We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Put this on your list of activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cueva de las Maravillas

Cueva de las Maravillas
Book In Advance
$164.99*
and up
Maravillas Cave and Altos de Chavón Day Trip from Santo Domingo
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Put this on your list of activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved the cave! We booked our tour through Tropic Tours which picked us up from our villa at Casa de Campo. Because we have 5 in our group, we got a private tour through the cave which was great. If you book with Tropic Tours, which I highly suggest, ask for Edward as your guide. Spoke perfect english, very knowledgable about the area and made our ride to the cave great. And after the tour, they took us to a small store in La Romana where we could buy local artists work.

The cave was beautiful. But very wet and very very humid. Don't expect a cold cave. Dress accordingly! The walk ways are well paved with hand rails and very well lit. Our guide was very nice and spoke just enough english that we could get the gist of what she was attempting to tell us. But we never understood when it was ok or not to take pictures. So we took pictures through most of the cave until she was shocked and said "no pictures in the cave" clear enough for us to understand. By that point, we were almost done. When taking pictures in the cave (when you are not supposed to!) don't use the flash. It really can damage the walls and makes your pics look way too bright. Go without flash and you will get some fantastic photos!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DrDivaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    99
    32
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wiz3260
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Greate Cave trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was very interesting ! If you've never been in an underground cave before then this is something you need to try, The caves themselves are quite large with ancient cave drawings(looked like graffiti to me :) ) and bats flying everywhere (fun to here some of the girls scream).
They have a small gift shop which actually has BETTER prices than some of the road souvenir shops!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wiz3260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic natural beauty, highly controlled, no pictures, bad guides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The place if beautiful and definitely worth visiting once. The guided tour is very bad: in a group including Americans, Italians, French, Mexicans, and some other Europeans the guide only spoke and explained things in Spanish. You could hear members of the group having to translate back to their group members. Photography (flash or no flash) is prohibited, and this is sad because the place is beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank P R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The cave itself is lovely and all of the facilities surrounding it are well maintained. The roads coming to the cave from either direction are good. There is a small giftshop where you buy your ticket and the tour starts at a small museum (just one room but modern and well done). The guides was okay, she sort of flew through the information but still pleasant. Definitely worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stalactite Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We got there from Dreams La Romana in a Rental Car, two German adult couples in their forties - and we really loved the place. It's very calm. The caves are quite large with beautiful stalactites and mites, and they are artfully illuminated. You'll get your personal guide thru the caves and ours did a great job. Go there, it's worth it, espectially as a stopover on a trip to Santo Domingo.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank winne1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cueva de las Maravillas also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Cueva de las Maravillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing