We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!”

Tabacalera de Garcia Factory Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$166.00*
and up
Tabacalera de Garcia Cigar Factory Tour from Santo Domingo
Ranked #7 of 19 Tours in La Romana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour the largest handmade cigar factory in the world! Tabacalera DE Garcia Casa de Campo - La Romana, Dominican Republic. Makers of the Finest Dominican Cigars:Montecristo, Romeo y Julieta, H. Upmann, Don Diego, Santa Damiana, VegaFina, and Onyx amongst others. Come visit the largest hand-made cigar factory in the world, employing more than 4,000 people. Here you will see the proud handwork of the cigar industry’s most experienced craftsmen and women. Their Cigar Shop carries the best selection and prices of premium Dominican cigars.**Cigar Factory Tours, available by appointment only, are offered Tuesdays and Thursdays at 2PM.**
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's amazong to see and understand all the effort and work related to made a cigar. all by hand, intesive in manual labor, lot of people, lots quality control that you do not even imagen when you smoke a cigar.
al the processes involved to maintain the tabacco, all the countries providing tobacco to creat one songle cigar.
And it;s the biggest cigar factory in the world.
Outstanbding brands and product quaility like Montecristo and Romero y Julieta.
a must see.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillermoArancibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    11
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A great tour. The guide takes you onto the factory floor, elbow to elbow with the cigar makers. The tour takes you from recieving to shipping and everything in between. You'll see grading, sorting, mixing, and testing. You can touch, feel, and smell the leaves. We saw them fill and roll the cigars, the banding process, and packaging. We watched the construction and decoration of the boxes. Our guide took us through their massive aging humidor where they have millions of unboxed cigars stored in bins by brand and type. Many have been aging for over a decade. The sights, sounds, and smells are worth the trip. Also, we weren't rushed. The guide took us through the factory at our pace.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyrussilversox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Brilliant tour - real life Dominican people”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Visited the factory in August 2011 and this was the best $10 we spent during the whole holiday. Had a tour guide to ourselves (2 of us) and saw every aspect of the factory work, learnt loads about cigars being made and saw some real Dominican life. If you are in La Romana this is a MUST SEE. We hired a taxi for 3 hours who waited for us and then took us to Jumbo in La Romana to buy some food which was much cheaper than in the hotel shop!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“can't loose this amazing experencie”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

the number one in the world of hand made cigars
nice shop
great spicy mamajuana

Helpful?
Thank ojomanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Interesting, a good surprise.”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Nothing to do at La Romana. I spent one week working as a consultant for the road construction when a friend told me to do the tour at TABACALERA GARCIA. I did it last saturday (july 30th) and was a very good surprise to me. 100% recomended. If you like historical facts (and cigars) do it. Recommended even for those on vocation at nearby resorts.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PauloGuida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacalera de Garcia Factory Tour also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Tabacalera de Garcia Factory Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing