We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Appearance wise this resort had breathtaking views. Unfortunately we traveled in groups in which we have an annual couples trip and they had us spread across the resort. We went from Oct .7- 13, 2013. But I'm going to speak only for me.. We reserved the Oceanview/front Honeymoon suite for our 1 year anniversary. It took a slightly uncomfortable wait til we were able to check in but tried to over look it because the excitement of being on vacation. Finally get to our room where we were greeted by little black bugs every where and no air conditioning.. So we immediately went to the front desk and reported the air was working and went to eat. We stopped at the disco that wasn't multicultural at all and returned to the room for the night. I woke up during the night with trouble breathing because it was sooo hot... Called the front desk and was told that they were coming. Never came during the night. The next day they did come and just tore the room up, and this turned into an all day thing. They asked to move our room. But there were no honeymoon suites available until the next day of a 5 day trip. So we allowed them to move our things which we packed up because they left the door open ALL day because the workers just came in and out.. I literally had to put on my bathing suit in the shower for privacy and it still wasn't private. So after staying at the pool just to stay out of their way and because we didn't have a room, we returned to the front desk asking where did they move us to.. Now get this, they didn't know where they put our bags.. I immediately started emailing my travel agent furious.. After about 45-1 hour of them trying to figure out where our bags were, they found that they put us in a Royal Suite Deluxe room which is a downgrade with no ocean view. Still trying to enjoy our vacation we just pretty much went with the flow for the rest of the weekend. They asked if we wanted to change rooms AGAIN for the last night which seemed dumb seeing as though we had to pack and move every day of our stay. The resort is gorgeous.. We met our butler 1 time and he acted like he knew me for some reason. But the butler in the lobby building was awesome and very helpful when she didn't have to be. Once back my travel agency tried to get the resort to refund the difference between the honeymoon suite and the Royal deluxe suite and the resort would never take the call or return the call.. Horrible customer service. If I don't ever have to return to Dominican Republic I won't. Customer service in the lobby of Turquesa was horrible, food was good at the restaurants we went to.. Casino was more like a game room. But if was better when someone saw the bracelets, they did treat you better. I would hate not to have had the bracelet. And to top all this off all the warning signs of DO NOT DRINK THE WATER was unnerving. Had us darn near paranoid when showering or being in the ocean. I was so ready to get out of that place.. Some good times were visiting Jewel: Akon's night club and the Booze cruise Teresa Catamaran was awesome! Everyone had their own stories.. 2 couples had no issues and the other 3 of us just had the run around, constantly having to change rooms.. and 3 couples came home with EColi poisoning.. I think the lowest point was that they wouldn't acknowledge that they took our money and didn't give us what we paid for. We only asked for the difference in the rooms nothing more. Never will stay at a resort in this chain or that have anything to do with them.

Room Tip: Honeymoon was beautiful but we weren't able to enjoy it. Royal Deluxe Suite is a nice room. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Brenda N,

Thank you for having chosen The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium as the place to spend such special occasion, as well as for the time you took to post your review. Your feedback is of the greatest assistance to us.

We regret to hear about your dissatisfaction on this trip; please receive our most sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have endured. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence.

We thank again for your constructive observations. If your vacation plans towards Punta Cana for a next visit, please let us know; we will be attentive to offer you a pleasant and uneventful stay.

Best regards,

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,549 - 2,555 of 6,722 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've just returned from the Royal Suites and overall had a fantastic holiday, the weather and Dominican Republic in general were fab. The resort overall was good and had some great features and the things they did well, they did very well. However there were some points that let the holiday down. Id say the hotel would be 3*-4*, not 5*

The Good: The staff were great, really friendly and polite. We had superb room service twice daily with a well-stocked mini-bar. The pool and beach service was fantastic also. Tips were appreciated but not necessary to receive a good service. In general the food was excellent. The Royal suites have their own exclusive restaurants and - we ate there for lunch and breakfast every day - the service here was great. There was a vast array of local and international spirits available at all times.

The Bad: The Christmas day gala meal was an unmitigated disaster. Were were given an invitation to one of the non-Royla suites buffet restaurants for Christmas day. We specifically selected the Royal Suites as it was Adult only. However the Christmas day restaurant was packed with kids and the food was disgusting. By the time we reached the buffet, the majority of the food had gone. What was left was ineddable and we left feeling hungry on Christmas day. We later discovered that there were other restaurants for exclusive use by the Royal Suites on Christmas day, although this was not explained to us. There was always difficulty in finding a sunbed around the main pool. There is a rule that the beds can not be reserved before 8am but this was never enforced and by 8am there were very few beds available (if any). The phone in our room didn't work so we couldn't call reception or use room service. We reported this to our butler and was told a replacement would be arranged although this never materialised. The only wine available as part of the all inclusive deal was dreadful, vinegar would have been nicer. We had to buy all our wine at a massive mark-up. Finally, we were constantly shown adverts about late checkouts. We'd arranged this the day before we left, only to be told on our day of departure that this was unavailable.

The ugly: We twice had a large cockroach visitor in our room. This didn't bother us too much and we named him Kenneth!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanVet29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear AlanVet29,

Thank you for having chosen The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium as the place to spend your recent holidays as well as for the time you took to post your review. Your feedback is of the greatest assistance to us.

We regret that your stay was somewhat marred by the incidents you mention; this is not the image that we want to project. Please receive our most sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have endured. We assure you that the rooms for improvement will be part of our daily work and it will be corrected in a short term.

On the other hand, we are more than glad to hear that the excellent service and attentiveness of our staff have made a positive impression on you.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Happy New Year!

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the royal tequesa for two weeks in july 2013. We had originally booked into one of the other hotels in the resort, however on our arrival we were given a free upgrade. Check-in was painless and we were escorted to our room which was amazing and very clean.

This hotel was for adults only and had a private beach. Drinks service on the beach was excellent and they were constantly bringing bottled water. Around lunchtime there was always freshly baked pizza and sandwiches on offer and even these extra touches were brought to the beach.

Due to the upgrade we had two al-a-carte restaurants which were for sole use to this hotel, this was a lovely touch and we only ate in the buffet restaurant once. We did try the other speciality restaurants all of which were of a high standard. We always ate breakfast in the french restaurant as it was more of a personnel touch. You were not restricted to one visit in the A-la-cartes and you didn't have to prebook, if there was no availabilty you were given an approximate time and a bleeper (very good idea). As we had a butler service to our block we were able to prebook our restaurant choices as part of the upgrade.

We spent most evenings in hemmingways bar, nice atmosphere, also had a bar near to our block which again was only for use of people staying at the royal tequesa, in this area there was also free use of the internet.

We did have one problem with our room when we arrived we noticed a musty smell, however having stayed in the caribbean before knew this was common and once the patio doors were opened this would soon clear. During our second week the smell was still lingering and we noticed a small leak over the bath. The maintenance team were there the same day that we reported the problem but unfortunately although they thought they had resolved it the drip still persisted. We then noticed mould spores on some of our clothes, the reception staff and butler very quickly relocated us to another room and offered to dry clean any affected items of clothing. When we arrived in the new room there was a lovely bottle of champagne for our troubles.

This little problem did not spoil our holiday and we appreciated how quickly the hotel staff dealt with it, on occasion these things happen.

We have been to many areas of the caribbean and although we have gone back to the same country have never stayed in the same hotel, however we will go back to this resort in the future. Having said that we were so impressed with this hotel chain that we are staying in the grand palladium colonial & kantenah resort & spa in mexico on 14 june this year.

Thank you to all the staff who made our holiday a memorable one and if you are considering punta cana for your next holiday take a look at this hotel as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabjab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear. Mrs / Mr. sabjab2013

Thank you for having chosen The Royal Suites Turquesa as your home in Punta Cana as your preferred destinations in this special occasion as well as for letting future travelers knows about your wonderful stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future in order to offer you a memorable experience and keep surpassing your expectations at other visits.

Kindest Rergard.

L Tajes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is our best Vacation ever. We were suppose to book for Grand Palladium Palace Dec 24, 2013 but when we arrived at the Grand Palladium Palace they gave us a free upgrade to The Royal Suites Turquesa and we stay at the room #5114. we were very surprise but it was really nice place and we loved it.

The people service are very nice The Butler Providencia is very nice person and very helpful to us she makes sure we are happy with the room and every thing else. She booked for us all the A lacarte restaurant. Elvi and Victor are also very nice people too and helpful thought.

My wife and I have been here in March with my sister in law and she has a young girl 10 years old so we stay at Grand Palladium Bavaro and that was also nice. So this time just my wife and I so that´s why they gave us a free upgrade to Royal Suites Turquesa. We will deffinitely come back to this place again next time we go on a vacation again and we hope to get the same butler as we did now.

Room Tip: Come here for a better services and the quality of foods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Neil N,

First of all we would like to thank you for having shared your experience on this trip.

We are more than pleased to hear that this will be a memory that will last forever. But what pleased us the most is your compliments on the attentiveness demonstrated by Providencia,
Elvi and Victor during your stay. Your compliments will be gladly transmitted.

We hope to have you back soon.

Happy New Year!

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The benefits of this Hotel, compared with the palladium palace, are:

- Reservations of the restaurants
- Waiter on the Beach
- Snacks on the Beach and on the Pool
- Buttler, who cares about every thing you have
- Roomservice 24h

We spent a great time here in Punta Cana. The Beach is awesome and the weather is most of the time very good. The Temperature is every day over 25°C.

The food is good, But you should not compare it with european standard.

In general we would book again in this hotel, because it's very familial and the service is very good. Special Thanks to our Buttler José.

Room Tip: Think about a mosquito net :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Patrik B,

At The Royal Suites Turquesa we managed to create unforgettable experiences and it is truly a pleasure for us to hear that all your expectations were surpassed.

Thank you for having shared your experience on this trip. We will be expecting your next visit.

Happy New Year!

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just returned from our 4th trip at this wonderful hotel. This hotel gives you the royal treatment everytime. Great check-in with cool towel to cool down from the transport from the airport, a nice champagne glass and a wonderful smile. We were given a swim-up Jr suite (room 5505), which was in a building close to the lobby, the 2 royal restaurants. This was pretty important for me since I walk with a cane. The only minor detail was the towel issue, it seems that a new policy is being implemented in that respect, however we have had no proof that it is completely in effect yet. Let's hope it works. We tried the following restaurants: The Gourmet (very good), The Chanterelle (Excellent), the Bamboo (wonderful) - this one was renovated, it is very beautiful and the Gran Cantina Mariachi (great), also renovated and very nice. We also went through the renovated Bavaro lobby and had supper at the Cathedral - the buffet of the Bavaro which was completely modified for the best. I want to bring your attention to the wonderful staff at this hotel: at the lobby bar: Miguelina and Margarita; at the pool: Jesus; bell boy supvr: Tomas; Bar supvr: Dany and the butlers to name a few, Carlos, Victor. The beach is always a wonderful treat. The grounds, the pool, the complete site is well kept, you see people working hard to keep all this clean and spotless.

Do I recommend this hotel: Absolutely, hoping to go back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are beautiful expecially if you upgrade to a swim-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gentille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Gentille 1,

On behalf of the family of The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting us as your home in The Caribbean as well as for letting us know about your satisfaction on this trip.

We greatly appreciate your valuable comments and I will personally ensure to transmit your compliments.

Many thanks for recommending us to future travelers to our destination and we will be expecting your next visit.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

R. Segarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We (me and my wife) returned on the 14th of Dec from Grand Palladium Punta Cana, Royal Suites Turquesa, where we had our 16 nights winter break. First I have to say that we had our best ever vacation there. We have nothing to complaint, only some wishes we will send direct to the hotel.

Especially for me there were 2 times karaoke and 4 times of football, for my wife lot of times swimming in the turquoise sea, nice varying weather, lot of friends from different countries were there and still going strong.

But most important for us was the service we got in Royal reception (Ronny, Nicholas, Nilchena, Charlyn, Maximo, Guilame, Geronimo in the night time), in Royal lobby bar (Thomas, Rosanna etc) and in Royal pool bar (Sandy, Dolores, Manuel etc).

We also had good experiences in the restaurants we were to: gourmet-restaurant and La Chanterelle (thanks to Euripide, Kirsys etc.), La Parrilla Steakhouse (thanks to those who selected and prepared our "solomillos" so great), newly reopened and renovated La Catedral which was awesome. El Bohio with waiter Deisi is so nice for lunch time and after that I went to Willian`s action bar on Palace Pool to have a dessert drink. Mostly we had our breakfast in Las Torres because of the big buffet and wonderful Ginette on the door welcoming you in the morning.

Thanks to all cleaning ladies Teresa and others. Good work all the time.
Finally, I again have to say the management of the resort is really up to their job.

We are already looking for the next time which will the our 10th at Royal Suites Turquesa.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Kari K,

Words are missing to express our gratitude for having chosen The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium as your second home in Punta Cana as well as for the trust placed in us.

We managed to create unforgettable experiences and it is an honor to hear that we have surpassed all your expectations.

Your recognition on the effort and dedication demonstrated by our staff members are greatly appreciated and I will personally ensure to transmit your compliments.

Needles to say that we will be anxiously expecting your next visit.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

R. Segarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.2 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
6,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $242 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing