We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INDIANS”

Cueva de las Maravillas
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.00*
and up
Maravillas Cave and Altos de Chavón Day Trip from Santo Domingo
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“INDIANS”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a place where you can feel the indians. Their drawings are fresh, as if soon they will come back and chat with you. But no, Spaniards with all the diseases killed them - you can se the bones unearthed in the exploration of this impressive location.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    124
    39
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent natural beauty; facilities recently renovated. Some of the Taino indian markings looked newer than six centuries

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Normy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“An obligatory stop between Sto. Domingo and Punta Cana”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a beautiful cave system and well worth a stop on your way to Punta Cana. We were pleasantly surprised by the sophisticated lighting system. The paths were artfully lit and the grottos were illuminated as we approached, with the lights extinguishing as we past (movement sensors). A fascinating aspect of the visit are the ancient native pictographs on the wall. They sure didn't have such sophisticated lighting back in these days! The guide was attentive and knowledgeable. Everything was very clean and well maintained. There is an interesting iguana exhibit outside.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mmbcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice if you like caves.”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stopped as we where on the way. It's beautifull if you never have been in a cave, especially the Taino drawings, but it's a far cry of the the Grottes de Han in Belgium we visited last year.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JEPOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice cave tour”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

too commercialised for my taste but a nice day out
love the caving on this island!

Helpful?
1 Thank traceyabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cueva de las Maravillas also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Cueva de las Maravillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing