We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altos de Chavon

Altos de Chavon
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.75*
and up
Punta Cana Combo Tour: Catalina Island, Altos de Chavon and Chavon River
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Altos de Chavon, is an architectural wonder, a 16th century replica of a Mediterranean village perched high above the Chavón River. The village was designed by Dominican architect Jose Antonio Caro, and created by Italian master designer and cinematographer Roberto Coppa. Dominican artisans handcrafted the stone pathways, decorative ironwork, furniture and enchanting buildings, reviving almost forgotten crafts of metal work and stone carving. Under Coppa's direction, each stone was hand cut, each wooden door frame was handcrafted and each wrought-iron detail hand-forged. Construction of the village began in 1976 and the village was inaugurated in 1982 with the concert of Frank Sinatra at the amphitheater. Altos de Chavon was built as a center of culture for the Dominican people. Dominican residents, tourists and working artists, flock to this magically inspirational locale.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just a nice place to have a cocktail and enjoy the view.
Take lots of photos, watch the chacon river and you can see your
Apt from there

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    188
    55
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wonder Lake, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Altos The Chavon-The Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visit to Altos De Chavon was the last point in the day trip to Catalina Island and it was probably the best part of the whole trip. We grew up in the old continent and seeing a part of old Europe here in DR was a wonderful surprise. We are planning to come back here for a whole day to see more. We recommend visit to this place to all ages interested in history and old architecture. Visit with small children could be a bit overwhelming but not impossible. Entry fee is $25.00 per person and we feel for what you will see here is very low priced. There some places to eat, unfortunately we were given so little time and had no chance to check them out but know about two of them Gino in Trastevere and La Cantina (Dominican and Cuban specialties), and we are sure will stop in next time. Souvenir and art shops all over. Places to take pictures are countless. You could take a little stroll on top of a donkey too. Gorgeous little Church were famous people got married. Will add some pictures for readers to see. The guide told us a story about who, when and why built this place. It was interesting but there was very little truth in it. Read about the facts before you get there, but try not to correct your guide if you come here with the organized group. It takes away from the adventure. Just so you know the place was finished in 1980. May not be old at all but it is certainly beautiful.
Wonderful place we highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Well worth seeing. It was just wonderful. Take the time to have a drink at one of their restaurants overseeing the river. Might get pricey for large families $25/pp to get in...but if you plan right you can spend the entire day at Casa Campo and go to their beach and marina. It's all included (we didn't know that)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This excursion offered by Carnival is Altos de Chavon and River Cruise and it was great despite getting wet provided by Mother Nature. The village is a great learning experience and the river cruise was most informative - - especially when learning about the movies filmed on it. When the rum started to flow - - and flow it did and the waitresses started to dance the fun began on the river. Fresh coconuts were opened and the milk and meat was distributed to everyone who wanted some. The cruise ended with everyone getting two half pints of Dominican Rum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainS7662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Altos de Chavon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the places we stopped on our tour and can only say that I was not there long enough to appreciate the place. It has a Mediterranean setting with cute cobble-covered alleyways. It includes a beautiful church and a couple of little shops. There is also an amphitheater which was quite impressive and still in use for concerts. The day we visited, the place felt isolated, I am guessing because it was a little late in the afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altos de Chavon also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Altos de Chavon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing