We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Site”
Review of Altos de Chavon

Altos de Chavon
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.75*
and up
Punta Cana Combo Tour: Catalina Island, Altos de Chavon and Chavon River
More Info
$150.00*
and up
VIP Catalina Snorkeling and Altos De Chavon Full-Day Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
La Romana City Tour
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Altos de Chavon, is an architectural wonder, a 16th century replica of a Mediterranean village perched high above the Chavón River. The village was designed by Dominican architect Jose Antonio Caro, and created by Italian master designer and cinematographer Roberto Coppa. Dominican artisans handcrafted the stone pathways, decorative ironwork, furniture and enchanting buildings, reviving almost forgotten crafts of metal work and stone carving. Under Coppa's direction, each stone was hand cut, each wooden door frame was handcrafted and each wrought-iron detail hand-forged. Construction of the village began in 1976 and the village was inaugurated in 1982 with the concert of Frank Sinatra at the amphitheater. Altos de Chavon was built as a center of culture for the Dominican people.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Historic Site”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful place to visit. We were able to go down to the stage and view the entire place from there. I've seen many concerts artist give their, amazing place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 451Sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    431
    145
    33
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville,Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful village”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This to me was one of the neatest parts of Casa de Campo. The village is a neat recreation. The restaurants there are great. We loved the jewelry store and if you want a tshirt or a gift to take home its the best place to shop. The who set up is just neat

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tnjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Scenic”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent an hour or so wondering the village of Altos De Chavon. The village is a beautiful reproduction and the flowers were in bloom which made for a nice scenic walk. The river and golf course views were spectacular. It relaxing was to have a cool beverage and enjoy the views. It was very quiet....only a hand full of people milling around the entire place. Only negative....Being constructed of cobblestones it was very bumpy so I would recommend walking shoes and not flip flops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Stunning views!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Altos de Chavon is stunning! the views of the river below are incredible! Great place to take some great pictures. We didn't take an organized tour there, instead took a cab from our resort. We needed to get "clearance" prior to going and provide photo identification to the security staff before being allowed into the Caso de CAmpo compound ( a playground for the worlds rich and famous). The Village is free and a great place to walk around and take in some little shops and galleries. None of the restaurants were open at the time which was disappointing because it is the perfect location for a meal outside! There are concerts there at night but we didn't know how to get tickets. ENjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BinMcKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“architecturally stunning”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was at Altos de Chavon a couple years ago and I am surprised at the reviews. Granted this is not a place for a party but the restaurants were good, the museums/gift shops were great but expensive. The amazing thing was how the place was built. There is not a single wall, window frame, fence, or whatever that wasn't built with an artistic flair. It is a must see in m my book.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altos de Chavon also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Altos de Chavon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing