We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding was a dream come true at Sanctuary Cap Cana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #40 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our wedding was a dream come true at Sanctuary Cap Cana”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I just got back from sanctuary cap cana and had the most amazing time. My flight landed a few hours ago and i'm quite tired but i had to write a review tonight. My wife and I had our wedding there on saturday night. We went there on wednesday and left earlier today.

Thank you so much Victoria Mendoza (manager there). You made this a wedding of our dreams. You and your staff did so much to go above and beyond the call of duty. All of our guests had a great time and many said this was their favorite wedding ever.

The hotel arranged for basically everything we planned for our guests. They set up our guests for zip lining and snorkeling at the marinarium. The guests really loved that. They were treated to delicious rehearsal dinner. The guests really like the food (especially the paella).

Our wedding took place on the beach and the reception was right nearby. A band trio serenaded the guests and the bartender made some wicked cocktails. Our reception took place in the palapa with 27 guests and was just gorgeous. We had 3 tables and the guests were able to all interact and socialize. the DJ spun some fun tunes.

The resort is just amazingly beautiful. we stayed in the fortress and had an ocean view. another night, we had a private pool. This is one of the most beautiful hotels/resorts i have ever been to. (i've traveled to over 30 countries and been to many beautiful resorts). The grounds are immaculate and the staff really do what they can to give you a first class experience. The staff all knew my and my fiance by the end of the first day. They really made you feel like the resort was your home.

My elderly parents really loved sitting by the poolside and taking in the cool ocean breeze. The blue marlin restaurant was my favorite and has a really great paella and cerviche.

The spa is world class and our massages were really nice. Our other guests visited the spa several times & really loved it.

I highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to have a nice relaxing time & be well taken care of.

I'd be happy to answer any questions people have about the resort. The hotel concierge and management really want to make the resort the best in punta cana and it shows. I definitely plan on returning to the resort in the near future. Next time, i'll try play golf at the golf club across the street. i heard it is one of the best in the carribean.

Thank you so much Victoria. Several of my guests liked the resort so much they said they'd be happy to write you guys a review so stay tuned.

For anyone considering staying at the hotel or having their wedding there, I highly recommend it. If you are looking for a loud drunken party, then look elsewhere. The resort is very upscale and an amazing place to relax and be treated first class. Feel free to email me at hairycoconut@hotmail.com if you have questions about staying here or having a wedding here.

Victoria and her staff always did everything they could to make us feel special & taken care of. I wish other hotel chains like the ritz carlton, four seasons, mandarin oriental would learn something from you and your staff. We will never forget how amazing you guys were.

If you are ever in town in new york, please contact us & we'll make sure to return the hospitality.

Room Tip: the rooms are huge. I had the opportunity to see many room types because we had many guests stay th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank hairycoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for trusting Sanctuary Cap Cana to deliver a memorable wedding. We are pleased to hear that the friendly staff, appealing atmosphere, stress-free setting, and food were just enough to satisfy your desires. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online. I will share your feedback with the entire team. We invite you back and perhaps we can host your 1st wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,438
    869
    305
    130
    92
See reviews for
665
3,201
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay. Its quite. THey have keep the property very clean. The pool, the ocean view & scenery is gorgeous. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were impressed. The whole staff were wonderful & friendly. The food was delicious, The rooms were always very clean but we only saw our housekeeper once sometimes theirs a communication gap. We can't ask for more with our room service, staff did an excellent job. We also want to commend the excellent job we got from the concierge, Yisel Doce was always ready to help us when we needed with smile. We also want to commend the staff from the Blue Marlin restaurant
-Reyni Flores & Jesus Costello specially who went out of their way to serve us with a smile. The
staff where we eat our breakfast, the bell goys, the bar tenders all give us a excellent service, This is my second time & first time for my niece . We'd love to go back someday. We were invited to attend the David Ortiz Celebrity Golf Tournament and we enjoyed every minute of it.
We extended our stay longer except that my niece had to go to work. If you are looking for a quiet
place to relax & enjoy the scenery this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Sanctuary Cap Cana. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online. I will share your feedback with the entire team. They love knowing guest appreciates there service. Please tell your friends about our hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

January 2013 We just returned from a great week at Sanctuary Cap Cana. When we arrived there had been a booking glitch regarding our room which the manager handled gracefully and immediately to our satisfaction. Our accommodation was stunning. The resort itself is set in beautiful grounds and is so spacious that it it never feels crowded or noisy. The pools are breathtaking. The food was exceptionally good in all the restaurants. The staff were uniformly helpful; their english was infinitely better than our spanish... Our boys - age 12 and 14 - had a glorious time. There was tennis at a near by resort. We had to rent court time and racquets but Sanctuary provided shuttle service at no cost there and back. We would go back any time...

Room Tip: We had initially booked a room with two beds for the four of us. Given the size of our original roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Micheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable. Thank you for your kind remarks and recognition of efforts. We are happy to hear the Front Desk Manager was able to meet your request right away! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My fiance and I just returned from our second vacation to the Sanctuary Cap Cana. Our first trip was excellent enough to convince us to return, but our second trip was an even greater success. we will definitely be returning in the future. We brought along two other couples, so there were six of us total for this trip.

The most important thing we did to enhance our stay was to rent an electric car (looks like a golf cart.) We set it up before we even arrived through the wonderful concierge, Marlenis. It gave us the freedom to come and go from the Sanctuary resort as we pleased, and the ability to explore the larger area of Cap Cana. The Cap Cana area is very safe, and you can drive your electric car around freely.

We took our cart and spent a day golfing at the fantastic Punta Espada golf course. The golf course is rated by Gold Digest as the best course in all of the Caribbean and Mexico. There are 13 holes on the water and it is truly beautiful, worth it even if you are not a big golfer. In the center of the golf course is the Caleton Beach Club. The beach is by far the best in the area (much better than the one at the Sanctuary) and they also have multiple restaurants and a great pool area. Another fun area to take the electric cart to is the Marina. We went down there are organized a fishing excursion, but the waves were too rough for us and we had to turn around. Still, the marina itself is a lot of fun to spend time in. There are some shops and bars to explore.

Although we were on the all-inclusive plan, we made a greater effort to tip the staff this year and it paid off. The level of service we received was excellent. Last year, we had some minor issues with the responsiveness and speed of the staff, but this year the issues were almost completely eliminated. We spent about $200 in tips over the one week we spent at the resort, and tipped a small amount each time. While tipping is not necessary on the all-inclusive plan, the hotel is a service industry and it will make a major difference in your experience. By the time we left, staff members were practically begging to help us. When you are spending $4000+ on a vacation, spending $100-$200 in tips is completely worth it.

The staff is one of the resort's biggest assets. The concierge Marlenis is fantastic. We were friends with her from our visit and when we came back she went out of her way to set everything up for us and did an excellent job. If you plan on renting an electric car or participating in any excursions or activities during your stay, it may be worth talking to her before you even arrive. Juan Carlos and Metz at the front desk also do a great job and really took care of our needs during our stay. Some of the bellmen aren't super responsive, but we had good luck with Eduardo who seems to have the best idea of what is going on.

All of the bartenders are very friendly and make great drinks. The bar manager Donny D. is one of the best parts about the Sanctuary. Both Javiers that work at the Ocean bar in the castle also do great work. Moreno at the Blue Marlin bar has a great attitude, makes great drinks, and makes everyone feel welcome.

Another one of Sanctuary's major benefits is the food. We've been to a number of all inclusive resorts with bad food, but the Sanctuary offers both good quality of food and a lot of options. Our favorite restaurants were the Wok and the Blue Marlin. The Italian restaurant is pretty good, and we have not tried the steakhouse. Casa Bella is good for a quick breakfast or lunch, but it's a buffet and we preferred other options for dinner. One night, we organized a romantic dinner on the beach. At $99 per person, the view and dinner set up were absolutely beautiful, and the food was great. Well worth the price and we would do it again The Love bar is fun, but we preferred the Blue Marlin and Ocean Bar. It would be great if the resort had an evening beach bar outside, and I hope the new owner's consider it.

We've stayed in 3 rooms at the Sanctuary, and looked at 4 total. Our favorite has been the castle private plunge pool with ocean view. The pool and outside lounge area made the room great to hang out in, and the easy access to the Ocean Bar made it easy to get drinks. We have also stayed in the Junior Suite Ocean View, and the Castle Junior Suite Ocean View. We preferred the Castle location. The last room we looked at was a Monarch ocean front villa, which was right on the water and lovely. We have heard from other visitors that the "glass house" villa on the point is the best room on the property. If the resort is not full, ask the hotel what your options to upgrade are and ask them to show the room options to you before you commit. They will work a deal with you if they ask and the have better rooms to fill.

We got a couples massage in the spa. It was not a "must do," but it was a fun activity. The massages cost more than we would spend at home, but they were pretty good and very relaxing. All the oil also helped with our tans, so it is a good idea if you are in the sun a lot.

While we were at the resort, we heard some other people complaining about the quality of the service. We had a great experience with the service at Sanctuary Cap Cana, and can offer two suggestions to other visitors: 1 Tip! 2. Adjust your expectations. You are in the dominican, and not America or Europe. They do not operate with the same efficiency you might be used to (they also likely get paid a lot less than people in your home country with the same type of job.) You are also on vacation, and slowing down the pace of life is not the worst thing in the world. Things will get done, you just might have to wait a few minutes more than you are used to. Be prepared for it before you arrive and you will be just fine

Overall, we had a great time at the Sanctuary Cap Cana during both of our stays, and plan to come back soon. If we could offer two pieces of advice to other visitors we'd say tip the staff and rent an electric cart. Have fun!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank lizandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. I am happy to see that the friendly staff, accomodations, and attractive atmosphere were exactly what you needed for your trip. The golf course is a spectacular place to experience! You guys had the right idea renting the electric cars. There is plenty to explore while in Cap Cana. I will share your feedback with the entire team. They love knowing guest appreciates there service. Please tell your friends about our hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

just got back from Sanctuary 29th DEC 2012. I am blessed enough to say that I've been to a lot of resorts for work and leisure, but I can vouch that my in laws are experts! Their favorite resort for a scenic island get away is Sandy Lane in Barbados. Sanctuary, per them, is the most beautiful they've been to in the Carribbean. Once the staff is trained a bit better, this place will be 5-star.

Staff is super friendly and attentive, but needs some training. Some in English, but mostly in overall management of being a server.

A new MGMT company took over the week before we got there (DEC, a few days before Christmas), and they were super attentive to our issues, such as:

- cracked glass door (changed next day)
- furniture on the deck with old wood (painted same day)
- 4 persons in a 2 bdrm suite with 1 small fridge, not stocked, and we were all inclusive (1more fridge put in each room by the end of the day)

I trust that if they keep up the effort, this place will blow up and become a go-to in the region.

grounds are perfectly manicured. near a humbling Jack Nicklaus course (Punta Espada) and a adventure park for zip line, horses, etc

10 minutes from airport

small beach but the view is amazing....as blue as Turks. Very very few boats whizzing by causing noise.

mixed clientele, but post college age if there were solo young people without family. Place is optional all inclusive, and it is a good option if you are a 3 meals a person type or like a few glasses of wine at dinner. That said, the prices on the menus are reasonable ($6-15 an app / $17-35 an entree) if you aren't all inclusive. Booze can cost ya

with all inclusive, only thing not inlcuded are bottled wine and lobsters.

casa bella is all dining, and is breakfast. Although breakfast was 97% the same very day: fruit/salad/cold apps, cereal, egg station, breads, eggs, some plaintain dish, some potato dish, bacon, sausage. muffins/pastries, everything is very good.

they also have buffet for lunch which adds a few hot items and always has a BBQ station outside with chicken, burgers, hot dogs, some seafood, etc

we went there for dinner only once...Dominican night, of course. Fried chicken was sinful!

Blue Marlin was open every day for lunch by the pool, and an amazing water view, and 7/8 nights for dinner. very good seafood; grouper burger, ceviche, pork nachos were favorites.

Servers at the steak house and Carpriccio are the best, and thankfully most of them are at Blue marlin during the day.

Steak house has least varied menu, but they do it well, and have pork chops, 2 fish dishes, and chicken for non meat types.

Carpriccio was surprisingly good Italian. DELICIOUS lasagna.

Worst service by far was Wok. food was slow, not correct, and often just lukewarm. it had just been reopened, and I'd say the staff - having to deal with Chinese/Japanese to English to Spanish ordering, needs lots of menu and service training.

although slow, food was quite good taste-wise at Wok. hope it is cleaned up

facilities wise, I'd say my only complaint was the fitness center. Located in a beautiful, relaxing, and new spa, it is very small for the size of a 400+ person resort. needs more modern weight machines.

Family considering heading back in MAR before it closes for the season. Overall enjoyed it a lot!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana. Since undergoing new management we are working closely with our staff to make certain our guest receives the highest level of service. We have evaluated the menu at Wok and will be creating a new menu. Our management team main priority is the guest. It’s great news to see that we are satisfying our guest needs and responding to their request quickly! Please tell your friends about our hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Service was consistently poor. food was really disappointing but you do not have a choice because there is no place else to go. Chicken thighs and burgers every day!!! The staff is nice enough but they say yes to everything without ever correctly pursuing. perhaps because of the language barrier but my suspision is that it is due to poor training. all in all, ok to go but only if you have a great deal and you plan on spending your time somewhat intoxicated so as not to care about all the issues.
The kids had a great time but they usually do where there is a pool. The pools and grounds are nice and kept clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. It’s regrettable that you did not enjoy your stay here at Sanctuary Cap Cana. We appreciate your feedback. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. Since undergoing new management we have directed our attention to areas that need most improvement. Our management team main priority is the guest. We hope you will visit us again and see the improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Our trip was wonderful. We were greeted by Hector, the manager, who helped make our time at sanctuary just perfect. The property was immaculate and service was excellent. The views from the Blue Marlin restaurant, which was stilted over the water, were spectacular. (By the way, get the grouper sandwich and the seafood paella, it was great). We stayed in the Fortress in a honeymoon suite, which was breathtaking. The plunge pool, while a little cold, was great to have on our private deck overlooking the turquoise water. We highly recommend the sanctuary, for your next Caribbean getaway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaheed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us when staying in Punta Cana in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
36.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing