but the food was grand and delicious. (My favorite food the entire trip.) Their breakfast was better than Sanctuary in my opinion.

On to the PROs: so after being told our room was booked for the night. Hector surprised us with a romantic dinner by the beach and four nights complimentary to compensate for the lost. We really appreciated the offer however by this time we were skeptical. We did get our complimentary dinner by the beach. It was actually in the Blue Merlin but we had that one room far from the rest of the place to ourselves over looking the sea. We had a private butler, romantic music playing, the sound of the ocean as well, and the four course dinner was truly amazing. My husband and I felt like Kings and Queens that evening. Thanks Hector for this and our butler William who was so nice and sincere. I did get a proof of certificate for our complimentary stay so I hope everything will hold up.

We got the Jr Suite in the castle with the view of the ocean. It was jaw dropping stunning. The most beautiful view of the ocean. Its going to be hard to want to travel anywhere in the world to get this view at an affordable price. We were carted in a golf cart to our room which was so nice. House keeping left flowers everyday on our towels and bed. This was so sweet and it made me truly feel like a princess. The grounds of the resort was gorgeous. No bad view anywhere from this resort. The color of the water was breath taking. I mean the pro's out weigh the cons. Despite the fact that we had such a bad experience checking in, which it can't get any worse than ours and by the end of our trip we were loving everything the resort had to offer. From the front desk, to the bartenders, waiters, servers, bell boys, concierge. They are so nice and go out of their way to make you feel special and welcome. The hospitality here was amazing along with the beautiful resort. Thank you for making our stay a positive one and we're going to tell all our family and friends to come here to experience what Sanctuary has to offer. Definitely choose Sanctuary you will not leave home disappointed and the plus to this is its only a 15min ride from and to the airport. Most resorts I've researched are as nice and is quite a distance. Make Sanctuary your next vacation and home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENNY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having shared your impressions.

As regards the situation presented by the overbooking during the stay that you had reserved, it should be note that the overbooking is not a common policy in our hotel, I would like to assure you that the occurred is not in anyway representative of our overall service; we ask your understanding for these situations that occur in every hotel around the world, although it is not a daily thing at ours.

Thank you a lot for the confidence placed in us to celebrate your Honeymoon with us, for recommending us to property to other travelers, and for your compliments; I feel proud and grateful to hear that your experience with us left a memorable.

At Sanctuary Cap Cana we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for me to hear that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of excellence.

Thank you for the great review and for recommending our hotel to future travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This property is a nice place to go and unwind. The rooms are close to the pool and the beach and the restaurants. The staff is friendly and we knew each other by name by the time we left. There are plenty of seats around the pool and the beach. The all inclusive food was as nice as pay as you go. My only suggestion to the property would be to add more kinds of alcoholic beverages to the mini bar other than just beer.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the water. The view is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mctunique1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana.

I am delighted to hear about your recent experience at Sanctuary, as well I would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to write your impressions.

Exceeding the expectations of our guests and offer truly exceptional experiences is our goal. We know that in order to achieve this it is necessary to provide good service and attitude; therefore I am proud to hear that our staff went above and beyond in their effort to fulfill all your needs.

Thank you for the great review and for recommending our hotel to future travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Just a follow up to my previous review which was written while I was on vacation. Now that I have been home for a month I find myself wishing I was back at the sanctuary. The rest of our time in Punta Cana was excellent, relaxing and fun. We enjoyed some great nighttime entertainment including acoustic guitar musician, local dancers and singers. Everyday we enjoyed sitting at a different pool or beach. We ventured out to zip line only 5 min from the hotel. And above all, made some lasting friendships with managers such as Hector and Metz. They are now taking care of some friends we recommended to go there. It's not often you receive such personal, genuine service!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyberry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful experience at our Sanctuary, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the service provided for all our staff. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We recently returned from a 6 day trip to Sanctuary Cap Cana and it did not disappoint. The entertainment staff (Keila especially) made our visit even more excellent. We were able to completely relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Punta Cana. Would absolutely return to this resort again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view room. It is entirely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runner95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having shared your impressions.

Thank you a lot for the confidence placed in us to celebrate your Honeymoon with us, for recommending us to property to other travelers, and for your compliments; I feel proud and grateful to hear that your experience with us left a memorable.

At Sanctuary Cap Cana we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for me to hear that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of excellence.

Thank you for the great review and for recommending our hotel to future travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
959 reviews
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#21 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,799 reviews
36.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,342 reviews
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing