We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations: Up In Smoke”

Cigar Country Tours
Ranked #10 of 19 Tours in La Romana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come visit the most amazing boutique hand-made cigar factory in the world. Here you will see the proud handwork of the cigar industry's most experienced craftsmen and women, all under the watchful eyes of cigar legend Master Blender Jose Seijas • Tours are offered daily 8AM-6:30PM
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Expectations: Up In Smoke”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overpriced, 18% tax, stale low quality cigars says it all. You can buy these brands at any decent mail order cigar shop in the US for less money and get fresh, better quality. Workers are demonstrating the cigar making process, but what you came for is good cigars and good prices and this is not the place. Oceania cruises offers this as an excursion and charges $75 for a $5 cab ride. A huge disappointment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FishFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geudy A V, Manager at Cigar Country Tours, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We apologize for your bad experience but taxes and the cost of excursions are not in our control. We do not charge for the tours.
I can guarantee that as a retail store have the best variety, most fresh assortment and prices in the DR market. If you ever come back to DR please visit us and we’ll do our best to provide a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    9
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“great tour”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

the factory was small but the guide knew her business-one advantage about a small tour was you got to stand by the workers benchs and ask questions--tour was very informative-the cigar store had more cigars than i've seen in any one place

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chuck882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great, informative tour!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked this tour directly through the factory which was a great idea, as we would soon find out. We arrived and met Lince who gave us a very informative tour. Since our group was small (only 4 of us) she took a lot of time to answer questions. We soaked in the information and scenery of the factory. At the end of the tour we had coffee while we smoked our LFD cigars. About this time we saw a bus load of people arrive at the factory. There must have been 50 or more people. While I'm sure they enjoyed the tour there is no way they could have seen and heard everything our small group did. If you do this tour try to do it on your own as a small group. You will get much more individual attention. Plus, if you get Lince as a tour guide she is VERY easy on the eyes!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ticotych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cigars,Cigars!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Took a tour to this Cigar Factory. Neither of us smoke, but tour was very interesting! Learned all facets of cigar making. Our guide Geronimo seemed to know everything about cigars. Would recommend this tour for everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting for cigar lovers and those who love us”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The tour takes about a half hour. Fun way to see the production of a cigar. It will take you from the growing of the tobacco by video (tobacco is grown in the north of the country) to actually watching the workers prepare, bind, fill, and wrap the cigars. It is truly an art form. You get to see it up close, touch the various leafs in process, and ask questions. At the end of the tour you can buy cigars from all over the Dominican Republic and sample one in the store. You could do the tour and store in 30 minutes or stay two hours as you smoke in the store. The time commitment is up to you. The prices are the same as our online costs here in the U.S., but they have selections you don't usually find online.

My wife, who does not smoke, enjoyed the tour and found the rolling fascinating. Her complaint was the smoke in the rolling area of the factory coming from the store.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NW-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cigar Country Tours also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Cigar Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing