We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RST compared to other 5 starts - GREAT in my opinion”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“RST compared to other 5 starts - GREAT in my opinion”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This review is to inform everyone that I have been to the RST twice already and that this year I tried a different place and let me tell you that RST is definetely very very hard to beat!

The following areas for me were not met at the other resort in PC where I was:

1. the welcome gift (there were absolutely none);
2. the room that was given to us was a non smoking room without verifying with us prior to giving to us, my spouse smokes, so you can see that we had to move once we noticed that our room was a non-smoking room (let me tell that I agree that there should be non-smoking rooms for the non-smokers but if you put a smoker in one of those rooms, you might have a surprise smoke smell in the room once the smoker leaves, even if the smoker goes outside to smoke);
3. there were no special wine or champane served at the adjoining resort the the Royal guests like there is at the RST;
4. we love dominican music very much and at the other resort they almost never played any dominican music, only at one of the pool bar (for me when I go to a country I appreciate listening to their music not american music, if I wish to listen to amercan music I will go to the States or stay home;
5. the wormth of the staff at the RST is very hard to beat (the only thing I can give to the other resort is that the number of employees is bigger that at the RST therefore the service is a bit faster);
6. the food at the other resort is aproximately the same as at the RST, but less choices in restaurants;
7. the rooms were not as lovely as at the RST and the bath in the room is not a jacuzzi.

So for me, my next trip to Dominican Republic will surely be at the RST.

Room Tip: The new section has gorgeous rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gentille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,451
    1,161
    503
    228
    139
See reviews for
752
4,414
73
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
niagara
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Wow! What a place. We upgraded to the lagoon with gondlas and an outdoor showers and just loved it. We also had a private pool with a wonderful waiter who was always happy to serve you. From the beds on the beach to the Spa, this place is a winner. I would love to go back. It is very clean, good food, modern lobby in the Royal Suites area and also lots to see and do. The becah is also very beautiful and great to walk on since the sand is packed and hard. Lovely, lovely place. I am still dreaming about it. We also had our own butler who could not do enough for us. Had a great time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Royal Suites and feel like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Resort and rooms were beautiful. However, the food, maid service and mini bar service were horrible. Upon arriving, we were told to fill out a form requesting what type of pillow we wanted, what time in AM and PM that maid service was requested and what we wanted our mini bar stocked with. We were not given the requested pillows which, in itself, is not a big deal but don't ask what kind of pillows you want! Mini bar was restocked only 4 of the 7 days we were there. And, we were without towels two days and maid did not arrive anywhere near the time requested any day. In fact, we went without maid service twice. My husband and I both got sick after each meal except one night when we ventured out to the Hard Rock and finally had a good meal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were at this resort from Feb 24, 2012 until March 2, 2012. This was a great resort and we will definitely be coming back.

I have a very detailed review for this resort at http://www.gistv.ca/palladium. It was too big to fit into the Trip Advisor panel so if you are interested please go to the link.

Room Tip: Read my detailed review at: http://www.gistv.ca/palladium
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidnicholsonshawca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My wife and I went to RST at the end of feb

Check in. We also had problems with checking in as some of the other reviews did.Booked through westjet and payed for the old section close to the beach, but were put in the new section(55) 2nd floor with no view other than the next building. Room was nice and big but not what we wanted. Next morning went to the lobby wait in line and sort it out with 3 couples in the same boat we were in. By 2pm we were in building 50 and on our way. The problem is we paid for a 7 day vacation and lost 24 hrs sorting out the room. NOT COOL

Food. average buffets
average to good a la cartes

Service. This in our opinion was the best we have ever had. We have even stayed at a sandals and it wasn't as good as here. The wait staff is just awesome around the pool and beach. You dont have to move to get a drink if you dont want to. They are right on top of it.

Beach. This is our first time to PC and we are beach bums, but did not spend one
minute on the beach. This beach and area is way way to busy for us. Its just wall to wall people for as long as the eye could see. We spent the week at the main pool and just took in the R & R.

Overall. We liked the resort and the hard working staff. But this will be the only time we travel to PC. We like things a little less busier.

PS. The airport at Punta cana is a nightmare.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachloversCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Background

My husband and I travel South to all inclusives about 3 times a year. In the past 4 or 5 years we have limited the resorts to Adults only unless we travelled for a family affair. With few exceptions, we try to stay at 4.5 or 5 star resorts in Mexico or DR and never return to the same resort. I usually write a review following my stay and so you know, I rate the resorts primarily based on what you get for the price paid. For example, my expectations would be very high if I paid top dollar like what is paid for the Iberostar Grand, Sanctuary Cap, Zoetry, considering they list all of these at 5 star. My expectations for Royal Suites which is 60% the price and also listed as a 5 star are high, but not as high, so I'll be more easily satisfied.

In General

We very much enjoyed our stay. The good was much greater than the bad or better said, the annoying. Please consider also when reading this review, that I truly loved RST generally and came close to giving it a 5. The feeling at this resort is great.

I always like to be wowed on first contact with the lobby. I wasn't. The lobby is new but lacks any luster. We were given a welcome drink. The check-in was inefficient and tedious. It took about 12-15 minutes and we were the only guests checking in. We were then escorted to our room by our concierge and at that point I was wowed by the impressive grounds. We booked a deluxe superior room, which is the lowest category and is located in the newer section. It was on the 3rd floor. The room was large, beautiful, marble, four poster bed, large double vanity and more bling, bling overall than the older side but the newer outside has the atmosphere of barracks in my opinion. From the 2nd or 3rd floor cement walled balcony railing, there was no view. The resort is spotless. The food and drinks are better than average, consistently. We didn't see any theatre productions. The golf cart drivers were awesome.

I would say the majority of guests are upscale and with the exception of honeymooners, aged late 40s to 60s. The make-up is I'm guessing at 60% Canadian and of those, 50% French Canadian. Many guests from the US, Russia and Germany. This was probably one of the most social resorts we have had the pleasure of visiting. We met different interesting couples every day for 10 days and had dinner often with them. The main pool just lends itself to meeting like-minded people.

In regards to entertainment, the Royal Suites Turquesa guests must go to the other Palladium resorts for any entertainment. The RST lobby is basic, no music and the lobby bar (or the lobby counter, not bar) reminded me of a deli. No mirrors, no bling at all. I believe they could increase the availability of amenities to RST guests.

Food and Beverage

The Gourmet and French restaurants are better than at most all inclusives and well prepared and presented. I especially liked to have dinner on their patio - very intimate, romantic atmosphere. We also ate at the Brazilian and the Spanish restaurants and they were very good. For lunch and breakfast, the Gourmet Restaurant was very good but we preferred lunch either at the Bavaro beach hut or the Bavaro buffet which were outstanding. The Royal Suites main pool served a continental breakfast from 10 to11, the servers went around with fruit kabobs and pizza (the pizza was actually more like focaccia) at lunch time and you could find sandwiches in the fridge early in the day. The lobby had a sandwich buffet, finger foods and desserts until 3:30. We had room service breakfast twice - cold and dried out. Room service late night was good. From 3:30 until dinner time (6:30 ?) no food was available at the Royal Suites side unless you could find a leftover sandwich or focaccia in the pool side fridges.

The drinks were consistently good and prepared with popular brand name liquors if that's what you ordered. We didn't have any fruity drinks though. There was no shortage. The house wine was hit and miss. Pool and beach side drinking cups are small, disposable plastic glasses, as opposed to the large acrylic hurricane glasses used at other resorts of this caliber.

Pool and Beach

The main pool was on the cool side and clean. We didn't try the lazy river pools on the newer side. We never hung out there. The main pool chairs were limited but lots of chairs/beds, even in the shade by the lazy river and on the beach. The beach was awesome of course. It's Punta Cana. No beach erosion for the mile stretch in front of the Palladium but it's not that wide. The only erosion, but bad erosion, we saw was south of the Palladium for about a mile stretch and we walked the beach for about 4 or 5 miles both north and south of the Palladium. A variety of good music most of the day by the main pool. No entertainers, no pool or other exercise, no games.

Service

For the most part, service was very impressive. All but a few were very eager to help with anything, friendly, not attached to whether or not you tipped. In fact, the service was so good almost everywhere you wanted to tip, and tip often. I will now coin the term "eye contact avoidance" or "eca" for short. ECA was practiced at the pool bar and often at the lobby bar. Let's face it, I don't think too many guests expect the bartenders to jump every time someone appears at the bar, but come on... what is wrong with acknowledging, smiling and saying "I'll be with you in a minute" instead of annoyingly avoiding eye contact with the customer. In fact, at the lobby bar, too often the staff was chatting among themselves and ignoring the customers. On the other hand, the pool and beach servers were offering to bring new drinks before your old drink was finished - consistently.

All in all, a beautiful, well managed resort. Staff from golf cart drivers, maids, servers, ground keepers was 5 star.

No problem to contact me if you need more information.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MCobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smooth Rock Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had read the reviews before leaving for our trip and it frightened us. After a two week stay at the Royal Suites, the negative comments found on this site were inaccurate. We had a wonderful time! The food, the service, the rooms were all fit for kings and queens. We talked to many return customers who had traveled to various locations around the world and had concluded that the services offered here, at the Royal Suites, were nothing less than excellent. Some have been coming back to this location for the last 5 to 10 years. (That speaks for itself!!!) All the employees take their jobs seriously and are constantly inquiring about client satisfaction.
We were extremely pleased with everything and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the newest section are nicer but are further from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
15.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
13.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
53.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Property: TRS Turquesa Hotel
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing