We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$335
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$160
$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$328
$230
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$346
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,184)
Filter reviews
7,184 results
Traveler rating
4,951
1,280
555
246
152
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,951
1,280
555
246
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal gourmetking kongswim up roomle chanterelleroyal suites guestsroyal lobbypalladium complexroom servicebutler servicecheese fonduelas torresnew sectionel bohiotravel clubromance suitelobstersports bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,743 - 2,748 of 7,184 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I could not have had a better vacation for my wife and I. Met all my expectations and more. Loved going to a resort that has so many options for dining and just relaxing.Thanks to all the employees for making us feel like family. From Angel our Butler to Carmen who helped us plan this vacation, Thanks again. We will be coming back with our friends.

Room Tip: If you want to have a quiet room away from the crowds, stay in the Royal suites swim up rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Director General at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Mr. James k

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting The Royal suites Turquesa for your vacation as well as for having post your comments.

We are more than pleased to hear that this will be a memory that will last forever, but what pleased us the most is your compliments on the attentiveness demonstrated by Mr. Angel during your stay. Your compliments will be gladly transmitted.

We hope to have you back soon.

Kindest Regards!

R Segarra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent 10 Days Jan 13- 23 At Royal Suite Turquesa

Let me Start by Saying It is a beautiful Resort
Check In was Great And Staff was so nice on The desk
Rooms are spacious and kept clean and well stocked
beach was great and so loved Delores
The Food was Good loved being able to go to any of the Restaurants
Henderson Was great and he made our meals enjoyable
A lot of walking to get any where we were in Building 57

Now for The LOws
We spent first 3 Days with no Hot water reported it and finally it was fixed
Our Room was Cleaned everyday But that was it nothing Special
We had Friends In Building 56
They Had animals and flowers made everyday But not our Building
A few Days we had to chase down towels
and on our last 2 nights turndown service was nowhere to be found
on last Night we had to call for towels so we could shower next morning before we left
Butler Service was OK but really not over the top

Would I return Yes but would not be my First choice for the Money !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1chercar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

The family of The Royal suites Turquesa is honored in receiving your valuable comments. We are proud to hear about your satisfaction on this trip.

We took a good note of your remarks related our housekeeping and it will be part of our daily work in our effort to improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to have you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

R Segarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

this is our fourth time staying at the royal suites (our last visit was 3 years ago). overall, we continue to be pleased with the experience - too many great features to mention. so, as you read on, keep in mind that the remainder of our stay was very enjoyable.

here are a few disappointing experiences i'd like to share, and that i hope resort management will take notice of. also, this is for future guests to keep in mind:

some of the service was mediocre - service excellence was definitely not the norm.

even though not officially required, tips were expected, to even receive attention in some cases. i often felt like i was inconveniencing the staff if i asked for anything. i agree with the comments about having to wait (up to 10 mins) for service at the pool bar etc.

our friends' mini bar was not properly re-stocked - twice. even though the tip money was collected. (to his credit, their butler more than compensated for this inconvenience.)

we also had a couple of incidents with a la carte dinners (a palladium issue, not specific to royal suites): 1) during a birthday dinner at the italian restaurant, we sat for a long time without anyone serving us. once we finally ordered, one of our party went without their main course the entire time everyone else consumed their main courses, and no one came by to notice, or to mention it to. 2) we made reservations 2 days in advance for the japanese restaurant because we were interested in having sushi. we were advised by our butler to ask for a regular table and request the sushi menu. once we arrived, we were told the sushi menu was only available to people sitting at the sushi bar. we left.

another disappointment was the spa service sales on the beach. my friend and i were assured that we would receive a 10% discount because we were "VIP", as royal suites guests. we did not receive the discount at the time of the service (i didn't realize we didn't receive the discount until later). when we tried to resolve it upon checkout (which is when payment is actually processed), we were told that the spa is an independent business and there was nothing royal suites could do about it. they suggested we should have received a coupon from the spa rep on the beach, and implied that it was our fault for not noticing, and that we should have complained about it at the spa. we ultimately did not receive the discount. we did receive a "sorry" and a shrug.

the other main complaint i have is the pesticide spraying. in the past, i didn't notice it to such a degree. although i prefer pesticide-free natural landscapes, i appreciate that the manicured landscape at the royal suites is sure to involve some pesticide use. i did not expect to be blasted in the face on several occasions with a cloud of poison, as i strolled the grounds. of course, the fellow applying the chemicals (a few metres away) was wearing a protective mask, but the wind was blowing it directly into our unprotected and unsuspecting vacationing faces.

the last morning we were there, we couldn't even open our balcony door or go out by the pool because of the chemical cloud. other guests were shielding their faces with towels.

upon complaining at the front desk and requesting it be discontinued immediately (poolside), so i could go outside my room, i noticed the groundskeepers discussing (what i assume to be) the issue, then continue spraying.

at check-out time, we were asked how our stay was. it was clear that they weren't really interested in our true feedback, because when i listed my concerns, they were not well received. in fact, they were completely brushed aside. for example, after i explained the pesticide spraying incident in great detail, i was asked what time of day it happened (which was about 7:30 - 9:00 am) and i was informed that sometimes "there's work being done around the pool that time of day, like adding chlorine to the pool".

i consider being sprayed in the face with poison, after being asked not to, and then not acknowledging or apologizing for it, completely unacceptable. their practices need to be seriously reconsidered, especially when many of their guests come from countries where spraying pesticides upwind of people is incomprehensible and in some cases illegal.

despite all of this, it was a nice vacation, and i would consider going back. just keep these things in mind if you plan to go!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goddess of r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear. Guest,

Thank you for your preference in selecting The Royal suites Turquesa as well as for having shared your impressions on this trip. Your comments are of the greatest assistance to us in our effort to achieve the constant improvement in the level of our services and facilities.


We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We assure you that what occurred is not at all a common situation and in no way representative or our overall service. On the other hand, you can rest assure that your observations regarding our restaurants and and others services will be part of our daily work.

We hope that these situations do not deter you from coming back in the future.

Best Regards!

R Segarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I will cover a few points in this review:
1. Great Staff: Ask for butler Snyther, both were adept at customer service, VERY helpful with explaining the nuances of the grounds and helping guests get acclimated to the area, and personable. We had an able housekeeper, Mariloly, who did an excellent job keeping the room "new" during our stay. Notable Consierge assistance by Esteban, who assisted in setting up some of our culinary exercises; & Andre', who helped salvage an almost botched two nights of dining, which leads us to: Also above and beyond the call of duty was a butler named Angel, who literally went out of his way to get a ride for us to Teppanyaki on a partly rainy night of our stay.

2. The Food: Dinner at the Japanese Show Restaurant (Teppanyaki) and Italian Trattoria (Chef Raphaelle (sp.). Teppanyaki is one of the two main highlights, as far as the food goes, although my travel companion and I did not venture a whole lot. The breakfast buffet is best, by the way, if you are there during the first 2 hours at the main restaurant for Turquesa.. but their "Lobster Queen" dish on the dinner menu: Well, let's just say that I am not convinced of its royalty, just yet. On the other hand, the Filet Mignon was great, and I really enjoyed (digressing to breakfast) the locally-produced bacon.... (drool) and the doughnuts, which featured a rich cream topping vs. a "sugar coating" a la Dunkin'. The service was pretty great, all around. TIP: order the eggs a la carte instead of buffet... the omelettes have potential.


3. The Beach: La Playa... the sand... ahhhh... I walked a good bit along the beach, traversing many properties, and their beach was perfectly situated: next to shops and activities, but not in them; ample chairs and plenty of cabanas, etc. Plus, they had great drink service. And the sand... was like powder... feet loved it.

4. The Room: With our balcony facing Northward, we were not burned out by the sun (perfect), but had a great view from the 3rd floor over the connecting pools. We arrived to find a minor drainage issue in the shower, but they fixed it the next morning. The beverage service was a nice feature, in the room, and the bed was pretty comfortable. We heard more noise from the neighboring streets to the South of us, which sounded quite festive during the wee hours, but the stay was generally pretty quiet, since this was an adults only property.

I would visit, again.

Room Tip: 1. Use the butlers and tip them well... they are worth it! 2. Enjoy the buffet, but Order your eggs vs. pick from buffet.. 3. DOUBLE-check your reservations.. we almost had a dinner scheduled for the following month. 4. Leave a note for any extra water you might need, and get bottles wherever you go. They come in handy. 5. Get to the Beach Grill at the PALACE location for some excellent Paella and Grilled Chicken! We tried at several, but found theirs to be the best. 6. Get your best drink selection at the Royal Suites lobby bar, but great mixed drinks at the Poolside.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Words are missing to express our gratitude for having chosen Thank you for contacting us and taking some of your valuable time to share your impressions about your vacations at the Royal Suites Turquesa.

We managed to create unforgettable experiences and it is an honor to hear that we have surpassed all your expectations

Your recognition on the effort and dedication demonstrated by our staff members are greatly appreciated and I will personally transmit your compliments.

We will be anxiously expecting your next visit.

Best Regards,

R Segarra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This resort definitely should not be rated as a five star resort. We checked into the resort and had a very poor butler who showed no interest in helping us and set a very bad tone for our vacation. The first nite we did not go to dinner because we could not find anyone who would show us how to get to a restaurant that we could just wear our casual clothes we arrived in. Jorge, the butler supervisor, tried to smooth things over but the tone had been set and we never saw him after. Food was very mediocre, breakfast at the sit down restaurant was always cold and eggs Benedict are not very good cold and the hash browns were always cold. The Japanese restaurant excellent and the homemade breads are to die for. The lunch buffet on the beach was probably the best buffet. We ate the continental breakfast at the pool bar quit a few days because of the cold food. The service around the pool for drinks was great .
Our friends had a room that had no hair dryer, ironing board and no working iron and it took all day with telling the butler, the front desk and finally their maid got everything for them. Our maid service was excellent and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.
Beach is beautiful but packed and not enough chairs at the pool, if you want a chair there you have to be out before sunrise.
Check in is always your first impression and ours was very confusing, we were told we had rooms different than the ones we got and then we met our unfriendly butler.
The grounds are beautiful and kept well. The resort is very large and I think that is part of the issue, it is tooooo large.
I cannot recommend this resort because I know there are nicer ones out there.

Room Tip: Request rooms on second or third floor for view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Mrs. Mary E

Words are missing to express our gratitude for having chosen Thank you for contacting us and taking some of your valuable time to share your impressions about your vacations at he Royal Suites Turquesa.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We assure you that what occurred is not at all a common situation and in no way representative or our overall service, besides we did press hard in order to make you feel satisfied with our services and facilities.

Your recognition on the effort and dedication demonstrated by some our staff members are greatly appreciated.

We will be anxiously expecting your next visit to offer you an uneventful stay.

Best Regards,

R Segarra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews