We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at The Royal Suites - the holiday was amazing and I will do a separate review for Thomson and the Dreamliner - back to the resort - on arriving here we were greeted by Ricky on reception and was treated to a glass of champagne (Cava) and a cool towel - because we are from the UK we didn't get the option to book the swim up suites and unfortunately none were available that night but Ricky said some would be available the next day. Our room was great but we really wanted a swim up. Next day we spoke with Nicolas on reception and he sorted us out with an upgrade (well worth the $20 a night). Many thanks to the reception staff for being very helpful at all times (Ricky and Nicolas).

The swim up room was brilliant and we spent most of our time here (5801). We had the sun for most of the day and it was very quiet. The small bar nearby (round the corner) opened at 10am and this became our Cava Time! Many, many thanks to the staff at this bar and in particular Patricio (not too sure of the spelling) and Sandra who kept us well supplied in drink and conversation.

Our maid did a great job keeping us in towels which are plentiful and changing our bedding etc. She was a star! Our fridge was always stocked up on water, beer etc., but if you wanted extra you only had to ask on the butlers and within minutes it arrived.

The butlers were all very friendly and nothing was too much of a problem. Many thanks Daniel for getting us the new iron and hairdryer. They make the reservations for you in the many restaurants you can pick from. They even help you out with the various trips and what is going on in the resort.

You can have as many beach/pool towels as you wish which was a surprise and you can have as much water as you like from any of the bars (lobby, pool etc.)

The Beach is amazing - soft white sands and brilliant blue sea and sky. We walked on the beach every day. Never had a problem getting a sun bed in the shade at any time of the day - plenty of them. The main pool was great but only went in it once. Again plenty of sun loungers.

The food can be a bit hit or miss but we never went hungry - always found something to eat. We had breakfast in La Chanterelle most mornings and I would recommend the fresh fruit - never quite the same at home. Plenty of choice from cereals, bread (which is very good), hot food, eggs, etc., cold meats and the like. Lunch was mainly taken at one of the beachside cafes La Bohia for example. Plenty of hot food and salads etc. and again fresh fruit and cakes and ice cream. Because we ate so good during the morning and early afternoon very often didn't eat at night - men you do have to wear long trousers in the evening. We did a few meals at night and I would recommend the Steak House. Very nice this was and don't get put off by the queues and the price on the bottle of wine on your table (you don't need to buy the wine) - they will provide you with a glass of whatever. You can always get a hot burger and fries from the Sports Bar which is open 24 hours.

The resort grounds are always being worked on by the many ground staff (seems to be 1000's of staff overall) and are fantastic.

We did have a boat trip but again I will review this separately.

The Royal Suites are part of a larger resort and you can around all these by the many golf carts and the train which runs round.

Overall we had a fantastic time and didn't want to leave - would definitely like to come back! Again, many thanks to all the staff that made our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank murphyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear. Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Royal Suites Turquesa for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

We put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinions. Focus our efforts and dedication to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities.

It is truly a pleasure for us to confirm that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have surpassed all your expectations.

We appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their endeavor and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal, which is the total satisfaction of our guests.

We also would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future to offer you a memorable stay.

Sincere Regards,

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,215 - 2,221 of 6,721 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

1. Bad customer service
2. Most of staff does not speak English
3. More like a compound than resort need golf carts to get around. They are slow to respond on weekends.
4. New furniture in rooms buildings are old and ugly
5.beach was nice
6. Food was horrible...never the right temp. The buffets had quantity over quality.
7. Paid extra for adults only (AO). The only parts AO were the sleeping/rooms. I thought I would have no interaction with families and kids.
8. The grounds were well maintained. The "resort" sits way back off the road.
9. I enjoyed the swim up room and pool privacy.
10. Traveled for five days the end of June 2014.

Room Tip: Definitely request or book a swim up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank janice05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Resident Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium as the destination for your recent holidays. We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests’ satisfaction, thus your opinion is of the utmost importance to us. We reviewed all your observations and herewith we would like to express our sincerest regret for the fact that we could not fully exceed your expectations with some of our services and facilities.

Related the language barrier you mention, it is very important to emphasize that Dominican Republic is a native Spanish speaking country, also the educational level cannot be compared with first world countries. Nonetheless, we have a great task ahead of us concerning this issue. As a matter of fact, we provide intensive educational courses, including English classes to all staff that are directly in contact with

I am rather surprise to hear that you could not get a good meal during your stay and I would like to take this opportunity to point out that carefully selected products compose our gastronomical supply, taking into consideration the diversity of clients who visit our hotel and the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires..

When the presence of a Manager is required, there is always one of our team members - Manager on Duty, Resident Manager, etc. - available to offer assistance. We also organize a special event, the Management Cocktail, where our guests are invited to make suggestions, ask questions and share their comments with the various Department Managers. I regret not having had the opportunity to attend you personally during your stay.

Be assured you that we will never cease in our effort to achieve the constant improvement of the level of our services.

Sincerely,

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I booked this resort through groupon and were very pleased with the service we received including the car ride to and from the airport. The staff met our needs when they could even though sometimes it took a while. Luis and El capitan Tomas were definitely my favorite members. They helped us out incredibly while we stayed.

The resort itself is very nice with serverala restaurants to choose from. My only complaint is the room quality. The beds are too hard, floor is extremely slippery when wet, fridges are luke warm and temp control is non adjustable. We had to switch rooms after the first day because we had no A/C dial or TV remote or cold drinks. Our new room was better but the fridge still didn't work and the shower had cold water for 3 consecutive days. Other than that the food was decent and they shows in the theater were very fun.

I loved dancing at the disco not to mention all the Dominican has to offer. I would definitely come back here but Il be sure to check the room first.

Room Tip: Check room thermostat, water temp, toilet flushing and the fridge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to extend you our gratitude for having selected Royal Suites Turquesa as the place to spend your recent holidays. And also thank you for your sincere feedback about our services and facilities.

As far as our gastronomy, it is worthy to mention that we are more than glad to hear that we could meet your expectation with our food offer. Notwithstanding I took a good notes of your particular observations.

Thank you for letting future visitors about your awesome trip. Your home in Punta Cana awaits your next visit.

L. Tajes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My review is a bit late but we had an excellent stay at this hotel. If you don't make dinner reservations when you arrive you might be disappointed.
The Royal Suites is a small adult’s only resort that is part of a huge resort complex. The grounds are beautiful! It is a very clean, nicely kept and you always feel safe. It has one lobby bar, one pool bar and all the restaurants are a short walk away or you can go by golf cart. Royal Suites drinks were great and premium liquor is available if you ask. The other hotels don’t have the premium liquor available.
Check-in: Takes about 30-45 minutes. Royal Suites has a small registration desk and if they are busy it will take a bit of time to get checked in. The staff makes up for it – they are super. We had a 20 minute wait and a young lady whose name is “Lady” took care of us. Thomas the bellboy is great too – he’ll take you wherever you want to go in a golf cart.
Rooms: We had rooms on the 3rd floor of the Royal Suites 5238 and 5246. Room 5238 is a honeymoon suite for $500 more and it barely had an ocean view. Room 5246 was $500 less and had a much better view of ocean. In general, the rooms were nice but the beds are pretty firm and pillows are small. These two rooms also overlook the pool. They are located at the end of the complex so you also get a view of the side street to the right where building roof tops have lots of trash. It really needs to be cleaned up. Our room was quiet and nicely kept by Theresa who is a super nice lady.
PLEASE TIP YOUR SERVER – They work so hard and work long hours.
Pool Bar: Staff was great. Delores Adams Vardez was our waitress for the entire stay. Delores provides wait service out by the ocean and also by the pool. She must walk over 15 miles a day and delivers service with a SMILE. One day, she made us fresh coconut drinks that were very tasty! She even made it a point to come say goodbye on our last day. Fantastic lady that works super hard, if you see her tell her you read this post on the internet. At night Sandy and Miguel held down the pool bar. They made us awesome nightcap drinks and were so pleasant to talk to. They kept the bar super clean for all customers.
Restaurants: Highly recommend making reservations shortly after you arrive for the entire time of your stay – with a reservation Royal Suites guests never have to wait in line – it’s great! Recommend the French Restaurant called Le Chanterelle. Try to get a table outside and ask for Sucre Mato as your waiter. He is awesome and so happy! His buddy Jose Ramon is also really nice. These guys work the morning and night shift – super waiters. The Steakhouse and Italian restaurant are also great. In general, service at all restaurants was great. We ended up going only to the Le Chanterelle for breakfast because it was less crowded and you can order from the waiter instead of doing the buffet every day. Breakfast ends at 10am.
Message: Awesome! They had a special running so we got a 50 min message for $50 pp when you download the Palladium App. Well worth it for a perfect start to your vacation.
Would we go back – YES!

Room Tip: The Royal Suites is a small adult’s only resort that is part of a huge resort complex. The grounds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RWTravelDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Words are missing to express our gratitude for having chosen Royal Suites Turquesa as your second home in Punta Cana as well as for sharing your impressions through Tripadvisor with thousands of travelers to our destination. It is an honor to hear that once more we were able to provide an amazing vacation.

Your recognition on the effort and dedication demonstrated by our staff members are greatly appreciated and I will personally transmit your compliments.

Needless to say, we will be anxiously expecting your next visit.

Your “home away from home” awaits you.

L. Tajes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I just got back from a week at this beautiful resort. This is an amazing place, beautiful views, and the best part about being at the Royal Suites is the the fact that you can have access to the entire compound (4 different hotels on one compound) and you don't always need reservations. If you stay at another hotel, you couldn't come up to the Royal Suites Area. This was our first time to DR. Our room was not ready when we arrived, however they staff quickly got a room ready for us. (we were supposed to get a swim up room but did not). This was acceptable though. The room was gorgeous. The person who helped us to our room explained that the liquor on top was Free, the drinks in the refrigerator were free, however wine was not free. Little did we know that free only meant if we consumed the bottles in our room. The moment they left the room we were charged for them. Nobody told us that. We found out as we were checking out and trying to make our ride back to the airport. We were told by the staff that we were to get a fruit basket and a champagne bottle as a gift for our anniversary. We did not receive the champagne, and the fruit basket was brought the night before we left. This was also brought after we complained 4 times. Our Butler was hardly ever there. Most of the time that I went downstairs to talk to her, she was never there. Even though her time said she was supposed to be. Also there was supposed to be a clock radio in the room that supports ipods. I had to complain 4 times before we got that as well. One of the days we left our room safe open, however locked the door and put a sign out that said "DO NOT DISTURB". My wife and i cam back from taking a walk and found a note that said for our security the safe had been closed and the access code had been changed. I called the front desk because once again our Butler was not there. They told me that i had to wait for the butler. So the next morning, i finally tracked her down and told her what happened. She assured me that if that sign was on the door, nobody should have entered, but came in opened our safe for us and made sure we had all of the items. Other than that nothing was done. The restaraunts were great, especially the Spanish one (which needed a reservation). The only bad thing was that the waiter did not even try to speak English and help us understand how the food worked. This was our first time with Tappas.

There were definitely some pros and cons to this place:

Pro: this place is breath taking, full access to all sites, Adult only, pools at every hotel. Bars everywhere., beaches not crowded., EXTREMELY CLEAN BEACHES. rides all around resort if you didn't want to walk, a full market and shop area on the resort so you didn't have to go off the resort and be hounded., Amazingly there were ZERO bugs...ANYWHERE on our resort. the beds on the beaches were a nice touch.

Cons: Our Butler was not available to us when they were supposed to be, no explanation of the liquor charges until we were checking out, the entry to our room, if you were lucky enough to track down a cart to be escorted to a location, you could get one, however we just ended up walking most of the time because we would have waited for a long time., the pool that surrounded our building was not cleaned. It was almost the filter was not kept on., and the small circle of columns in the pool that had the jets that you could turn on, didn't work. In fact, we tried several of them, and only one worked. When we asked how to turn on, we just got a reply "no working". If you want to take a romantic stroll along the beach at night, think again. It is very dark on the beach at night...only one or two lights the whole way. We used our cell phone light and then decided to just walk back to resort. The last con was our cupboard for where we put the room service dishes. Upon our first day there, the person who helped us to our room noticed it wouldn't open, we complained about it 3 times, and then when room service came, i told them as well. After their inspection, they said someone would be right up to fix that, nobody ever did.
Overall this was a great experience, however the things that kept coming up prevented me from giving a higher rating. Very clean overall. We would go back.

Room Tip: the rooms on ground floor have the swim up rooms. You can walk right out to the pool from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear. Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Royal Suites Turquesa for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

We put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinions. Focus our efforts and dedication to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities.

We are delighted to hear despite the inconveniences your expectations were met and that our staff went the extra mile in their effort to accommodate you.


These issues have been addressed to the corresponding, and immediate actions will be placed in motion aiming to prevent future coincidences and thus improve our product.

I hope that these situations do not deter you from returning in the future. We will be attentive to your next visit and thus ensure a pleasant and uneventful vacation.

L. Tajes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just got back from a week at the Royal Suite Turquesa. We stayed in a swimup room it was very nice and loved the privacy and the wonderful bar service from a special lady named Sandra thanks from Miami vice room 5909! The pools, views, grounds and food were excellent.
The downfall for us was the resort was very big and did not have entertainment in the adults only section, we also felt the prices for massages, romantic dinners, and store where very high priced after visiting Jamaica and Mexico. It was hard to understand people but everybody was very nice and we enjoyed our vacation a beautiful place to go.

Room Tip: swimup rooms are very relaxing and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike and Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your preference in selecting Royal Suites Turquesa for your recent vacation. I also like to extend our gratitude for sharing your experience on this trip and let aware future travelers to our destination about our excellent services.

Besides our guests, our personnel is one of our most important assets that never cease in their efforts to go above and beyond in order to satisfy all our guests’ needs.

It is truly a pleasure for us to confirm that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have succeed in all our efforts to fulfil your dreams.

Hope to be your home for a next visit to Punta Cana.

L. Tajes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Place is nice and the hotel is good but customer service is zero. After long day when i reached my room there was noting to drink in the refrigerator (no water , no soda ) after they recommend me to upgrade my room because it was my special day they mad me sad.i tried to call the front desk or contact the manager to bring us at least water but no body gave us any attention but after multiple trial(after looking who can understand English) i got it in the next day.one of the frick guy who work at the front desk even tried to disrespect my husband and tried to throw bad words on him.very sham to see on big hotel like this

I had a bad week and i will never get back to that hotel and i don't recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mahlet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Is saddens me to learn about your dissatisfaction on this trip. We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests’ satisfaction, thus your opinion is of the utmost importance to us. We carefully reviewed all your observations and herewith we would like to express our apologies for the fact that we were not able to surpass your expectations.

I am rather surprised about the situation related at the Front Desk. We neither encourage nor accept any unfair treatment; all of our guests deserve to be attended with respect and courtesy. Even though I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality of our services. We truly regret and apologize for the impression you may have received due to the attitude of some of our staff it is not in any way the image that we want to project.

I regret not having had the opportunity to attend you personally during your stay. In any way I assure you that corrective measurements will be taken to keep with the performance of good practices.

I assure you that we will never cease in our effort to achieve the constant improvement of the level of our services.

L. Tajes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.2 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
6,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $242 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing