We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our family - my husband, daughter, and myself spent four glorious nights here (February 19-22). We upgraded to a Monarch Villa that had an astounding view of the sea, palm trees waving in the foreground. We even had our own pool. The villa was perfect for us. Our sixteen-year-old had her own bedroom and bath, as did we, and we shared a comfortable living and dining area. We left our villa only for meals (breakfast is great), and to work out in the exercise room. The staff is incredible. Each day they re-stocked our mini-fridge, and greeted us warmly at every restaurant.

The biggest weakness is the food. It's plentiful but not fabulous.

And a warning on the souvenir shop across from the main lobby - - there are no prices advertised on the merchandise but the proprietor asks that you choose several items and then he will "price" them for you. My daughter chose a half inch turtle and another item that the owner priced at $87.00 US dollars. When I laughed and asked if that was pesos, he changed it to $60.00 US. I declined and he was somewhat abusive as we left the shop. He also insisted that several of the carvings, which were all of the same image, were several hundred years old. We felt somewhat sullied by that experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are more than glad that you and your family had a good time in our hotel. We work hard on maintaining an atmosphere for the guest to feel welcomed and like home. It was a pleasure for our staff to serve you during your vacations.

We are truly sorry about your experience at the souvenir shop. We will speak to them in order to prevent that future guests feel uncomfortable in any way. Please accept our apologies if our food did not meet your standards. We are currently working with our new management and staff implementing new menus and items to meet our guest expectations.

We hope you provide us the opportunity to show you the improvements in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,397 - 3,403 of 4,952 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I just got back from the Sanctuary (we were there for our honeymoon). We upgraded to a monarch villa which was great. I highly recommend that or any other room upgrade in the castle. We had a double deck that was partially over the ocean and partially over the beach. Hard to beat!
Our mornings started off with a great breakfast, we like to order eggs which were always done great. The man on the "hot plate" was great and new our orders before we even had to ask. The hostess and our waitress/server was always great (unfortunately, I'm not sure of their names.
During the day we lounged by the main pool and were taken care of by Carlos and Bernardo at the pool bar. They are great at their jobs! They make great drinks (also remember your favorites) and are super guys. I suggest ordering food poolside during the day unless you don't mind sitting in the restaurant for a while. "Teddy Bear" and Menor (incharge of activities and entertainment did just that). My husband and I are big into vball so we spent a lot of time on the courts with TB. He is great at organizing and getting people involved. Menor (we called him Carlton) is pure entertainment! He exudes happiness. I missed out on a lot of servers names but Robert waited on us on Dominican night and he was excellent. The food was actually quite good especially for a all inclusive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

On behalf of the Sanctuary Cap Cana staff we would like to congratulate you on your special occasion! We want to thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your honeymoon getaway with us. We are thrilled to learn that you had such a fabulous stay.

Our staff enjoys receiving such wonderful remarks from our valued guests. We will share your comments with all them, especially with Carlos, Bernardo, Robert, Teddy Bear and Menor (or Carlton); they receive great joy when guests acknowledge their efforts to make their vacations special.

Sanctuary Cap Cana wishes you a happy and long lasting marriage.

We hope we receive your visit back soon, perhaps before your 1st anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff was incredible. The pool bar made the best drinks, specifically Carlos. Everyone was very kind and helpful. "Mickey Mouse", who works with the entertainment team, took us on a great bike ride and then led a very entertaining round of bingo. I cannot stress how great our experience was... We had the best time, and plan to visit again soon. Five stars! Two thumbs up! 10/10! (Pack bug spray, the mosquitoes are not as kind as the staff)

Room Tip: The villa on the cove is dreamy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseluis1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are truly glad that we were able to bring you the best vacation of your life. At Sanctuary Cap Cana we take pride of our hotel`s beautiful scenery, but we take great pride of our staff efforts to please and create great experiences for our guests.

Hope you can travel back on the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a beautiful resort. Location was perfect, views were amazing. Food was good, not great. Many of the employees did not speak or understand English very well so brush up on your conversational spanish...remember you are in their country.

Rooms were very nice with great walk in custom closets, huge balconies, etc. The only complaint I really had was that the bathroom fixtures got you wet and the shower often soaked the floor. In speaking with others it seemed to be happening in many of the rooms. Rooms were quiet and relaxing.

Beach area is just OK. Plenty of chairs but a little rocky. Employees however made it great. Junior and Eddy made our trip!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the "fort". It is a unique building with larger rooms, rooftop pool and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmt1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. On behalf of the Sanctuary Cap Cana staff we extend our apologies for the discomforts you faced during your stay with us.

We guarantee you that your comments has been forwarded to the departments involved in order to find and apply ways of improvement and be able to prevent future matters.

We currently had a change of management and are working closely with staff to guarantee proper services are being conducted. It is our main objective that our guests receive nothing less than our best services. We are working closely with our staff to prevent that we cause our guest, any type of discomfort from the moment they check-in, to the moment they part. Let this not be a reason for you not to stay with us in the future.

We here at Sanctuary Cap Cana are here to service our guest and hope you can come back to experience the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been to other all inclusives in different areas of Mexico but had never been to the Dominican Republic. We were looking for somewhere to celebrate our upcoming 25th Wedding Anniversary and Sanctuary was recommended by a good friend. The resort, beach and overall property are very beautiful and so was the weather. The service was very good overall, with the exception of a few little glitches with room service which aren't even worth mentioning.

We mostly hung out at the main pool and met many other nice couples from mainly the East Coast. Although the grounds are pretty large, you get the feel of a smaller resort and there never seemed to be a problem finding chairs or towels at the pool or beach. We never really had to wait for any meals, with the exception of the steak house one night. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, especially around the pool bar. Carlos, Junior and Eddy were a lot of fun and eager to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. Katareny, the concierge, is very sweet and helpful. Oscar was always cleaning up around the pool and making sure we had enough shade and towels.

There are a couple of things they could improve upon to get me to rate this 5 stars. The food was very hit and miss. I think there needs to be more choices for breakfast and some of the food we had wasn't cooked quite right. We enjoy a good meal and were somewhat disappointed. Our meal in the Italian Restaurant was good and some of our food at the Blue Marlin was hit and miss. As far as our rooming and furnishings, they need to be updated Our tub had seen better days and there were some mold spores on the wall of the bathroom. The cushions on the wicker furniture smelled musty and I threw clean pool towels over them because I'm somewhat of a germaphobe. The material on the chairs had some marks and stains on it and it's just not appealing. When you're paying good money, you expect things to be clean and neat and the food to be good. Overall, I would recommend this place for the beauty and the weather, but if you're a real foodie, you may be disappointed. And always make sure to tip your servers, housekeeping, etc....they work hard and deserve it.

Room Tip: We were originally in the castle and upgraded to over by the beach. Room 1021. It was much closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clb449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Congratulations on your 25th Anniversary and thank you for trusting Sanctuary Cap Cana .

We are pleased to hear that the friendly staff, attracting atmosphere, stress-free setting, and food were just enough to satisfy your desires.

We here at Sanctuary Cap Cana are here to service our guest and exceed their expectations.

We are currently, with our change of management, working closely with staff to improve every detail, and guarantee that your vacations with us are memorable ones.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online. I will share your feedback with the entire team. Carlos, Eddy, Katherina, Oscar greatly enjoyed reading your review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just came back from the resort! What a great place we went with our parents and met a hole bunch of girls as they were there for a wedding and some of them where from my home Puerto Rico! We al got together and did sll the activities aqua gym, bonfire at the beach and danced at the love bar the hotel was fun thanks to Teddy Bear (entertainment manager) & Menor he was the best, even though we stayed with our parents we asked for 2 double beds that were placed in the living room while they had their own room this was like a villa.

The restaurants were great specially the blue marlin with the lobster fest. Thanks to raul for making a table of 12 for me and my new friends.

We all raved about the SPA especially all the hydro areas.

Overall I will come back soon with my girlfriends from PR and NY to have a luxury get together at this unique resort.

We also thank our parents that showed us this great place that at first we did not want to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korangellyt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know our colleagues and Raul will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. They love knowing when guest appreciates their service and efforts.

We hope you will visit us again and see the improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned on Friday, March 1 after a second visit since this time last year. We had a wonderful time last year with a few tweaks such as only three of the five restaurants were open and that was random each night. There is a minor language barrier especially with housekeeping but nothing that you can't work through. Last year we were in a beach front junior suite which we loved so we requested the same area this year. When we arrived we were told that we would be in the castle which we did not want because it is away from the main activity areas. Concierge could not have been more pleasant or accommodating and after a relaxing lunch we were escorted to our requested suite which had a breathtaking view. The resort is under new management since last year and it shows all five restaurants are open most nights and there are more employees at your service who truly w ant you to enjoy your stay. We hope to return next year at the same time. Thank you to ALL the Sanctuary staff !!

Room Tip: Beach front junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your return stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff. .

At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable.

Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to your HOME in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.1 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#15 of 112 in Punta Cana
437 reviews
1 mi away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts

Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic (Formerly Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $309 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing