We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hamptons in DR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
DarienJim
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The Hamptons in DR!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have to say I am very pleasantly and favorably surprised in the resort. I have been all over the Caribbean and the resort facilities and especially the staff are one of the best and extremely good. This is a solid Four Star resort that will not disappoint.

Our room was spacious and had a view of the fifth green and slight "peak" at the ocean in the foreground (No rooms on the ocean here--reserved for the golf course!!!) Room staff service was efficient and clean.

Resort staff are great and very helpful, a departure from the typical experience in the Caribbean!!! You get your own golf cart to travel around this massive property.

Definitely add this to the bucket list! This is where the "beautiful people" of DR come and you should too!

Room Tip: Get something away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarienJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    255
    70
    49
    44
See reviews for
289
336
15
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful common space. The staff is friendly and attentive. They make a real effort to assist Very good resort restaurants, although I like l Cana better.
AND great golf. The courses are in pristine condition. Very varied. Fast pace of play too.
Excellent value your money. I don't think there is a Caribbean resort that can match it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a memorable trip to Casa De Campo over Christmas. The resort is amazing, beautiful beaches, an awesome recreated old Italian village, dude ranch with polo matches, and a cool new Marina area are just some of the fun things you can find at Casa. This was one of our favorite vacations. We rented a villa that was simple but if you have money to spend, you can stay in a breathtaking Villa, these houses are unbelievable. This resort is expensive to eat at and do activities at but it's like living lifestyles of the rich and famous for a week. We hired an inexpensive housekeeper who did a great job keeping the place clean for us and doing our laundry everyday. You will need your own transportation there as the resort is very large. I recommend renting a car for economics, since it's about $120 each way for a taxi from Punta Cana airport (1 hour ride) and you'll need transportation once in Casa. Or do what we did and take taxi's both ways and rent a golf cart, it's more fun and we enjoyed being car free the whole trip. Def thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyFallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays at Casa, it seems you were able to explore our entire Resort. Families love opting for villa stays as they are more intimate and can all stay under one roof. On behalf of our entire Casa team thank you and we hope you and your family visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Very special place - excellent in every way - accommodation, meals, activities, service. Great place to spend Valentine's Day. Thank you for a memorable experience! No shortage of activities here. Something for everyone. A special treat!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank parkangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Let me start by saying that prior to this visit, I liked the DR - but would not have gone out of my way to plan another trip there. The resorts we had visited in the past were ok, but not spectacular when compared to other beach destinations. We were invited on a group trip to Casa de Campo - and I am so happy that we went. The grounds are fantastic. I loved being able to take the golf cart and explore many parts of the resort. To say that this place is expansive is an understatement - it feels like it goes on forever. There is really no need to ever leave the property. The rooms were nice, the service was great, and most importantly the food was good (Not Michelin rated or anything, but really good for an all inclusive resort especially in the DR). The beach is fantastic - man made, calm waters, soft sand and plenty of room to relax. The beach cabanas are fantastic, and we had a bar and food set up in ours - so there was never a reason to leave. The pool area is nice too, but the bartenders there are extremely slow and I question the cleanliness of the glasses (we watched them "clean" some, and opted for disposable ones instead). The bar in the lobby area was nice, and the service there was fantastic. Altos de Chavon was a beautiful area, and the Italian restaurant there was also quite good.
I would never think of bringing my children to the DR, but I think this resort might be the one exception. There were quite a few families with small children and babies, and the resort felt very safe and family friendly. Other than not being able to strap a carseat to a golf cart safely, I think this would be an option for those traveling with children.
This is a beautiful property, and I would recommend this over any other resort in the DR.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebron
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It seems every year we go back and something at this great resort gets better. You really cannot compare the price of this hotel with other " similar" all inclusive resorts. The staff ( the ENTIRE STAFF) cannot be more helpful and friendly. They make you feel that you are wanted and that they are happy you came. The food has gotten better ( than again it was never bad ) the menus offer more of a selection, and the golf !!! I have never seen the courses ( Teeth, Links and Dye Fore) in better shape. As a PGA Golf Professional, I highly recommend Casa de Campo. It has everything !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgaprotall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are glad to hear that each year we are able to improve and as a result your stays in Casa have gotten better. Our entire staff thrives to give all our guests the best service possible, we would like to thank you for taking the time and reviewing us. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful day, beautiful facility and pretty golf course, five or six holes run along the ocean. The fairways are wide which results in very few lost balls. You are required to take a Caddy but he was great. which made the day of golf only better. Overall, a nice day of golf and sun. The food was good in the grill also. Seems like a nice place for an extended stay in one of the hotels or villas. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
7.4 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
36.1 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
39.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
39.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
38.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Property: Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing