We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel/ Resort experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Ansbach, Bayern, Germany
1 review
“Best Hotel/ Resort experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed at this amazing property. I would first like to say that the service at the Hotel is amazing. The staff was very professional, they went out of their way to assist my friend and I. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with smiling faces. Honestly, i was so amazed by the architectural design i didn't really realize how hot it was outside :-). Once we got checked in and headed out to familiarize ourself with the hotel, we came across the entertainment staff. They are fun and veery dedicated to keeping you entertained. The hotel has 5 restaurants, my personal favorite was the Stake house. I do encourage visitors to bring a lot of sunscreen. You will not be board at this hotel. Before my visit most people said that i was a place for couples but now i disagree! If you just was to take a get away as a couple, single or even girlfriends vacation i do recommend the Sanctuary Cap Cana. You will meet amazing people there, Staff and visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Cap Cana for your recent vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience online.

We are delighted to know that our scenery and service created a wonderful setting for you. Our staff is thrilled to know they contributed for such a memorable experience.

Will be expecting you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,147
    847
    297
    128
    89
See reviews for
629
2,961
65
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,223)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tepic, Nayarit, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Simply a magical place, excellent instalations, the room was very nice and clean. A place with great ambiance and surroundings. The gardens are simply beautiful and very lush. A place where you can stay and relax with your love one. Also great food, with a very good japanese restaurant.
A place to fall in love an have the time of your life with your couple.

Room Tip: If you can, try and stay in the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you you for your kind remarks about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

It is with great pleasure and honor that we service each of our guests to make their experience unforgettable. We are thrilled to know that our staff and all the effort they put in were able to make your vacation magical.

We certainly will be ready to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Few words needed to describe this place! It is awsome! Very Clean, safe and great food. We want to thank Pedro at the pool, Julio at the Marlin these people went out of there way to make us feel at home.

We bought our vacation through Groupon, we had a great junior suite next to the beach 1024. The best restaurant by far was the Italian and second the WOK. All grounds are beautiful. This is a true sanctuary.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhunter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
On behalf of Sanctuary Cap Cana, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We are more than happy to learn that you got to experience our beautiful scenery as well as the enthusiasm of our staff. We thank you for the opportunity to bring you our best service. We will share your kind remarks with our team, especially with Pedro & Julio.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I just recently returned from a 6 day stay at the Sanctuary in the DR. This was our first trip outside the US. Not knowing what to expect, we sought the advise and guidance from friends and reviews from other travelers that posted comments on Tripadvisor. I'm sharing my experiences, in hopes it will provide others with useful information.

Although we have no other travels in the DR to compare with the Sanctuary, my wife and I both loved the experience. The best attribute of the Sanctuary was the staff. They were extremely nice, respectful, and always friendly. (Special thanks to Danis Severino!). With this type of positive atmosphere, it made the Sanctuary a great place to celebrate our 20 year wedding anniversary!

I would not recommend the Sanctuary to families with young children (6 to 12). This is primarily a place for relaxing activities (which is one of the reasons why we chose this location). If your children are like ours, they would become bored rather quickly.

The variety of food is somewhat limited to what we are accustomed to here in the US. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. After the first day, we primarily ordered room service. Dinner was a different experience. All the restaurants we visited were exceptional. I do recommend the All-Inclusive plan (especially if you plan to drink or order room service).

Since one of my initial fears of traveling to a foreign country was the transportation from the airport to the hotel, I also wanted to briefly share my experiences with our transport provider, Amstar DMC. Amstar was a great selection. They were prompt on the pickup at the airport and at the hotel on our return trip. Their website was easy to use to setup the appointment.

Couple of recommendations....
1. If you are on the "All-Inclusive" plan and you want to tip the staff, take plenty of 1's, 5's, and 10's (instead of 20's, 50's, and 100's). You can always tip via the credit card but the staff always prefer cash.
2. Pack small snacks. There is a small mini-market on site but the selection is limited.
3. Enjoy the public beach adjacent to the property.

Room Tip: Castle Junior Suite Swim Out with 1 king bed. Great selection for Couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 433MarkK433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are more than glad that you and your family had a good time in our hotel. We work hard on maintaining an atmosphere for the guest to feel welcomed and like home. It was a pleasure for our staff to serve you during your vacations. We are grateful for your kind comments about our property and our staff.

It would be our honor to receive your visit in the near future, and help you experience another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I recently stayed at this fantastic property and I was extremely impressed with the quality of the property, attentive staff and talented and accessible management

Cap Cana is definitely a jewel in the Caribbean and this hotel is the crown jewel of Cap Cana and the DR

Room Tip: The web page is pretty good about it and there are many types of impressive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 597RafaelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are delighted to know that our scenery and service created a wonderful setting for your vacations. Our staff is thrilled to know they contributed for such a memorable experience.

We certainly will be expecting you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the moment I stepped out of the taxi I was greeted by "Santos" who opened our door, took our bags out and escorted us to the front desk. When we got there we were greeted by Brenda, Will and Alejandro who in one sync said "Welcome Home". Instantly I could see the level of customer service that was exuded from each of them, we were not only another guest but truly welcomed home. The grounds of the Sanctuary were a true gateway of perfect escape from the everyday hustle of work life, it offered majestic views of the ocean and there was even Pink Sand!! The room was immaculate, the service impeccable and the entertainment staff Teddy Bear, Ruben, Rocky and Menor made the stay very much entertaining and there was never a boring moment. Each restaurant offered amazing culinary skilled food, as a foodie I was very impressed and loved the authentic foods it offered as well as international cuisine. My Favorite was the Steakhouse and Casabella Ronnie was our server there and ensured to explain the specials and Manuel Guerrero made amazing mixed drinks both alcoholic and non alcoholic a true mixealogist and not just a bartender. At Casabella Maria was extremely sweet and accommodating, Alfredo also ensured we had everything we needed at our table. The “Dominican Breakfast” is an essential must to try!! I had it everyday!!On the beach and pool side Eddie was awesome in making sure that even when we were far away from the food and drinks we were able to still put In orders and receive service, it was amazing! The Management staff (Cory, Enrique, and Amanda) could be found at any moment and you can see them walking the grounds constantly, they even played a game of volleyball with us whom I had never seen staff do and even let us win! Overall the experience at Sanctuary Cap Cana exceeded Five Star service with a complete Welcome Home feel! First Impression last a lifetime and you sure made sure it was lasting. Thank you to each of you and Yes SEEEE YOU SOON!! (Pacheco "mangu")

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are truly beach front.. you can walk right onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana, and we thank you for sharing your experience online.

Welcoming our guest’s home drives us to serve with the finest hospitality and warmth. It is our pleasure to welcome our guests with such enthusiasm and care in order to create memorable moments.

We will share with our staff your remarks about their service. We are sure Eddy, Bernardo, Santos, Will, Alexander, Brenda, Alfredo, Manuel, Maria, Rocky, Ruben, Menor, Teddy Bear, Ronnie, Enrique & Victoria will be honored to know that you enjoyed and appreciate their hospitality. Every time a guest shares their gratitude towards their service, it makes them take pride on their efforts.

Thank you for your visit. We hope to host another vacation for you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

First time staying in cap cana overnight. The hotel is expensive but has a great front desk Customer service and food is Good. although there is no much activity here....

it's a quiet , relax hotel... but i would dare to say it is over priced when the variety in food and recreation is just very basic.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yukmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

Our new management is working hand in hand with our food & beverage department, implementing new menus that can exceed our guest expectations. Our target is to improve and provide our valued guest with a memorable vacation. Let this not be a reason for you not to stay with us again.

We will share with our staff your remarks about their service. they will be honored to know that you enjoyed and appreciate their hospitality.

We sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to have you back in the future, and experience our improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
36.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
1.0 mi away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
#9 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing