We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf at Teeth of the Dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful day, beautiful facility and pretty golf course, five or six holes run along the ocean. The fairways are wide which results in very few lost balls. You are required to take a Caddy but he was great. which made the day of golf only better. Overall, a nice day of golf and sun. The food was good in the grill also. Seems like a nice place for an extended stay in one of the hotels or villas. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank marty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Only visited for golf NOT stayed on resort BUT what a fantastic golf venue.
Played all 3 courses in January 2013 - Links was great, Dye Fore (Marina & Chavon 9's) stunning and Teeth of the Dog - as it is ranked, best course in the Caribbean ! I agree.
Stunning layout, mature, immaculate, great caddies (Simon last year and "JJ" - Juan Jones this year) and the place just oozes class and wealth - a real treat just to see some of the properties alongside the course
This year only played Teeth and Dye Fore again (because wanted to try other courses at Punta Cana) and they were as good if not better second time round.
Over 5 rounds over two years have played some on own and some with people been paired up with and from either holidaymakers staying there and from one resident EVERY single one of them has been nice people !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WhiteLionCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

There is a lot to do here:water sports, swimming, golf, polo matches, tennis, equestrian activities and shooting. It is a huge resort, several square miles so be prepared to drive or be driven everywhere but the pool and Tooth of Dog golf shop. Tooth of the Dog golf course are great with maximized ocean views, but this results in mostly no ocean views from the main hotel rooms, pool, or hotel restaurant. One has to drive 15 min in a golf cart to get to beach, and beachside dining, and 20 min to the other golf course. The beach is scenic and nice with services. Best restaurant is Beach Club by Le Cirque, followed by Limoncello and Chinois at the marina. Poolside cocktails are watered down, without fresh juices, but beachside and hotel bar better.Service was respectful and kind but slow and below standards for 5 star resort. Dye Fore course is actually more scenic in my opinion.Mosquitos are an issue. Rooms are very nice and spacious, but beware of pigeons on the roof, they make considerable non stop noise from sunrise to sunset. We had difficulty getting small bill pesos for tips at resort.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in a corner room or other spot where pigeons want to roost, or near intersecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZGTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wonderful place to say the least. The facilities were excellent. Enjoyed the food no matter where ate. Beach was fun and the scenery just gorgeous.
But what we liked most of all was that the resort being so large made it seem that there weren't a lot of people there but we knew different. Hoping to go back again some day

Room Tip: I would say that you couldn't o wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Casa family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We weren't sure what to expect from Casa de Campo, other than nice golf, but it ended up being a wonderful experience from beginning to end with an great variety of things to do. The hotel itself is modern and luxurious throughout (lobby, rooms, restaurants). The pool area was also contemporary with a great swim up bar, music and many cabana-type seating areas offered free of charge. There were a variety of delicious restaurants to choose from, each offering first class food and service. We were given our own golf cart for the duration of our stay allowing us to easily access all the wonderful amenities offered on the massive property. Our main reason for going was to play golf and we were thrilled with both the Teeth of the Dog and the Dye Fore courses. Some of the most stunning courses we have every played. We were so close to the ocean on Teeth of the Dog that we were literally sprayed by the ocean waves!!! We loved heading straight to the Beach Club restaurant for a beautiful lunch on the sand after playing golf. The Marina was fun to visit during the day or at night and offered a very European feel with it's open Piazza type layout surrounded by a variety of restaurants/bars. If you have time, try to go see a polo match. We had never seen one before and found it very exciting to watch. This resort is definitely not just for golfers given the fabulous tennis, equestrian centre, beach club, marina, gym…but if you are a golfer you will be in heaven!!!

Room Tip: If you choose an Elite Balcony Golf View room be sure to ask for the 2nd floor as you will have a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We are glad to hear we were able to surpass your expectations, even though we are well known for our golf, Casa has a variety of activities for everyone in the family. It seems you were able to explore our entire resort and enjoy all we have to offer, on behalf of our entire Casa team we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to have you back real soon as you are already part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Beautiful property. LARGE grounds with plenty of space to run, bike and walk. The beach is small, but very pretty. A very nice feature of Casa de Campo is the relative lack of crowds (even during peak holiday season) as compared to many other resorts. Would definitely return. One very disappointing item to note - the onsite car rental (Alamo) is extremely unreliable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Casa de Camp is surrounded in natural beauty. It's not a flashy resort, but a beautiful Caribbean laid back resort. Beautiful golf course, brown sandy beach. Not much commercialization. The main villae Altos Chavon has some shops and restaurants, but this is the place to enjoy the water, beach, golf and relax. The fresh breakfast every morning is incredible. There is a huge breakfast buffet with all kinds of European and local foods. The strong local coffee con leche was wonderful!!! The staff would get the bananas right from the tree next to the outdoor dining restaurant. Dinners were enjoyable and the ambiance was incredible. Nothing fancy, nothing flashy.
Rode horses on the beach, played golf and relaxed all week. A great place to escape.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
7.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
38.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
34.5 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#8 of 112 in Punta Cana
426 reviews
38.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range: $166 - $1,836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing