We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE.....VERY Disappointing Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I write this review after being home less than 24 hours from a 5 day stay at this property with my wife. We stayed from March 6-10, 2014 in room 348. It was nearly perfect minus the extremely high 18% tax ON EVERYTHING in addition to the mandatory 10% service charge.

The room was spectacular. Clean, modern, lots of light, spacious with a great view of the teeth of the Dog course. The staff was always kind, helpful and pleasant. The caddies were nice and knowledgeable and offered quite a few good tips.

This place is as advertised. It is an outstanding property with more things to do than some may ever have time for. Elegant yet casual but not the wild toga party crowd. I cannot say enough about the many wonderful people we met, the staff and the high level of service. HOWEVER......

At this price the food simply must improve. It was THE major disappointment of the entire stay and Consistently bad save for the mini burgers at the La Cana Bar. They were quite good.

The first night we relaxed at main bar and had drinks and mini burgers that were outstanding and we hoped indicated good things to come. It wasn’t meant to be. The next morning we had breakfast att the Lago Grill. The fresh juices were the highlight. They were outstanding and fresh and the made to order pancakes were quite good as well although the syrup was a little chilly.

The omelet ingredients were unimaginative at best and down right freshly unfrozen as it related to the spinach. The bacon was razor thin and the sausage tasted old and was dry.

Lunch at Pepperoni was somewhat better but underwhelming as we ordered the Civeche and a bottle of wine. Dinner that night was off property by a gentleman we’d met that day.

Breakfast was the same day two. Lunch at Papa Jacks located at the Altos de Chavon was just more disappointing mediocrity. We ordered grilled fish and a salad. The lettuce was limp and tasteless and the fish was not only a small portion but lacked and depth of flavor and was most likely frozen not long before it came out on our plates.

By this time we were suspecting the fix was in but reserved final opinion as we had made reservations at La Casita on the marina. The setting was nice and again the staff superb. The food was forgettable as we ordered the grilled platter of small but tender lobster, over cooked and tuff shrimp, surprisingly tasty calamari and a mystery vegetable casserole that was completely awful. By this time we decided to just drink.

Fast forward to Dinner of the next night we dined at La Can II by Circo at the main building. I had given up hope of getting fresh seafood from the ocean 300 yards away and chose to order a rib-eye steak med-rare. It came out cooked properly and surprisingly with flavor but at 12 ox pre-cook weight just wasn’t enough. It would have made a great appetizer. My wife ordered fish and Dominican rice and peas which arrived as rice no peas and another poor showing of so called fish.

We will return! We will book an exclusive house go into town and buy our food, stop at the marina and buy FRESH FISH off one of the boats and prepare our own meals on the grill and or the fine Viking equipment found in the villa we chose. Oh yes, we will seek the mini burgers and count ourselves lucky with every encounter of the staff.

Room Tip: A second floor room has tall ceilings and feels more roomy. Better yet get a villa and buy your own...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we do appreciate our guests feedback as this will help us improve our services. We are glad to hear our rooms and activities were up to your standards. Regarding the food we are sorry to hear it did not fulfill your expectations, however some of the restaurants mentioned are privately owned, therefore we have no control over them. I will definitely pass the information along to the corresponding departments for those restaurants that do belong to us. Again we appreciate your feed back and hope you visit us again and use our restaurants so you don’t have a disappointing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were there for the Pro Cigar Festival - for 2 nights. The room was exactly what we look for in a hotel, spacious with a small sofa, king size bed, walk-in closet and large bathroom with 2 sinks, tub and separate shower. We could stretch out and keep the 'stuff' tucked away. The food was good, but pricy so go all inclusive or you will go broke. There is lots of room to lounge around outside and several pools. We were busy so could not take in the amenities but we did go to the large well equipped gym. My other half would like to go back as he did not get a chance to play golf.

Room Tip: All nice but the 2nd floor rooms have cathedral ceilings.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing with is your recent experience with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay while in Casa. It's a shame you were not able to take advantage of all the wonderful amenities the Resort offers. We hope you and your husband join us again, so he can enjoy all our Pete Dye golf courses and you are able to enjoy the pool.

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you and hope to have you as our guest once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have to say I am very pleasantly and favorably surprised in the resort. I have been all over the Caribbean and the resort facilities and especially the staff are one of the best and extremely good. This is a solid Four Star resort that will not disappoint.

Our room was spacious and had a view of the fifth green and slight "peak" at the ocean in the foreground (No rooms on the ocean here--reserved for the golf course!!!) Room staff service was efficient and clean.

Resort staff are great and very helpful, a departure from the typical experience in the Caribbean!!! You get your own golf cart to travel around this massive property.

Definitely add this to the bucket list! This is where the "beautiful people" of DR come and you should too!

Room Tip: Get something away from the pool area.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarienJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beautiful common space. The staff is friendly and attentive. They make a real effort to assist Very good resort restaurants, although I like l Cana better.
AND great golf. The courses are in pristine condition. Very varied. Fast pace of play too.
Excellent value your money. I don't think there is a Caribbean resort that can match it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a memorable trip to Casa De Campo over Christmas. The resort is amazing, beautiful beaches, an awesome recreated old Italian village, dude ranch with polo matches, and a cool new Marina area are just some of the fun things you can find at Casa. This was one of our favorite vacations. We rented a villa that was simple but if you have money to spend, you can stay in a breathtaking Villa, these houses are unbelievable. This resort is expensive to eat at and do activities at but it's like living lifestyles of the rich and famous for a week. We hired an inexpensive housekeeper who did a great job keeping the place clean for us and doing our laundry everyday. You will need your own transportation there as the resort is very large. I recommend renting a car for economics, since it's about $120 each way for a taxi from Punta Cana airport (1 hour ride) and you'll need transportation once in Casa. Or do what we did and take taxi's both ways and rent a golf cart, it's more fun and we enjoyed being car free the whole trip. Def thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillyFallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays at Casa, it seems you were able to explore our entire Resort. Families love opting for villa stays as they are more intimate and can all stay under one roof. On behalf of our entire Casa team thank you and we hope you and your family visit us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Very special place - excellent in every way - accommodation, meals, activities, service. Great place to spend Valentine's Day. Thank you for a memorable experience! No shortage of activities here. Something for everyone. A special treat!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank parkangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Let me start by saying that prior to this visit, I liked the DR - but would not have gone out of my way to plan another trip there. The resorts we had visited in the past were ok, but not spectacular when compared to other beach destinations. We were invited on a group trip to Casa de Campo - and I am so happy that we went. The grounds are fantastic. I loved being able to take the golf cart and explore many parts of the resort. To say that this place is expansive is an understatement - it feels like it goes on forever. There is really no need to ever leave the property. The rooms were nice, the service was great, and most importantly the food was good (Not Michelin rated or anything, but really good for an all inclusive resort especially in the DR). The beach is fantastic - man made, calm waters, soft sand and plenty of room to relax. The beach cabanas are fantastic, and we had a bar and food set up in ours - so there was never a reason to leave. The pool area is nice too, but the bartenders there are extremely slow and I question the cleanliness of the glasses (we watched them "clean" some, and opted for disposable ones instead). The bar in the lobby area was nice, and the service there was fantastic. Altos de Chavon was a beautiful area, and the Italian restaurant there was also quite good.
I would never think of bringing my children to the DR, but I think this resort might be the one exception. There were quite a few families with small children and babies, and the resort felt very safe and family friendly. Other than not being able to strap a carseat to a golf cart safely, I think this would be an option for those traveling with children.
This is a beautiful property, and I would recommend this over any other resort in the DR.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirl955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
36.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,312 reviews
38.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
38.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
37.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
38.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range: $138 - $1,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing