We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for ten days in February for our honeymoon. We stayed in the newer rooms with the swim up pools. When we first got there, we had issues with our room. There was water leaking from the ceiling, the bathtub was leaking because they did not finish caulking it properly, and we could not find the butler to help us with anything all day. We went to the front desk and spoke with Ronny, and he took care of all of our problems. He helped us get another room within a very short period of time, and the room that he booked us in was the biggest swim up room. He made sure that everything was done correctly, and he made sure that we were completely satisfied. I would say that the lobby customer service was amazing, and we enjoyed the rest of our honeymoon thanks to Ronny.
The food in the resort was delicious, and the resort itself was very clean. The only thing I would recommend to people who are traveling during February is to be prepared for busy season; this means you need to get up early to get a good seat on the beach because by 8am the majority of spots were taken.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms (5301 and up) are the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Galina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Galina B,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of The Royal Suites Turquesa, we wants to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We are proud that you spend a great vacations. We look forward for your return.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,015
    1,076
    461
    211
    125
See reviews for
642
4,080
71
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Things I liked abouth this hotel.....

The beach is stunning, glorious white sand and turquoise sea. Large enough for long walks in each direction.

The 'new' rooms at the back of the hotel are lovely, clean and large and for our week there we had a butler sitting in the foyer everyday. There were bottles of spirits and a mini bar stocked with tonics on our request. Free wifi.

The pool area around our building was always quiet with ample sunbeds ( with cushions) and (slightly spasmodic) bar service.

You do not have to book at the dedicated restaurants although we did have to wait for an outdoor table. Both the Gourmet and the Chanterelle are good although more variety in the salad buffet would be welcome.

Breakfast was excellent with mimosa, fresh juice, crispy bacon, eggs cooked to order and a variety of bread,cake and fruit.

The after dinner drinks trolley is heaving with named brand bottles and staffed by someone with a very generous pour!

Fresh coffee is available, slightly slow service but worth the wait.

The Japanese show cooking is excellent with tasty, freshly cooked chicken, beef, salmon and prawns.

Things I didn't like........

The complex is huge, consisting of 4 large hotels and was heaving while we were there. RST is the best, but it shares a lot of features (spa, sports facilities,evening entertainment,restaurants) with the others.

Absolutely no chance of getting a bed on the beach. We love the beach but didn't get to sit there once.

There are no bars by the beach where you can sit and enjoy the views. The only place we found was a fast food joint serving chicken and chips that had plastic chairs on a deck. There are walk up bars all along the beach but unless you were one of the lucky ones with a bed it was stand up only.

The included wine was rather poor. We stuck to the 'champagne'.

The restaurants on the rest of the complex were poor and not worth trying. (except the Japanese) We ate at the Chinese, Spanish and Brazilian - all of which were disappointing. Stick to the dedicated ones.



While we enjoyed our holiday we would not return to this hotel. Having said that, for a relatively cheap, sunny break it is a good option.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you are in the new section at the back. Although the front is near the beach, it it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liber8me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Liber8me,

We want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay at The Royal Suites Turquesa, thank you for choosing our hotel and for trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

We are glad to know that you spend a great time with us.

We will be waiting for your next vacations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at RST for two weeks from 11 th feb, we flew Thomsons Premium from Gatwick, well worth the upgrade. We chose not to have a private transfer from the airport but wish we had. Unfortunately when we got to the hotel they had no record of us arriving that day, this was sorted fairly quickly and we were allocated a room on the third floor of building 57. I had emailed the resort one week prior to our arrival to request a swim up room but we didn't get it, this turned out to suit us better as the swim -up rooms are rather exposed and we value our privacy. Our room was spacious and clean, this standard of cleanliness was maintained throughout our stay. In fact the whole resort was spotless even the beach toilets, a big well done to the cleaning staff!
We pretty much enjoyed the food and thought it was of reasonable quality given the amount of people to be catered for; La Chanterelle was the best for food and service; the Mexican was horrible, luke- warm food, dirty plates, grumpy staff. On this note, we found the service ranged from acceptable to awful and we're pretty laid back (and we tip!) I don’t appreciate being blatantly ignored. I used the Palladium Addict forum, this is a useful tool for info, but they are seeing RST through rose tinted specs when it comes to the service standards (maybe if we go back 9 more times they’ll be nicer). I think you’ll get a more balanced view from TA .
I had thought before I left that the beach chair scenario was an exaggeration- I can assure you it is not, the reviewer who said ‘bring a torch’ was probably not too far from the truth. Setting an alarm on holiday is not something we like to do! We witnessed one couple reserve four chairs all day and the man was only there for an hour, they did this at pool as well as the beach- it’s outrageous that this issue is not being addressed by management. We didn’t have a problem getting a chair with shade around our building but when the beach is so gorgeous you do want to spend some time there.
I had to laugh when I read about the 'herds of Canadians’ this is actually true BUT if we'd gone to Tenerife no doubt there would have been ‘herds of Scots’. The point being made is valid though and it comes down to manners; whether you are travelling solo or in a large group please be mindful of your fellow holiday makers and the impact of your behaviour on them.
Finally…
• There is a coffee maker in the room but if you’re a tea drinker I’d recommend a travel kettle and tea bags. If you want tea at breakfast, be prepared for a long, long wait.
• I am prone to insect bites and got bitten quite badly here despite using deet, make sure you bring the remedies that work for you.
• We did the Saona island excursion through our rep, it was an awful day, a complete waste of money and time, the beach at RST was nicer and didn’t smell of petrol.
• Do your research on the resort thoroughly before you go because there is no information pack in the room.
• 'Butler' ..really? We saw ours the first day and that was it, we did look for help on a number of occasions from other butlers but sadly they were as much use as an ashtray on a motorbike. Should we really have to ask 5 times and wait 3 days for a bottle of tonic?
• The quality of alcohol was fab except for the wine.

Once we got settled in we really enjoyed our stay, we don’t usually go back to the same place because there are too many other places to go but we would recommend RST; just don’t expect it to be palladium addict perfect.

Room Tip: Don't choose a swim- up if you value privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dawnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Dawnie1,

We are really thankful for you’re the precious time you dedicate to share your good experiences in the hotel with us.

It is a satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that we have totally satisfied your needs.

We look forward for your return.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a swim up room 5309, probably one of the better rooms as there are trees and bushes between the rooms across the way so gives you a little more privacy. The water in the pool is a little chilly but once you get in it’s refreshing. Hats off maids, the room was always clean and decorated with towel art and flowers. The waitress comes to your deck at the swim up rooms and serves you drinks, nice touch. It is a bit of a jaunt to the beach from the new section so if you forget something you think twice about walking back to get it.
There is no live nightly entertainment on the Royal side so you need to walk to the other attached resorts, on the other hand Royal side is very quiet and relaxing.
We never had a wait for the Gourmet & Chanterelle restaurants, dinners were very good, the cheese fondue was amazing. We found the breakfast buffet food was always cold. Breakfast for the royal restaurants was from 7-10 and lunch did not open till 1 unless you want to go to the other side where the buffet opens at 12.
The beach is beautiful, if you are a people watcher you will not be without people walking by as there are vendor markets beside the RST to the right of the resort (facing the beach).
We are English speaking and found that the guests on this trip were mostly French, German and Russian speaking at the time of our stay so we didn’t get to meet very many people.
The internet was fantastic, in the room at the beach worked very well.
We always book the same week each year and have traveled to many resorts in Punta Cana so we know what high season brings, but were very disappointed that getting a lounger on the beach or the main pool was nearly impossible even at 7am. You are allowed unlimited towels so some guests tend to take more than their share of loungers and others do without. We are beach people and found this very disappointing, not sure of the solution but I feel this needs to be addressed by the management.
Weather was fantastic, rooms clean and efficient, food was good, no problem booking a la cartes, found the staff hit and miss. had a great time but probably would not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dominican_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Dominican_dreamer,

From the staff of The Royal Suites Turquesa we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We greatly appreciate that we have totally satisfied your well deserved vacations, we work to keep the service and facilities at the height of your needs.

We look forward for your return.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Thought we had died and gone to heaven. Such a lovely hotel with fabulous gardens all kept immaculately. Our room was the best with our own decked patio leading down a step into swim up pool with sunbed., Two more steps down and into the pool. Amazing!! Weather fantastic and the beach is the best one I have ever been on. 32 miles of talcum powder white sand and aqua blue sea. Top brand drinks in all the bars and in the bedroom. The 2 Royal Gourmet Restaurants for sole use of Royal Suites guests were excellent. Only slight downside was the food was not too great in the themed restaurants. Best one was the Spanish which was lovely and the very worst one was the Brazillian. Fab entertainment and would highly recommend to anyone. Awesome holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor swim-up in Royal Suites with own Butler. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PureDelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear PureDelights,

We are really thankful for you’re the precious time you dedicate to share your good experiences in the hotel with us.

It is a satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that we have totally satisfied your needs.

We hope to have you back at our hotel.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, very clean and staff is very helpful. We stayed in building 52 that was close to the beach, we always stayed by the pool but only a 1 minute walk to the beautiful beach. Like at most resorts you need to get up early to reserve your lounger and huts. I was surprised that there were very few Americans at rst. Alot of French canadians and Spanish visitors. They were very friendly, but it would be nice to communicate in English sometimes. The RST is so quiet, no children at all makes abig difference.

Stay away from the casino it is a rip off, they take percentage of your winnings and do not tell you. My wife played roulette and if she hit a # instead of giving her 35 chips they gave her 30. When she asked why the dealer said that was their % and just said thankyou.

After hearing this my wife cashed out immediately and came out down $20.00 down. I hit on a slot after her tale I cashed out up $80.00 so we came out ahead. We went to the the first night of our holiday were there 20 minutes and left never to back and told our tale to others.

A hidden jewel is the the spa, even if you not get a massage or wrap etc you can take advatage of the beautiful facility and equipment. It is so quiet and relaxing the staff is great.

Like most all inclusive the food is acceptable but not great. I thought the steakhouse was great.

The two restaurants for RST were the French and Royal Gourmet, staff was great and food wasn't bad. We ahad great lunches there. We never had to wait and they do not take reservations,

It was difficult to communicate with some of the wait staff however they always wanted to assist us and you find someone who could speak English. Our butlers spoke great English and were helpful.

I know the Swim ups are popular but I found them to far fro the beach and the main pool.

all in all it was a nice holiday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Joe C,

With all or affection we want to thank you for your commentaries, helps us like yours help us to increase every day,

Thank you for choosing The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium as your special gateway.

We look forward for your return

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My party of 3 couples arrived on Feb. 16th and found that the rooms we booked back in June were not available. We paid alot to specifically have a swim up room. The hotel put us in alternate rooms on the third floor in a building without an elevator. We had specifically booked the swim up rooms to make sure we were on the first floor because one person in our group cannot walk the stairs due to surgery. They then changed the one room to the first lfoor and told us we had to be out of these rooms by 11:30 the next day. So now they have wasted most of the first day on moving around. Second day..we couldnt do anyything in the morning because we had to be packed and ready to leave the room by 11:30. When they came to get us, they told us they only had one room out of 3 awavilabe till 1:30 and that 6 people would have to share the one room. At 1:30 the other two rooms were not ready. One became ready about 3:00. The third room was not ready until 7pm and had not been cleaned at all. There were dirty cups, empty beer bottles and dirt all over the floor. They finally cleaned room and we were all in the rooms by 8:00.............thus ruining the second day of our vacation. The story continues.......I noticed a dirty cue tip on the flloor when i checked in. It was still there when I checked out. They never cleaned the flooors. We had dragged in sand from the beach. It remained on the floor for several days. One day I did not receive towels. I had to ask over and over to have my minibar replenished.....over a span olf 3 hours.. The restaurant staff is incompetent. There are 6 of us and we olrdered 6 dinners at the Italian restaurant and they bring out 5 and walk away. There is not a person on the floor to ask what happened to the 6th dinner. We had to make a scene to finally get the dinner. The list goes on. Shoddy service in every restaurant. On the plus side, the beach was beautiful. That is the ONLY plus. Do not go to this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont bother choosing a room. You wont get it anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jjj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment and on behalf of the staff of The Royal Suites Turquesa we want to appologize for the inconvenients within your stay. We are always trying to accomodate our guests requests and we feel very upset for not being able to do so with your party. Measures have been taken to avoid the kind of situations that have driven your appreciation. There are many other comments that are uploaded every day with great observations and, as I said before we regret that we could not accomodate yours. We only wish for another oportunity to serve you in a near future and have the chance to enjoy your vacations as most of our guests are doing.
Once again thank you very much for your comment.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
15.8 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,767 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
12.5 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

Property: The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 140 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalized service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing