We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
BALMERTOWN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We (3 females, late 50's) were here from March 1st to 15th, arrived at about 3pm, so had a wonderful view of eveything as we entered the resort. Check-in went quickly as we were the only arrivals at that time, and we were able to see the beach before dark and spent some time at the main pool bar. Our original room in the old section was not condusive to a comfortable stay, so our Transat rep arranged for us to move to 5526, which suited us better as we had a bit more privacy for showering and dressing. Most rooms are geared for 2 people. I actually did not like the setup of the first room at all.

We ate most of our meals at the Gourmet and Le Chanterelle, loved their outside patio, great selections, very good service, good buffet, and the staff has a decent understanding of English. Loved the Lobster Thermidor, Quoquilles St. Jacques and the Chateaubriand, delicious!! We did the a la carte at the Japanese, it was ok, the Brazilian was good, not that impressed with the Spanish, Mare Nostrum (Mediterranean) was good, Italian was good but a bit slow, maybe new trainees, the Steak house was good, a bit of confusion there (not a great understanding of English), but we did get what we ordered eventually. We enjoyed the Chinese, didn't get a chance to go there a second time. We ate lunch once at El Arrecife, I enjoyed their variety, their pizza was good, I wasn't sure if the chicken was fully cooked, or if that was just the colour of the meat, so to be safe, I didn't eat it. It was noisy there in the main area, the other sections were quieter.

We only saw 2 night shows, Michael Jackson, and some Dominican Dance review, both were good, but we found the accoustics poor and the sound annoying, so never went back for any other shows. The piano player at Hemmingway's was pleasant to listen to, nice atmosphere for a quiet time. It seemed that we were missing lobby bar entertainment because of the time we chose to book our suppers, when we would head over for after supper music, that would be their break time, and they took 1/2 hour or more break. We were up and about by 7am, so did not stay up late any night. Did not go to the casino.

The spa has a running river pool in it which not many are aware of, we would go up there at around 4:30 and relax there till we had to get ready for supper, that was nice.

I have to admit that for the first 4 days I wasn't too sure about our choice of the Turquesa, but as we got to know the complex better and were able to find our way around more easily, I quite liked it, the 2 butlers we had were super, and could speak English quite well.

The first week we did feel like we were a minority staying there, as we virtually heard no English spoken, but the second week we noticed more English spoken, and were able to chat with other guests.

Their internet service was poor, only 3 computers in the lobby available and 1 or 2 were not always working, and the service was not available in the rooms for laptops as the signal was not strong enough. Laptops worked well in the lobby.

The beach was great for walking a long distance, but the section in front of the Turquesa is a bit narrower, so seems more crowded with the loungers there. Then you have the people hogging beach beds, loungers in the shade and loungers in the sun!! You don't get towel cards, so that opens up potential for abuse of towel use and hogging spaces. I wasn't impressed! Many times I observed 2 people with 6 towels. There was one group of 8 that had 12 loungers and I'll guess at 16 to 20 towels a day.

All in all, I did appreciate the stay, we went for a helicopter ride, parasailing, and took a tour with Punta Cana Mike (that was super, you'll find him on the internet), but would I go there again? Probably not, having been to a few warm countries now, I like Mexico the best, the area between Cancun and Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ELISABETH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,451
    1,161
    503
    228
    139
See reviews for
752
4,414
73
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I traveled to the Royal Suites Turquesa for a family wedding. We had approximately 14 people in our party. Upon arriving at the Royal Suites Turquesa I was pleasantly surprised at my surroundings. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, everyone was very friendly and had a smile on their face. We were greeted with a glass of champagne upon checking in and immediately introduced to our butler David. He was very informative and told us everything we would need to know during our stay. We had a swim-up room and the waitstaff for that area was very attentive. The pool area was well maintained and kept very clean throughout our entire stay. I would give the food 2 maybe 3 stars. It was not phenomenal, but we definitely did not go hungry. Room service was adequate, although they didn't bring us the correct order until the very last morning. But when you are sitting in paradise it's pretty hard to complain about anything!

The wedding was absolutely beautiful and held in a gazebo at the beach. The staff was very attentive to our every need throughout the entire wedding process. And for not having more than a day of planning for the event, everything went wonderfully.

The one major downfall I would say was the checkout process. It was quite a production. They had to physically inspect our room prior to allowing us to leave. They didn't find anything wrong, but the process itself did not seem very organized.

All in all, I would say that our time spent at the Royal Suites Turquesa was very enjoyable and worth the money. I would definitely travel there again.

Room Tip: We upgraded from a normal suite to a swim-up suite. Very well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

having arrived and been upgraded to the Royal suites.... well were to start... the room was wonderful and imaculate good level of furnishing and clean
the two resturants for the royal suites are amazing lovely selection and very high quality.
As a Royal suite guest you can use all the complex resturants.. we tired most of them and cant speak highly enough of any of them.. in two weeks every meal was a joy....
the pool is clean and staff at the pool bar very pleasant.
all in all.... we cant recommend this hotel highly enough....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brecon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This review is to inform everyone that I have been to the RST twice already and that this year I tried a different place and let me tell you that RST is definetely very very hard to beat!

The following areas for me were not met at the other resort in PC where I was:

1. the welcome gift (there were absolutely none);
2. the room that was given to us was a non smoking room without verifying with us prior to giving to us, my spouse smokes, so you can see that we had to move once we noticed that our room was a non-smoking room (let me tell that I agree that there should be non-smoking rooms for the non-smokers but if you put a smoker in one of those rooms, you might have a surprise smoke smell in the room once the smoker leaves, even if the smoker goes outside to smoke);
3. there were no special wine or champane served at the adjoining resort the the Royal guests like there is at the RST;
4. we love dominican music very much and at the other resort they almost never played any dominican music, only at one of the pool bar (for me when I go to a country I appreciate listening to their music not american music, if I wish to listen to amercan music I will go to the States or stay home;
5. the wormth of the staff at the RST is very hard to beat (the only thing I can give to the other resort is that the number of employees is bigger that at the RST therefore the service is a bit faster);
6. the food at the other resort is aproximately the same as at the RST, but less choices in restaurants;
7. the rooms were not as lovely as at the RST and the bath in the room is not a jacuzzi.

So for me, my next trip to Dominican Republic will surely be at the RST.

Room Tip: The new section has gorgeous rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gentille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Wow! What a place. We upgraded to the lagoon with gondlas and an outdoor showers and just loved it. We also had a private pool with a wonderful waiter who was always happy to serve you. From the beds on the beach to the Spa, this place is a winner. I would love to go back. It is very clean, good food, modern lobby in the Royal Suites area and also lots to see and do. The becah is also very beautiful and great to walk on since the sand is packed and hard. Lovely, lovely place. I am still dreaming about it. We also had our own butler who could not do enough for us. Had a great time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Royal Suites and feel like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Resort and rooms were beautiful. However, the food, maid service and mini bar service were horrible. Upon arriving, we were told to fill out a form requesting what type of pillow we wanted, what time in AM and PM that maid service was requested and what we wanted our mini bar stocked with. We were not given the requested pillows which, in itself, is not a big deal but don't ask what kind of pillows you want! Mini bar was restocked only 4 of the 7 days we were there. And, we were without towels two days and maid did not arrive anywhere near the time requested any day. In fact, we went without maid service twice. My husband and I both got sick after each meal except one night when we ventured out to the Hard Rock and finally had a good meal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were at this resort from Feb 24, 2012 until March 2, 2012. This was a great resort and we will definitely be coming back.

I have a very detailed review for this resort at http://www.gistv.ca/palladium. It was too big to fit into the Trip Advisor panel so if you are interested please go to the link.

Room Tip: Read my detailed review at: http://www.gistv.ca/palladium
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidnicholsonshawca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
15.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
13.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
53.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Property: TRS Turquesa Hotel
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing