We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a place to be, unforgetable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a place to be, unforgetable!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Imagine all you can do. this resort was beautiful and intimate, a perfect place not crowded, weather it close to perfection in paradise of course.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FSimon_dice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,435
    868
    305
    130
    92
See reviews for
665
3,197
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just got back on the 14th.I just had to write and say thanks.This staff works their a##es off for the guest, plain and simple.Every one of them.These people are very special.They dont stop until you are grinning ear to ear. One example,It rained hard one day,the pool bartenders, the towel boys the servers kicked up the music and were dancing around the bar and in the rain doing the samba the mambo .None of us had sense to come in out of the rain.It was crazy beautiful.We were all laughing hystrerically .I thought rain was supposed to ruin everything.The waiters are fit for royalty.The rooms very clean.The grounds are beautiful.The people are so genuine.Thank you..all of you.I have been to 3 secrets and there will be a fourth.

Room Tip: I always just take the standard room.I am a value man.I have never been disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fastcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at Secrets Sanctuary for our honeymoon, and were so excited to arrive since the resort was rated so well. There were definitely many pros to our time there, but significant cons as well.
Pros- the grounds overall were beautiful, the food for an all inclusive was fairly good, the castle pool was breathtaking, the resort overall was not crowded, the resort itself was clean, the people mostly, were friendly,
Cons- you basically could not use the beach. There were feet wide of seaweed that was preventing you from going into the ocean. Each day workers were raking through the seaweed, but never really got anywhere due to the amount of seaweed that covered the beach. On the third day of our trip, they brought in a batco to get rid of the seaweed. That was a big distraction, and people still did not want to go into the water while a batco was heaving away the seaweed.
The staff speaks and understands very little english. We unfortunately do not speak enough spanish, so communication with the staff was very difficult.
The resort website shows mostly the castle part of the resort, however there is an entirely different part, which is pretty, but not as magical as that part. We stayed in the monarch villa on the beach, but it was secluded in not the best way, and we could not use that beach either due to the seaweed.
We had 3 different minor problems with our room, which took a lot of effort to get staff to fix.
Alexandra the concierge was awful. When we finally had an opportunity to meet with her, she did not give us our coupons we needed for the spa and wine which was included in our package. We were under the impression that the deductions would automatically be taken from our bill, so sorting all of that out at checkout was a burden. Also, the golf course was closed when we met with her, so she could not make reservations for us. She was supposed to do so the following day and get back to us, which she never did. The same situation happened with our romantic dinner. There was too much following up done on our part, esp for dealing with a concierge on your honeymoon.
Tipping the pool staff did not keep them coming back to you. One side of the pool received more staff attention than the other, we caught on to this by our 4th day.

Overall, we had a wonderful honeymoon, but this resort is not as fabulous as many people make it out to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Food was teriffic. Staff was genuinely engaged in making our stay at the hotel as pleasurable as possible. Facilities were beautiful. Site was not overcrowded. The weather was beautiful of course. We are considering returning for our 5 year anniversary and would highly recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: It seemed to me as though you can't go wrong with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Despite our arrival on the heel of Hurricane Irene, one day of down pour, then sun sun sun! Resort was beautiful and intimate, not crowded which we liked; Food was delicious; Staff was great, always going above and beyond. BEWARE of airport, there is a $10 tourist card that you MUST purchase and immediately turn it in a few feet later, literally. My travel agent failed to mention this minor detail. They could have let me at least keep the tourist card as a souvenior. Exit the airport to meet your transportation, stay focused and don't talk to anyone until you find your transportation. Thanks all folks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Where do I begin? This was our second visit to secrets sanctuary, and I really couldn’t begin to say enough about the place. It is truly amazing. It’s hard to believe some of the negative reviews on trip advisor. This resort goes over and beyond to accommodate its guests in any way possible. For anyone on the fence about this property, I assure you if you have a problem address it. Don’t wait until you are leaving to speak with someone. All of the staff from top to bottom will do whatever they can to help. I really wouldn’t change a single thing about the resort. Special thanks to Marco Pena, (Rooms Division Manager, who secretly runs the resort) He is the man. Every member of the staff at Secrets has the utmost respect for him. He is truly one of the resorts most valuable assets. Pascal Messier, (Executive Chef) who made sure all of our meals were perfect. Kary, (Concierge) made sure we always had anything and everything we needed. Frank the Tank, Willy Wonka, Mickey Mouse (Entertainment team) what a great group of guys. The staff at secrets is what truly makes this resort special. They are always smiling and always excited to help. It’s hard to have a bad time with such good people running this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ILDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time there. The place was beautiful but couple of things we wish could have been a little better. Beach was in a good of a shape that it could be in after Irene hurricane but ocean was a little too rocky. There were rocks so you can't really run into the ocean. We had to walk gingerly into the ocean so we won't step on rocks. The workers at the resort are amazing. That is what would make me come back again especially the Entertainment team, Usher, Micky Mouse and Frank the Tank. Our wedding was very well accommodated. Only thing we didn't like was the photo session. We wish that the photographer would have taken more pictures of us in different settings. We took a lot of the same pictures in same settings and he really didn't tell us what to do much. Other then that, we love the people there. I would say that is the best thing that i would take out of from the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnieB612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
36.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing