We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Golf... hotel room and service not so much for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“World Class Golf... hotel room and service not so much for the price”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Casa de Campo for New Years Eve and were disappointed by the service, the noise and general experience. Firstly, we had a drink at the cocktail bar off the main lobby and waited 20 minutes to get served. Our hotel room was not ready so we teed off at Teeth of the Dog but got ignored by the staff at Teeth of the Dog and ended up carrying our own clubs up the hill to reception. We had dinner at the main restaurant that was recommended by the Concierge, it ended up being buffet and we ended up having dinner with a bunch of brattyentitled kids running around out of control and their Xanaxed parents... it was not the romantic dinner for 2 that we were hoping for. I'm sure that there was something more along those lines esp at Alto de Chavon that we weren't referred to by the Concierge, the buffet dinner with bratty entitiled families was not what we were looking for. We ended up not sleeping well as the hotel rooms on the driving range are not well insulated... you can hear every cart that drives by and fireworks went off at 12, 2am and 4am. We had room service for breakfast and we only received 1 set of cutlery, the order was wrong... we just gave up. For the price of the room, the service was VERY poor. I was longing to get back to our resort in Dominicus and away from the bratty kids, noise. The resort is fantastic, over the top wealthy but everything costs a lot of $$. We should have just gone back to our resort in Dominicus, 15 min away for the night... it would have save us big time bucks and been a better time for NYE. The golf is out of this world with Teeth of the Dog and Dye For... I found Dye For equally or more as good as Teeth of the Dog esp with dramatic views of Alto de Chavon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saragil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review, we always like to know the experience our guest had in order to better our service, we will make sure to forward this to the corresponding areas for appropriate handling.

We are glad to hear you loved playing on our golf courses and hope you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    266
    77
    52
    47
See reviews for
331
357
20
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After staying here in 2012 we came back in 2013 and it was as good as I thought the first time. World class golf; amazingly fantastic restaurant choices; top notch service; great bars and chill atmosphere. Private, and exclusive and no need to leave the 7,000 acre property. beach, pool, shooting range, polo and more. And there is a sailing school on property if you bring your kids and you want to keep them busy all day. Love this place. A camp for grown ups.

Room Tip: The rooms are great. Ask for one overlooking the course or ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

excellent accomodations, great food and service, especially at la casita at the marina..great food and service...all the other restaurants always are first class.. Lunches at Lago grill are awesome..The pool is relaxing, and the golf is great at all courses except the Lagos course..great venue for golf trips, if you are looking for a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pard76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This resort was fantastic. Recently renovated, spacious rooms, friendly staff and golf that was out of the world. It is very spread out. You get your own golf cart to get around but it's not like you walk out your door and are at the beach. Relax, enjoy the ride in the golf cart. I am not sure how it would be rated by a non golfer but we are both avid golfers and had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenJupiter_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and our golf courses so much. When you visit Casa again make sure to have our full Sporting Life experience, with Tennis, Sporting Clay and horseback riding.

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to have you back soon as you are already part of our Casa family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I made our fourth trip to Casa De Campo in October and spent 10 days on an All Inclusive Golf package. The resort is more beautiful than ever, very safe, and only a short trip from the La Romana airport.

We stayed in an elite balcony room overlooking the driving range. The room was large, spotless, and the view to the Caribbean in the distance was very relaxing. The Housekeeping staff was excellent and kept everything clean and fresh the entire time we were there.

October is a "shoulder" season, and the resort was very quiet. There were days when we had "Teeth of The Dog" to ourselves, but don't pass up an opportunity to play The Links and Dye Fore. The fairways are so wide that it must take all day to mow just one of them. Trust me, it is almost impossible to slice one out of bounds.
We had our caddies Jacob and lionel for all 8 rounds and they were a tremendous help with the intricacies of the course, and were fun guys to be around. Excellent course conditions on all 3 courses allowed this 17 handicapper to break 80 ! Just wish there were more people so we could have been paired with other twosomes.

We shot skeet and sporting clays - if you take a lesson, make sure the instructor can speak English. The SC course can be as difficult as you want it to be. Just let them know.

I was disappointed that most of the entrees in the restaurants had $5-10 surcharges for all inclusive dining - Understand that things cost a bit more, but why not just add it in the overall charge ? We thought this was in poor taste. Dining was fun and very tasty, especially at the Minitas Beach restaurant. Be sure to try them All !!

We will be back again. The golf is simply spectacular, the staff professional and tuned in to your needs, and the 4 person carts give you freedom to go wherever you want. But do ALL INCLUSIVE - 28 percent tax and surcharge on everything you eat and drink.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a second floor balcony room - great breezes and much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is what you call a luxury resort!! I can not rave enough about Casa De Campo. I stayed here this past December leading into New Years. I must say it was one of the most enjoyable experiences I've had. I went with a group of friends & family, we shared a beautiful villa and had the time of our lives. The staff was wonderful, they went above and beyond to take care of our every need. We had 2 chefs, a maid and a nanny; the language barrier proved to be a bit of a challenge with the chefs but they were still able to wow us everyday with delicious meals.

The resort is pretty massive and has a lot of activities to do. The guys went golfing everyday while the rest of us found different ways to do much of nothing :) One activity we all took part in was the horseback riding, which was pretty awesome. On new years eve we went to the big celebratory dinner followed by the beach party with fireworks.

If you are looking for a great place to get away and just be in your own world...stay here. One word of advice, the hotel food is very pricey so if you have the luxury of staying in one of the villas as I did purchase your groceries off property.

I can't wait to go back next month!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyNY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this amazing review, we are glad to hear your experience while staying with us was a great one. We hope that this year you and the entire family are able to experience The Sporting Life in Casa and try all our sporting activities. Be sure to check on the Resort and Altos de Chavon activities as this upcoming month is filled with amazing events for the entire family. Again we thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to having you back in Casa, as you are already part of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just a few nights ago, I returned from Casa de Campo where I had the pleasure of spending 5 nights preparing for and then managing the experiences of one of my corporate clients during their time at the resort.

Casa de Campo is located in a breathtaking 7,000 acre setting. There was something for everyone in our group to do from horse riding to golf to beach to shooting. I went riding almost every day with Rafael and there was no shortage of places to explore on the back of Caffesita on the first day and Clara on the other 3 days. These well trained and obedient horses provided such a smooth ride at a trot that posting was not even necessary. They smoothly transitioned from a walk to a canter.

Our group enjoyed a delicious buffet at Lago Grill upon arrival and a welcome reception at the lounge in front of La Cana. The group dinner on Friday night was in the gazebos at The Beach Club by Le Cirque, a truly enchanting setting right on the beach. Portions at all meals were very generous and the cuisine was outstanding.

The group particularly enjoyed the opportunity to watch world class polo at the Whiskey and Polo event, a 6 chukka game featuring Nacho Figueras with non-stop action. There was an opportunity to sample Blue Label whiskey by Johnnie Walker throughout the event.

Nacho Figueras and Leo Matos, Enrique Bonetti and Alex Schad, his teammates wearing the navy Blue Label jerseys, won with a score of 11-9 win over the Casa de Campo team with Cali Garcia-Velez, Luis Paniagua, Julio Lopez and Anton Tejeda. After the award ceremony, as the sun set, Nacho mingled with the crowd and there were ample opportunities for photos.

For a change of pace, groups can head to Altos de Chavon, a replica of a medieval Italian town or the Marina that has an ambiance like Portofino.

I worked closely with Betty Medina to plan the group's time at the resort and she provided professional services that ensured that everything was executed without a hitch. Staff was helpful and professional.

Room Tip: You can select from spacious hotel rooms in low rise buildings overlooking the golf course or villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annethornleybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for such a wonderful review, it seems you truly took advantage of all activities the Resort has to offer. We are glad you were able to enjoy such an amazing Polo Match like the one we had. We will certainly go ahead and share your feedback with Betty Medina, on behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you and hope you will visit us soon as you are already part of the Casa family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
36.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,287 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
38.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
37.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
38.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Property: Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing