We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”
Review of Altos de Chavon

Altos de Chavon
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.75*
and up
Punta Cana Combo Tour: Catalina Island, Altos de Chavon and Chavon River
More Info
$150.00*
and up
VIP Catalina Snorkeling and Altos De Chavon Full-Day Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
La Romana City Tour
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Altos de Chavon, is an architectural wonder, a 16th century replica of a Mediterranean village perched high above the Chavón River. The village was designed by Dominican architect Jose Antonio Caro, and created by Italian master designer and cinematographer Roberto Coppa. Dominican artisans handcrafted the stone pathways, decorative ironwork, furniture and enchanting buildings, reviving almost forgotten crafts of metal work and stone carving. Under Coppa's direction, each stone was hand cut, each wooden door frame was handcrafted and each wrought-iron detail hand-forged. Construction of the village began in 1976 and the village was inaugurated in 1982 with the concert of Frank Sinatra at the amphitheater. Altos de Chavon was built as a center of culture for the Dominican people.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice reconstruction of a medieval village. It is NOT an authentic old village, but a very good reconstruction. Worth the stop!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yooper4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    430
    145
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a bit of tuscany in the DR”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

walking up the path to the village brings you to another place completely and you would swear you were in Italy not in the middle of the Caribbean....breath taking views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MisterJim_30040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice picuresque area”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped at this village during a cruise excursion and were having so much fun here that we almost missed our bus back to the ship. The village is a replica of a European settlement. Lots of things to see and do here. Give yourself at least 2-3 hours here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuttawa, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE Customer service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Tried to visit, but they don't answer phone calls or emails or requests submitted via their website. The only way to get any response at all was via an email to the concierge at Casa de Campo. Finally got a response telling me that the email at Altos de Chavon had been down for a couple of weeks. Ignored the fact that I had emailed and called for nearly two months. When I mentioned this, I was given an insulting and demeaning email telling me that I had no right to complain since they were a private company. Needless to say, I will never spend a penny in anything related to Casa de Campo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ALTOS DE CHAVON”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

$25.00 PER PERSON ADMISSION FEE.They do not give you a map or tour!!! This admission fee gives you the privilege to spend more money in the restauarants and shops.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dano612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altos de Chavon also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Altos de Chavon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing