We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

T really enjoy with my partner a weekend 3 months before the due date of our first baby. All the staff is very nice and friendly, a special mention to Bernardo one of the bartenders at the swimingpool and Menor who is always wiling to service my wife.

The food is great, specialy if you go to Blue Marlin and Capricio, make you feel that you are not all inclusive because of the high quality food.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gustavo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
On behalf of the Sanctuary Cap Cana staff we congratulate you and your wife, on that wonderful new journey of becoming 1st time parents.

Our staff enjoys every time our guest’s share their kind remarks about their vacation experience at our hotel. We are sure that Bernardo & Menor are going to be honored with your comments.

Thank you, for sharing your experience online with our future guests, and we exhort you to do the same with your family and friends.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,034
    828
    289
    126
    89
See reviews for
610
2,857
64
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 wonderful days here in February. Location of our room only 100 meters walk from the beach. We enjoyed both the location itself and the room standard. The staff and service were incredible! Breakfast/outdoor BBQ lunches at Casabella: special thanks to the friendly chef for great live cooked omelets, Maria and Inoska. The Blue Marlin is a must try, great tasty lunches and chocolate cake desserts. The pool bar/beach service: entertainingly full of happy staff and daily rum refreshments. Big thanks to all! Special thanks to Junior, bartenders and Margarita for great service. Dinners we enjoyed every night. All the resort restaurants tried at least once. We can warmly recommend The Steakhouse and Capriccio. Meals and atmosphere in a fantastic combination. The Animation Team does a great job! Keila and TeddyB, thanks for the water gym. Inspired us to continue. Entertainment, special dinner arrangements around the main pool area, always a smile everywhere - also great to see the staff work different places around in the resort. We recognized you, and you us. The supervision of the resort at all times, day and night, is a welcomed experience. Thanks to all managers who make this such a pleasant experience! Juan Junior, we had a beautiful break in the sun, and we will be looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arctictraveller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Cap Cana as your vacation destination and for sharing your recent experience online.

It is always wonderful to learn that our guest had such an amazing experience during their stay. It is our mission to service our valued guest with the finest hospitality. With great joy and pride we will share your kind remarks with our staff, especially to Maria, Inoska, Junior, Margarita, Keyla, Teddy Bear, and Juan Junior, they would be delighted to know they were part of your memorable experience.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Santo domingo for a seven day trip to the Dominican Republic and our adventure was great. My wife and I had never visited and found the dominican people very friendly and kind. We stayed at the sanctuary and it was fantastic! We enjoyed every aspect of the place from the service to the beach. We did not do the all inclusive package and opted to go out for our meals daily. My wife speaks Spanish which made it much easier and we got to experience all that Punta Cana had to offer. The room was spacious and the stone covering the junior suite was fantastic, it was fossilized coral so you are walking on history! Really cool!
We did not eat at the resort and did not buy the Booz we brought our own, we drank rum and presidente beer, the staff loved my bottled beer. We would like to say that Eddie made our trip a truly rememberable experience! You are a good dude! Junior and rocky balboa were great to both of us. teddy bear was excellent and we sang karaoke. He does a great job but the entertainment was limited due to the small amount of people willing to participate.
We went to the blue hole, we recommend that! We also took a trip to Saona Island, what and amazing place, I caught two fish on my fly rod. This is the best place to fly fish in the Dominican Republic. Great fish action and the close encounters anglers like.
The hotel is truly a beautiful place and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful place. Making drinks with the staff and my wife winning in darts on the beach were truly memorable!! We want to thank the staff for parking our rental car everyday, they were great.
One more thing!!
Make sure you play golf at Punta Espada golf course. This place is the most amazing place. Even if you don't play golf or just take a trip to see the club house, it is absolutely beautiful in every way! Thank you Jack Nicklaus for designing this Jem. It makes losing a ball in the ocean a great feeling.... Maybe the only place LMAO!

Great place, go there!!

Sam

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTheBeach7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Cap Cana as your destination for your recent vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience online.

We are delighted that our staff and all the effort they put in were able to create a memorable vacation for you. We will share your positive feedback with the entire team especially to Eddy, Rocky, Junior, and Teddy Bear.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent 6 days here in February for our honeymoon, and it was an amazing experience. Cannot say enough good things about the food, staff, rooms, (honeymoon suite 3047 and island suite 1039) and activities.

Food:
My husband and I practically lived off of the grouper sandwiches at the pool.
The ceviche at Blue Marlin was incredibly fresh.
I implore you to have the churrasco at the steakhouse...unbelievable. We went twice.

Rooms:
The honeymoon suite with private plunge pool was incredibly romantic with a beautiful, private feeling. It was only surpassed by the island villa 1039. I've never seen anything like it- 3 indoor pools, your own island, etc. Amazing.

Staff:
The hardworking, friendly staff at Sanctuary made the experience unforgettable, and we were so sad to leave our new friends. Everyone we encountered was very nice and helpful, but these people in particular went above and beyond:

El menor: so friendly, kind and funny...the best.
Junior, Eddy, Carlos: friendly & fun bartenders at the pool. Thank you for all the grouper sandwiches :)
Mickey Mouse: bingo bingo!
Keila: We miss playing darts and all the other poolside activities
Kelvin: Very accommodating and helpful.
Adonis: Great hibachi chef at the Wok Restaurant
Wascar: Funny waiter at the Wok.
Margarita: So sweet and friendly.
Teddy Bear: The entertainment maestro! Amazing performances and poolside activities.
The staff at Casabella, especially the omelet chef: such friendly faces every morning.

We cannot wait to return! Absolute paradise.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite 3047 and Island villa 1039
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sira g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are delighted to know that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. Our staff is constantly working to create unique and memorable vacations for each of our guests. It fulfills our hearts and it brings us joy to learn that you enjoyed everything, from our property to our staff service.

We hope that you will allow us to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My two adult daughters and I loved our experience. I would rate it 4 stars out of 4 stars. First of all, perhaps because there were three of us, we were upgraded to a Honeymoon Suite from a Junior Suite. The Suite was incredible. It was in its own lovely building that had a thatched roof, huge master bedroom and sitting room plus a 48 ft long deck overlooking the ocean. The Suite location was ideal in that it was very centrally located to where we spent most of our time. In general, the Sanctuary provided just the kind of Caribbean setting I was looking for and was not too crowded. The reception area was beautiful and opened up to a patio where we would eat breakfast each morning. From the patio, one could look out over their lovely main pool (shown in their photo) and the beautiful azure blue ocean beyond it. They have a gorgeous small beach just beyond the big pool, with lots of recliners and palm trees. It is located very near the large bar at their main pool and their staff are quick to offer you drinks and food right at your recliner. The water was warm and perfect for swimming. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Although I don't speak any Spanish, I didn't experience any language difficulties. We ate at 3 of the 5 restaurants found at the resort and liked them very much (the Blue Marlin, the Wok, and the Patio). We also enjoyed walking on the long beach at the western end of the resort, which goes on for at least a couple of miles. Their concierge helped me arrange two excursions which we loved. One to the "Blue Lagoon" and a second to a cigar factory in La Romona. We also took a taxi to another resort in the Cap Cana area for dinner called the Marina, which had a fantastic restaurant with a different (and less expensive) menu, plus lots of big boats to oggle over. Bottom line - I had a great time, would go back in a minute, and loved the fact that it was only a 4 hr trip from Boston on Jetblue.

Room Tip: Our suite was close to the big pool and nearby beach, which is in the central part of the resort and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Sanctuary Cap Cana staff is glad to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we thank you for sharing your experience online.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our beautiful scenery, great atmosphere and the pleasant service of our staff. It is with great enthusiasm and honor that we service each of our guests to make their vacations out of the ordinary.

We hope you can visit us soon, and tell your friends about our hotel. It will be our pleasure to service you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Sanctuary Cap Cana the last week of February of this year. We're from NYC and wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle. We're also young, non-profit professionals and don't have the budget to stay at such a nice of a place as Sanctuary Cap Cana on a regular basis (thank the Lord for Groupon!) We were awe struck as soon as we got there.

As you arrive, they give you a cool and sweet drink as well as wet towels. The staff give you a schedule every evening with a list of activities, bottle specials, and other announcements. We made the mistake of not booking the all-inclusive price (it may be a duh for a lot of you, but we were budget conscious) but that was easily fixed. We were given the option to switch to all-inclusive for $89/night/person. For all inclusive - all food & drinks (including the resort restaurants, room service, and mini fridge) were INCLUDED. The all-inclusive, even if you don't do it for all the days you're there, goes from breakfast to next day's lunch.

Restaurant tips (if you're not getting the all-inclusive package):
- Lunch grill buffet at the Casabella restaurant came out to $80 USD (for 2 people) but it was probably the best meal we had there
- Breakfast buffet at the Casabella came out to $50 USD (for 2 people)
- The food at The Wok was pretty bad (trust me, I'm Asian)
- The Blue Marlin had a seafood buffet which was extremely delicious!
- Whatever is in the mini-bar for the first day is free but after that, it's $ ($5/bottle of soda)

Our room:
We stayed there for 4 nights and 5 days in the junior suite with an ocean view. Our room was amazing! Ocean view, a huge bed (2 twin beds put together), a balcony and a living room space + cable TV. I couldn't hear the neighbors unless I was at the balcony and they had their balcony door open.

The beach/activities:
The walk to the pool and beach are VERY short. It's best to go to the beach in the morning/early afternoon because they clean the beach of seaweed every morning. The seaweed starts piling up again in the afternoon. We played giant chest, there's beach volleyball, and other activities. During the entire trip, we felt like we were in paradise.

Other random tips:
- The cost of a cab from the airport to the resort will cost you $35 (not including tip)
- The more tip you give to the staff at the resort, the more attentive they will be
- The staff speak enough English for them to understand basic requests (usually) better than at other resorts (we spoke to other folks on the plane ride back)
- If you're a smoker, bring cigarettes.
- The resort is secluded so if you were of walking around to see local activities (like us), think again. You'd have to cab it to the Punta Cana village.
- They take US cash.
- Don't need converters for outlets (US).
- Internet is available in your room via ethernet cable.

We had such a spectacular time and hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
On behalf of the Sanctuary Cap Cana staff we thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our beautiful scenery and the Caribbean warmth of our staff. It is an honor to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We hope you can come back and visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went back to Sanctuary for the third (second time for the rest of my party) and we all still love it!

It is a quick ride from the airport. We found a ride when we got to the airport that cost us $30 for 3 of us. We made arrangements to have them pick us up for our return and they were there right on time.

When we checked in, our room was not ready but we had a late lunch at the Blue Marlin and when we went back to get our keys, the room was ready and our luggage had already been delivered to our room.

We ended up with a Suite with our deck over the water. It was a large suite with room to accommodate the three of us. There was only 1 TV which was in the bedroom and during the week, a second TV appeared.

We did room service one day for lunch. Food was good and came within 40 forty minutes. We did need to call room service twice to have them pick the dishes. We did leave the room after the 1st call, so we weren't sure if they didn't have access to the room.

We spent every day at the pool. Kudos to Carlos in the Fresco Bar! It's nice to come back to a hotel were they remember you. We had lunch a few days at the pool. We were disappointed they changed the menu and took the shrimp tempura off. The food wasn't always as hot as we would have liked. In the past, the food was delivered with covers and this time it was not. Rocky also remembered us and did a great job leading the water aerobics glass.

When we went for breakfast, Inoska and Juan remembered us from our previous trips and welcomed us back with big hugs. We were sorry Juan was leaving for a few days off. We did see him later in the week and he remembers what we like to drink for breakfast - one coffee, one decaf, two passion fruit juices.

Robert did take care of us at a number of the restaurants. He did a great job.

We went to the steakhouse once and waited 45 minutes for dinner. It was worth it. The ribs were so tender and they just fell off the bone. We were planning to go another day, but again there was a long wait so we didn't stay. This disappointed us, so if you want to eat at the Steakhouse, go early!

The Wok was great as usual. Sitting outside was nice. They did offer bug spray, but we didn't use it and we didn't have any problems. The tuna sashimi was nice and fresh.

The Seafood Festival at the Blue Marlin was great. Plenty of seafood and non-seafood to choose from. The grilled lobster was excellent. Disappointed that there were no chocolate desserts.

Cappricios was nice. Very quiet inside. Food was good. I loved the cioppino. The garlic shrimp were cooked perfectly.

We did use the spa for chocolate manicures and pedicures. It was nice and relaxing. It was a bit expensive, but no more than other spas that I've used in hotels.

Weather was rainy and cloudy one day, so we spent the afternoon reading a book over at the Ocean Club bar. Very nice and quiet. Great views! Next trip, we'll have to try the pool there.

The place does need some TLC. Some of the walkways are starting to show cracks and holes. The suite that we stayed at, had some rot in the timbers over the entrance way. We did have an issue with the keys not working and security was down to our room quickly and fixed the problem. The first few days, TP and towels seemed to be out in the ladies room by the pool, but later in the week there was always plenty available.

We'll be back again and staying longer than a week next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miss_PaulaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for being a repeated guest at Sanctuary Cap Cana. We appreciate you always taking the time to share your Sanctuary vacation experiences.

It is with great pleasure that we welcome you, our valued guest, back to your Caribbean home. Every time we see a familiar face, it brings us great joy and pleasure. Repeated guests mean satisfied guests and in Sanctuary Cap Cana we work day in and day out to exceed our guest’s expectations.

We will be sharing with our staff your kind remarks; they love to know when they made a guest experience a remarkable one. Carlos, Inoska, Rocky, Robert and Juan are going to be thrilled to know that time after time they make your vacation one to remember.

Since our new management took charge, we are working with our staff to attend every detail from structure to service. We hope to welcome you back on your 4th visit in the near future, and that you get to experience our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.3 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.8 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,766 reviews
16.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
14.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
16.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing