We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Died and went to heaven!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #40 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
“Died and went to heaven!!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I travel often but this trip was special! From the moment I got to the sanctuary I was treated like a queen. I was there for 6 amazing days and every day was better than the day before....Adonis from the restaurant the Wok was terrific, Moreno from the bar prepared the best drinks!! And El menor was funny as hell...highly recommend this resort it is truly a sanctuary..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuchi135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your 6 days stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff. .

At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable.

Please tell your friends about our hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,438
    869
    305
    130
    92
See reviews for
665
3,201
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned last week, first time in the DR. it was fabulous! The ocean view junior suite was great. Spacious, very comfortable bed and pillows. The staff were very friendly and helpful. What ever we needed we received. The restaurants were all good, pool side service was always around. The entire resort was beautiful, be sure to walk the property there is a nice beach down past the Wok restaurant. We were sad to leave and would go back again for sure!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
The Sanctuary Cap Cana staff is delighted to know you had such a wonderful stay with us. We thank you for sharing your experience with future guests online.

We are more than happy to learn that you enjoyed our restaurants, atmosphere and facilities, and are also very pleased to learn that, we helped create a fabulous memory of your first visit to the Dominican Republic.

We hope you visit us during the summer, and experience a truly Caribbean breeze!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

we just returned from our trip to Dominican Republic and would like to share with you out story. Initially we made a reservation at Be Live Hamaca Garden in Santo Domingo, but after 1 day being there understood that is a horrible place ( food, service, room, location) and asked Expedia agent to find us bettre resort. She found available room at Sanctuary Capcana and we decided to relocate. When we arrived, we found out that our reservation is not all inclusive . We were disappointed and tired of our troubles, but over sudden appeared director of service Enrique Ventura and resolved everything! It was like a magic, he has changed our reservation to all inclusive and in addition, upgraded our room to a better Monarch Villa. Staff was extremaly kind and helpfull, food tasty, bed comfortable, water clear, landscape stunning and design unique. I can find enaugh words to describe how much we enjoyed our stay there. Finally Enrique personally took us to the airport . We have a wonderful memory about Sanctuary Cap Cana and would recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for trusting Sanctuary Cap Cana to make your recent vacation unforgettable.

We are thrilled to know that our staff was able to turn your vacations into the right path. It is our pleasure to service our guest, and create for them a once in a lifetime vacation.

We will share your feedback with the entire team and especially with Enrique. They love knowing when guest appreciates their service and efforts.

Please tell your friends about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

First of all, I would have liked to give a 3.5 rating but the program wouldn't allow. The rating has nothing to do with the grounds or overall beauty of the property but mainly with maintenance issue. Some in our group had to change rooms 2 or 3 times. The staff were all wonderful and helpful and I would like to name Pablo Lopez and others at the Blue Marlin. Then there was Maria and Inoska at Casa Bella. At the beach Margarita, Marta, Edward and Eddy kept us well supplied with food, drink and lounges. Mr Cory Santana, the hotel manager was so very helpful with some difficulties we experienced. As with Nina N's review, sometimes we waited 2-2 1/2 hours at mealtime and the Blue Marlin seemed a little slower that the others. We understand that the property is under new ownership and they are striving to resolve problems. The potential of this property is tremendous but apparently the previous owners let it get a but run down. All-in-all we had a delightful time at the Sanctuary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your online review about your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are very sorry to know about your unfortunate experience at our hotel. It is never our intentions for any of our guest to have any misfortunes while on vacation. As you have seen, we are currently, with our change of management, working closely with staff to improve every detail, and guarantee that your vacations with us are memorable ones.

We here at Sanctuary Cap Cana are here to service our guest and hope you can come back to experience the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I write this review while enjoying an after dinner coffee outside the lobby while my hubby smokes a cigar. We have been here a few days already for a total of 8 days. It is a really beautiful property. The landscape is stunning. The buildings are well done and very unique from anywhere I have stayed. Our room is the best part as we have our own patio and pool so we can swim or sun anytime we want with a ridiculous view of the ocean at all times. The breakfast buffet is great and for lunch we got room service once which was fine but nothing spectacular. I will say that every dinner we have had so far, which has been 3, has taken atleast 2 hours or more. For me that gets on my nerves because I just get antsy. The first night was the worst at blue marlin and I was most annoyed because the servers were putting more effort into resetting the tables then taking care of the people dining. Thank goodness the location was so pretty so we just starred at the ocean. Tonights dinner took just as long because we walked in just after a large (and loud and rude) wedding party who obviously have never traveled outside the US before because their demands held up the rest of everyone's dinners. We felt so bad for the server we gave him a nice tip. We plan on going to the spa and spending the rest of our time here relaxing and have no doubt we will enjoy the remaining 4 days.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online.

On behalf of the Sanctuary Cap Cana staff we extend our apologies for the discomforts you faced during your stay with us.

I guarantee you that your comments have been forwarded to the departments involved in order to put together an inmediate action plan to prevent future matters. We are working closely with the staff to guarantee proper services are being conducted. It is our main objective that our guests receive nothing less than our best services.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your food, as well as your room, and our landscape and we trust that your Spa experience was as relaxing as you expected.

The staff at Sanctuary Cap Cana will take into consideration all of your constructive comments and hope, that we will soon be honored with your visit to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day visit to Sanctuary Cap Cana. It was myself, my husband and our two daughters (12 & 14). From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed the staff was eager to help us and make our trip perfect. Our daughter was sick with a stomach flu that started on the flight down to the Dominican Republic. I needed to see a doctor and to get some medicine for her. There is a doctor on the premises who was able to check her temperature and offer additional services if we wanted more medical care. I wanted childrens tylenol and the concierge graciously arranged for a taxi to deliver some to us from the closest pharmacy.
The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is maintained impeccably. It is a small resort that is situated on a breathtaking strip of beach. The sand is beyond soft and fine. The beach and pool both have ample seating and towels available. There aren't any umbrellas on the beach (plenty at the pool) so shade is only to be found under palm trees (there are many). The restaurants are all clean and the food is decent. I am a very picky eater and was able to find something at each meal. We opted for the all inclusive option and it was well worth it. We ordered fresh fruit from room service (included in the all inclusive plan) every afternoon. It was delivered promptly and was fresh, ripe and elegantly presented.
On our last day we didn't need to check out until mid afternoon. The hotel states that check out is at 12:00. I requested a late check out and was granted one without any hassle.
We were able to relax as a family and enjoy plenty of quiet time on the beach and walking around the picturesque grounds. I would also recommend the hotel to couples looking to get away for a romantic vacation. They have an "all adult" area with a separate pool and rooms.
For the price and the easy location (10 minutes to the airport) it makes for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JLH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Cap Cana as your recent destination for your family vacation! On behalf of our staff we thank you for your kind remarks and positive feedback.

Our staff takes pride of our property and its surroundings, and is eager to match such amazing scenery with amazing service towards our guests. Any effort we can make to assure our guests are going to have a wonderful stay we’ll be honored to do so.

We are thankful for your trust and needless to say we enjoyed serving you.

We certainly hope you can plan a visit before the summer ends! We will be waiting with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went to Sanctuary Cap Cana for my best friend's wedding. It was picture perfect.

The rooms were right on the beach and within 20 steps, we could see the bluest water I've ever seen in my life.

The staff is super friendly and due to some wedding planning miscues, they upgraded the entire group of wedding attendees (30+ people) to the nicest villas AND All-inclusive food/drinks. It was the greatest hook up of my life.

Room Tip: Not a bad room or villa on the property. The "Castle" was cool, but seemed a little too de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviespi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory-Santana, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are pleased to know that you had such a wonderful vacation. We continuously work to fulfill our guest’s needs and desires and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your upgrades and the wedding.

It is our drive to create picture perfect moments for our valued guests.

We certainly hope you visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
36.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing