We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation of my life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #38 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff was incredible. The pool bar made the best drinks, specifically Carlos. Everyone was very kind and helpful. "Mickey Mouse", who works with the entertainment team, took us on a great bike ride and then led a very entertaining round of bingo. I cannot stress how great our experience was... We had the best time, and plan to visit again soon. Five stars! Two thumbs up! 10/10! (Pack bug spray, the mosquitoes are not as kind as the staff)

Room Tip: The villa on the cove is dreamy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseluis1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are truly glad that we were able to bring you the best vacation of your life. At Sanctuary Cap Cana we take pride of our hotel`s beautiful scenery, but we take great pride of our staff efforts to please and create great experiences for our guests.

Hope you can travel back on the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,860)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,316 - 3,322 of 4,860 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a beautiful resort. Location was perfect, views were amazing. Food was good, not great. Many of the employees did not speak or understand English very well so brush up on your conversational spanish...remember you are in their country.

Rooms were very nice with great walk in custom closets, huge balconies, etc. The only complaint I really had was that the bathroom fixtures got you wet and the shower often soaked the floor. In speaking with others it seemed to be happening in many of the rooms. Rooms were quiet and relaxing.

Beach area is just OK. Plenty of chairs but a little rocky. Employees however made it great. Junior and Eddy made our trip!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the "fort". It is a unique building with larger rooms, rooftop pool and bar...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmt1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. On behalf of the Sanctuary Cap Cana staff we extend our apologies for the discomforts you faced during your stay with us.

We guarantee you that your comments has been forwarded to the departments involved in order to find and apply ways of improvement and be able to prevent future matters.

We currently had a change of management and are working closely with staff to guarantee proper services are being conducted. It is our main objective that our guests receive nothing less than our best services. We are working closely with our staff to prevent that we cause our guest, any type of discomfort from the moment they check-in, to the moment they part. Let this not be a reason for you not to stay with us in the future.

We here at Sanctuary Cap Cana are here to service our guest and hope you can come back to experience the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been to other all inclusives in different areas of Mexico but had never been to the Dominican Republic. We were looking for somewhere to celebrate our upcoming 25th Wedding Anniversary and Sanctuary was recommended by a good friend. The resort, beach and overall property are very beautiful and so was the weather. The service was very good overall, with the exception of a few little glitches with room service which aren't even worth mentioning.

We mostly hung out at the main pool and met many other nice couples from mainly the East Coast. Although the grounds are pretty large, you get the feel of a smaller resort and there never seemed to be a problem finding chairs or towels at the pool or beach. We never really had to wait for any meals, with the exception of the steak house one night. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, especially around the pool bar. Carlos, Junior and Eddy were a lot of fun and eager to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. Katareny, the concierge, is very sweet and helpful. Oscar was always cleaning up around the pool and making sure we had enough shade and towels.

There are a couple of things they could improve upon to get me to rate this 5 stars. The food was very hit and miss. I think there needs to be more choices for breakfast and some of the food we had wasn't cooked quite right. We enjoy a good meal and were somewhat disappointed. Our meal in the Italian Restaurant was good and some of our food at the Blue Marlin was hit and miss. As far as our rooming and furnishings, they need to be updated Our tub had seen better days and there were some mold spores on the wall of the bathroom. The cushions on the wicker furniture smelled musty and I threw clean pool towels over them because I'm somewhat of a germaphobe. The material on the chairs had some marks and stains on it and it's just not appealing. When you're paying good money, you expect things to be clean and neat and the food to be good. Overall, I would recommend this place for the beauty and the weather, but if you're a real foodie, you may be disappointed. And always make sure to tip your servers, housekeeping, etc....they work hard and deserve it.

Room Tip: We were originally in the castle and upgraded to over by the beach. Room 1021. It was much closer...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clb449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Congratulations on your 25th Anniversary and thank you for trusting Sanctuary Cap Cana .

We are pleased to hear that the friendly staff, attracting atmosphere, stress-free setting, and food were just enough to satisfy your desires.

We here at Sanctuary Cap Cana are here to service our guest and exceed their expectations.

We are currently, with our change of management, working closely with staff to improve every detail, and guarantee that your vacations with us are memorable ones.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online. I will share your feedback with the entire team. Carlos, Eddy, Katherina, Oscar greatly enjoyed reading your review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just came back from the resort! What a great place we went with our parents and met a hole bunch of girls as they were there for a wedding and some of them where from my home Puerto Rico! We al got together and did sll the activities aqua gym, bonfire at the beach and danced at the love bar the hotel was fun thanks to Teddy Bear (entertainment manager) & Menor he was the best, even though we stayed with our parents we asked for 2 double beds that were placed in the living room while they had their own room this was like a villa.

The restaurants were great specially the blue marlin with the lobster fest. Thanks to raul for making a table of 12 for me and my new friends.

We all raved about the SPA especially all the hydro areas.

Overall I will come back soon with my girlfriends from PR and NY to have a luxury get together at this unique resort.

We also thank our parents that showed us this great place that at first we did not want to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korangellyt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know our colleagues and Raul will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. They love knowing when guest appreciates their service and efforts.

We hope you will visit us again and see the improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned on Friday, March 1 after a second visit since this time last year. We had a wonderful time last year with a few tweaks such as only three of the five restaurants were open and that was random each night. There is a minor language barrier especially with housekeeping but nothing that you can't work through. Last year we were in a beach front junior suite which we loved so we requested the same area this year. When we arrived we were told that we would be in the castle which we did not want because it is away from the main activity areas. Concierge could not have been more pleasant or accommodating and after a relaxing lunch we were escorted to our requested suite which had a breathtaking view. The resort is under new management since last year and it shows all five restaurants are open most nights and there are more employees at your service who truly w ant you to enjoy your stay. We hope to return next year at the same time. Thank you to ALL the Sanctuary staff !!

Room Tip: Beach front junior suites
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your return stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff. .

At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable.

Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to your HOME in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time I review but we had to, what a great Resort, in a nut shell quality, great employees, cleanliness, breathtaking views and tranquility makes the Sanctuary MAGICAL ! This place never feels crowded enough places to dine and relax. Great for ladies read a book or stay at the SPA while the hubby plays golf. We had a fabulous romantic dinner by the beach we thank Ziliny concierge for the set up.

Our room was the best a Villa on top of the water yes on top of the water, houskeeping Juana was the best.

Thanks to all for a great escape. We met lots of guests from PR and will make sure all friends know about the Sanctuary.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CariduraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your first review about your recent vacations at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

It fills our heart with warmth and pride to know that we helped you have such a wonderful experience. Our entire staff works hard to give our valued guest the finest service and hospitality one can give. We will share with everybody your kind comments about their service and in a very special way with Seleny, they will be honored to know they made your experience worth it.

We hope we can serve you again, and will be waiting for your visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is our 5th time at Sanctuary we got a great deal on Living Social and returned. The place is just getting better the first management that operated the resort in 2009 is back and they are rocking!!! Starting form the bellman Cesar to the front desk Metz check in was a breeze. we stayed this time at the castle room 1032 and it was great and quiet. Food was good as well, but we raved about the Italian restaurant, Breilin your are the best. The Dominican night that was held at the lobby terrace was a hit, maybe has to be done more than once. We also saw that they are working in maintaining all the public areas painted. All the grounds are beautiful but the employees are second to none, this is the main reason we continue to come to this great resort. new stores have come into the resort, hassle free vendors which is a plus and no time share selling. Management is always on the floor to answer and to help.

The SPA is a must, thanks Jennifer for helping us with our late massage.

All we can say is that if you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy the sun and beach this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Monarch Villas are the way to go!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing us again as your vacation destination for the 5th time at Sanctuary Cap Cana!

We appreciate your positive comments and we sincerely Thank you for considering us as "A great place to relax and enjoy the sun and beach" and for taking the time to share your experience with us online.

We will share your feedback with the entire team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back HOME in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
36.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $318 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing