We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Suites Turquesa for a one week Mother-Daughter vacation from Feb 2-9. It was a first time for my mother at this resort while my husband and I have been at the Grand Palladium Bavaro on many, many occasions. We love the Palladium Bavaro in Punta Cana and since my mother and I both wanted a quiet holiday, we booked at the Royal Turquesa. I just knew that our stay at the Turquesa would be just as perfect.

I must say that we both loved it. The room was great and very comfortable. We enjoyed the ocean view from our balcony, the comfortable beds and room location. The Chanterelle and Royal Gourmet restaurants were as usual, very good with excellent food and friendly service. The other restaurants we went to were also very good with the same quality in food and service: Las Torres, El Quijote and Bamboo. I figure if you gain a pound or 2 on holiday, that is a good sign that you enjoyed your stay....

The private beach area (for guests of the Royal Suites Turquesa) was very beautiful with nice, soft white sand, turquoise ocean and relaxing sounds of the waves. The beach was well kept with lots of chairs available for everyone. What I also liked about this beach area is that there is a lot of shade whether from the palapas or the palm trees although, if sun is what you wanted, you could get that too.

I am very lucky, as we have made friends with a lot of the restaurant staff throughout the years at this hotel and they have always made our stays the best possible. I thank them all for making this another wonderful visit to my home away from home.

I would like to say a very special thank you to Leandro Tajes, Resident Manager of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino and The Royal Suites Turquesa, and his team for all they did to make this a most enjoyable trip for my mother and I. She has already indicated to me that she wants to come back next year!!! My husband and I are looking forward to seeing you in April!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fallen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear. Mrs./ Mr.Fallen.

On behalf of Royal suits Turquesa by palladium: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your valuable time to comment your experience with us. As well we would like to invite you once again to our complex to keep those memories.
At grand palladium hotel and spa: we effort with devotions to assure to our guests delightful memories back home.
Sincerely

Raimundo Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,091
    1,100
    468
    212
    128
See reviews for
658
4,135
72
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We travelled February 2 - 9, 2013. We had a wonderful vacation at the Royal Suites, from the friendly and helpful staff to the food we had no complaints.

We stayed in a Royal Romance Suite - Room 5436 and it was wonderful. If you are a beach person then building 54 is not for you as it is the furthest from the beach but we are pool people so it was perfect for us. The room was clean and the service from our butlers, room service, maids, minibar attendants and maintenance (my husband locked us out of the washroom at 2:00 am) was absolutely superb! Not to mention the bar staff at the pool bar near our building who always made sure there was Canadian Club stocked!!!

The staff here are so friendly and work so hard, please be sure to show your appreciation with tips.

I suppose if we had 1 complaint it would be that the pool is very cold. We have stayed at 4 other resorts in Punta Cana and this pool was by FAR the coolest. As hot as it was (the weather was wonderful) we spent very little time in the pool. It's almost as if they feed cold water in to it. We have a pool at home and we generally keep it at 80 and find it perfect, this was definitely low 70's.

Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank luvthesun491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear.Mrs./Mr.Luvthesun.

On behalf of Royal suits Turquesa by palladium: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your valuable time to comment your experience with us. As well we would like to invite you once again to our complex to keep those memories.
At grand palladium hotel and spa: we effort with devotions to assure to our guests delightful memories back home.

Sincerely

Raimundo Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from our 10th stay at the RST, it just keeps getting better and better!

We decided to stay in the older section this time for its proximity to the beach and main pools and the wonderful view! we were in room 5040 and were 3rd floor 3 rooms from the beach,, awesome view!!!!!!!!!!!! While this room has the same decor as on previous trips and fine by us, there is redecorating plans in the near future, the room was also spotless, everything worked. Maid, minibar and butler service perfect.

food: there are so many food choices at the RST and the rest of the Grand Palladium! most of our meals were at the royal gourmet and the French a la carte. a la carte breakfast at the RG, eggs anyway you like them cooked to order, as well as a la carte pancakes and french toast. the buffet had many breads and pastries, meats, cheese, fruit yogurt as well as well as the hot stations of eggs, bacon sausage ect as well as hot and cold cereals. oh and one must not forget about the crepe station! made to order crepes at all 3 meals! also they have started a continental breakfast by the main pool from 10-11 serving pastries, meat and cheese, fruit and yogurt. Loved this option but usually went to the RG.

love the royal gourmet for lunch, but sadly only made it there once as we having too much fun and did not want to go change ( DH prefers to change out of his swim suite but swim suites are fine to wear at lunch and breakfast if dry and covered up) so for lunch we enjoyed the little pizzas they bring around, the sandwiches available at the lobby , pools and down by the beach, the hot and cold food stations set up in the royal lobby at noon. We also ate at the sports bar one day as we were at that end of the resort at lunch. there is also a new snack bar on the beach near the PC section that is open 11 - 5 pm, we loved the chicken there! there is also 2 beach buffets and 1 AC buffet at lunch but we did not eat at them this trip.

Dinner: this trip we only did the French and the RG as we love them and were only there for 7 days, food is very very good and if by chance you order something that is not to your liking they will bring you something else.

also must not forget room service, available 24 hrs a day, only ordered one time and it arrived in 30 min.

looking forward to trip # 11, going for 2 weeks in early Oct/ end of Sept, cant wait was with 2 weeks it will give us more chances to re visit the other a la cartes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sukie63on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear.Mrs.Mr. SUCKIE.

In the Name of Our staff: The Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa and who subscribe let me extend you, warm greetings; and add we are tremendously grateful, for taking your valuable time to comment your experience with us. Also, we would like to invite once Again, to Our Complex, to keep with these good memories Lived.

We have noted, That Your Experience with us was Wonderful, and filled out all your expectations, through this response; we let you know that, your Words Encourage and motivate us to maintain and improve our Level of service.

at the Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa: we strive with Devotion to ensure to Our Guests Wonderful memories back home.

Thank you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were at the Royal Suites Turquesa for our third visit last January and really enjoyed every minute of it. Had sent our preferences prior by email and mentioned that we were celebrating something special in our lifes, my partner is retiring this year! Traveled with Air Transat and once again good service and great flight, we arrived at the resort around 9 pm and by the time we got our room and got our luggage in, we just made it on time at the Gourmet for a nice meal. The Gourmet closes at 10 pm but never did we feel that we had to rush to eat and leave. Thank you Gourmet staff for that.

ROOM: We got a great surprise when we found out we had a gourgeous Cabana with a swim-up. A living room with patio doors, a closed bathroom with a jacuzzi and a special shower with different functions, a nice bedroom with patio doors on a terrace in front. Quiet area and sun on the pool side for a good part of the day.

FOOD: Being there for our third time, we decided to enjoy mostly the RST restaurants but we also wanted to try the 2 new restaurants, which we did. We enjoyed our meal at the LA PARRIlLA steakhouse, where I tried the rib steak and my spouse tried the salmon steak, both were very good. We also tried the CHEF RAFAELLE where I took the lobster (what a langouste!!!!) and a special sauce without lactose with pasta was prepared for my partner and she was very happy with her meal. As usual eating at LE CHANTERELLE and THE GOURMET is always great (we even went a few times for lunch a la carte).

ALCOOL: Only a 5 star resort can offer premium international selections for drinks and at the lobby of the RST, you can almost get anything you want. The B-52's are very very very good!!!

CLEANLINESS: The cleaning staff is working almost around the clock, the room maids do a good job and you see maintenance and cleaning staff all over the site taking care of the place.
I want to put in a good word for the gardening staff, they work hard and are not always recognized by the clientele. I read in another review that the hotel does not change the sheets every day, there is a card on the night table to that effect, I am including a picture of that card that allows the guests to request sheet changes whenever they choose.

SERVICE: Well this is what is the most important for me, great treatment at arrival, response to our requests always on time (you have to remember that it is dominican time!!!) and with a smile.
Special mention for a few people in particular, Tomas the captain of the drivers and his drivers, the lobby and pool bar staff, the wonderful waiters at the RST restaurants and all the fun staff everywhere on the site.

MANAGEMENT: Got to meet all the management personnel at the Cocktail that was held at the Spa on the Wednesday night and we were very pleased of their approch and response to our comments.

In overall our trip was great and we are planning going back next year for a 2 weeks vacation.

Room Tip: The extra for a swim-up is really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gitan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The text below is a copy of the letter sent to Thomson to complain about this holiday. We complained so much on this holiday, in the end we gave up, neither the rep nor the hotel management were remotely interested. Thomson have basically said that they have checked the other reviews while we were there and only the entertainment was substandard, they have offered us £90 compensation which we suggested they keep - I'd call this adding insult to injury. I have never before put a review on trip advisor, good or bad as its not really my thing, but I feel this experience warrants the 'air time'.

We have recently arrived home from our holiday with yourselves at the Royal Suites Turquesa, Punta Cana, our holiday reference is xxxxx. I booked this holiday as a surprise for my wife to celebrate her 40th birthday on New Years Eve and of course to see in the New Year. As this is clearly a special occasion I booked a hotel that according to your brochure was in the Platinum range and expected the service to be as such.

I’d like to inform you of our dissatisfaction with the resort and detail our experience below:

• Our transfer from the airport was very disorganised, the transportation supplied was sub standard with my seat back not being supported and gradually reclining until I was forced to sit forward as the seat was on the knees of the passenger behind, his was the same. Also there was dirty tissue paper stuffed into the air vents.

The Thomson representative (Sharon), gave us a badly photocopied booking in sheet which we were expected to complete en route to the hotel, the rep then left us on the coach to go to the Royal Suites after getting off at the Palladium to look after the other guests.

• Upon arrival we made our way to reception and the employee that booked us in was deliberately difficult as we didn’t speak Spanish (this was a common theme with hotel employees). I had e-mailed the hotel a few months earlier to request a swim up room and agreed I was happy to pay the upgrade rate, he had no record of this or our booking. He said there was no swim up room available, after arguing the point he miraculously found one, we were immediately ushered to the room where we found a letter addressed to us welcoming is to the resort, there is no way this could have been moved during this time so it appears this was our room all along, the book in clerk was clearly deliberately being awkward and rude. He told us we were late for our restaurant booking made for 6pm, we informed him we didn’t land until 5.10pm so that would be impossible.

• We were told by Sharon that we would be eating in the Royal Suites only restaurant for the New Years Gala Dinner, upon receipt of the booking ticket (now made for 10pm) we proceeded to the Torres restaurant to find it is just the buffet restaurant for the Bavaro and Palladium resort. We were ushered to an area by 2 waitresses who continued to argue about where to locate us, once resolved we helped ourselves to the buffet to find the food cold. I have attended Gala Dinners in the past and this falls very short. We left immediately to find the New Years Celebrations.

• There appeared to be no New Years Celebrations so we returned to our room extremely disappointed and frustrated. We discovered the following day there was some sort of beach party, bonfire etc – Nobody informed us of this, the rep said nothing, nor did reception or the butler that led us to the room – WHY?
• On the first morning we ordered room service breakfast which arrived cold with a slice of stale bread in the place of a Danish detailed on the menu.
• We attempted to find the Butler as we had no details about the resort other than a map that made no sense, there was no Butler available, fortunately a helpful maid got us in contact with him and he arrived 45 mins after the time he was detailed to be available. We voiced our disappointment to Juan who was then very helpful explaining the map, and agreed to make some A La Carte restaurant bookings, he didn’t come back to us so I chased him up later in the day and he came back to inform us he could only make booking on the last 3 days of the holiday as they were fully booked.

• We went to find the welcome meeting, but realised the location wasn’t detailed on the map, we couldn’t find the Butler again so ended up visiting all 3 lobbies where we arrive late at the 3rd we tried, this is such a big resort this took 30 minutes as we hadn’t been told at this point of the resorts shuttle. The staff in the lobby then put music on drowning Sharon out, she asked for them to switch it off until she finished but they didn’t forcing her to shout to be heard (just). After the meeting we complained about our experience so far to Sharon who symapthised with the fact we have paid a premium for (so far) sub standard service and would speak to the Manager and we should expect to be contacted. We heard nothing, either from the Manager or Sharon, no follow up was made at all for the rest of the holiday.

• We proceeded to the beach but could get no beach towels were available, we asked the beach towel attendant who told us we would have to wait for an hour – for 2 towels?!?! We went to reception and demanded to see the Manager who wasn’t available, the reception staff seeing our building frustration sent someone to get us some towels.

This is all within the first 24 hours of arrival, we hoped things would improve after such a disappointing start by both Thomsons and Royal Suites Turquesa, unfortunately issues continued.

• The service in bars and restaurants was extremely poor and 90% of the staff unfriendly and rude, the food was either tasteless or cold – mainly cold and made us both unwell confining us to our room for 2 days.

• The 1 A La Carte restaurant we were well enough to visit was awful with the food being so bad we walked out part way through the main course, we ended up spending over $50 on crisps and biscuits as we didn’t dare eat most of the food.

• The DVD player in our room didn’t work, the equipment was old and in poor condition in the gym, only 1 of the 2 bikes worked.

• We received no information on our departure details and had to go and find them ourselves.

• I can’t comment on the entertainment as there didn’t appear to be any schedule available.

• I tried to extend the room for a few hours until our transfer to the airport collected us but no-one was willing to help, I abandoned this idea as I was obviously wasting my time.

• The only consistently friendly staff were the gardeners and cleaning staff who did an amazing job as the gardens, public areas and rooms were kept exceptionally well.

I booked this holiday expecting a luxury resort, I paid £2.5k for 1 weeks holiday in a luxury resort, what part of the above qualifies as a luxury resort? We received virtually the same services as the Palladium or Bavaro guests. I’d like to know how this would achieve your platinum rating and how you ensure standards are maintained at these resorts?

Over the past 10 years we have spent in excess of £XXk with Thomsons visiting Maldives, Cuba, Sicily, St Lucia, Mexico, Jamaica and have never received such poor and disappointing service, this particularly stings as it was supposed to be such a special occasion, having visited luxury resorts with yourselves in the past I have received quality service and know what “good” should look like, clearly we have overpaid for this trip and I am interested to hear how we will be compensated.

Room Tip: It's very simple, just choose another resort - somewhere like the Couples Swept Away resort in N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for a while, as these reviews were so helpful to me in planning our trip. This resort was AMAZING. Simply put it was a wonderful Honeymoon and we feel we couldn't have picked a better hotel. I have traveled extensively and am a big researcher, so when it came time to book our honeymoon I rearched for months (and months). I

Swim up rooms: This was my favorite part of the room--so wonderful! We would go to the beach for a few hours and then head to lunch, and afterwards spend the rest of the day at our swim up pool. It's so nice to have your room right there if you want to eat lunch in (ROOM SERVICE!), take a nap (which my husband liked to do) etc.There was a lot less lugging of items like we usually have to do with other resorts, and NO TOWEL GAME for us!

The room: we had a deluxe swim up ( i believe- it was the end unit in building 58) The room was gorgeous and so spacious. I can not say enough good about the rooms.

There were a few days we were hit with rain at night and the little white carts that are just for the RST guests really came in handy and dropped us off at our room!


TIPS: We bought cheap floats off amazon and used them in the swim up pool to float around on and sip our drinks! it was great. Also, bring a thermos for your drinks. I saw that tip on here a few times..Thanks! It really came in handy!Make your reservations early-or one of the first days you get there so you can try all the resteraunts you want!

Room Tip: Choose a swim up room! By far the best for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CarnegieDeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at RST (actually an abreviated week - we were on the Sunwing flight that got diverted to Bermuda thanks to the Smoking MacNeils ). We stayed in the newer section, 3rd floor. No swim-up rooms were available when we checked in and in hindsight we were glad. We only use our room to change and to sleep, so we wouldn't have used the pool anyway.
The grounds for the resort are very well maintained. The complete resort (including the Palladium) is hugh but very walkable as long as you don't have any mobility issues. We didn't use the trolly once during our stay. Food was very good to excellant in most restaurents we visited. The service and friendliness of the staff is definately better on the Royal Suites side. I found staff on the Palladium side to be less interested in good service and harder to communicate with.
The beach is incredible and goes on forever. We started every day with a 2 hour walk. We didn't use the butler service other than for the initial booking of diner reservations, but the butlers were always there, ready to help. Rooms have a fully stocked bar, including liquor and beer. Only the wine came with an additonal charge. No problem with the wi-fi, it was always working.
My only complaint is that there are minimal amenities at the RST section of the beach. You have to walk quite a ways to get to the nearest restaurant or bar.
Overall a great stay and would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
2.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
15.8 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

Property: The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 140 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalized service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing