We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing golf resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This resort was fantastic. Recently renovated, spacious rooms, friendly staff and golf that was out of the world. It is very spread out. You get your own golf cart to get around but it's not like you walk out your door and are at the beach. Relax, enjoy the ride in the golf cart. I am not sure how it would be rated by a non golfer but we are both avid golfers and had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenJupiter_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and our golf courses so much. When you visit Casa again make sure to have our full Sporting Life experience, with Tennis, Sporting Clay and horseback riding.

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to have you back soon as you are already part of our Casa family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I made our fourth trip to Casa De Campo in October and spent 10 days on an All Inclusive Golf package. The resort is more beautiful than ever, very safe, and only a short trip from the La Romana airport.

We stayed in an elite balcony room overlooking the driving range. The room was large, spotless, and the view to the Caribbean in the distance was very relaxing. The Housekeeping staff was excellent and kept everything clean and fresh the entire time we were there.

October is a "shoulder" season, and the resort was very quiet. There were days when we had "Teeth of The Dog" to ourselves, but don't pass up an opportunity to play The Links and Dye Fore. The fairways are so wide that it must take all day to mow just one of them. Trust me, it is almost impossible to slice one out of bounds.
We had our caddies Jacob and lionel for all 8 rounds and they were a tremendous help with the intricacies of the course, and were fun guys to be around. Excellent course conditions on all 3 courses allowed this 17 handicapper to break 80 ! Just wish there were more people so we could have been paired with other twosomes.

We shot skeet and sporting clays - if you take a lesson, make sure the instructor can speak English. The SC course can be as difficult as you want it to be. Just let them know.

I was disappointed that most of the entrees in the restaurants had $5-10 surcharges for all inclusive dining - Understand that things cost a bit more, but why not just add it in the overall charge ? We thought this was in poor taste. Dining was fun and very tasty, especially at the Minitas Beach restaurant. Be sure to try them All !!

We will be back again. The golf is simply spectacular, the staff professional and tuned in to your needs, and the 4 person carts give you freedom to go wherever you want. But do ALL INCLUSIVE - 28 percent tax and surcharge on everything you eat and drink.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a second floor balcony room - great breezes and much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is what you call a luxury resort!! I can not rave enough about Casa De Campo. I stayed here this past December leading into New Years. I must say it was one of the most enjoyable experiences I've had. I went with a group of friends & family, we shared a beautiful villa and had the time of our lives. The staff was wonderful, they went above and beyond to take care of our every need. We had 2 chefs, a maid and a nanny; the language barrier proved to be a bit of a challenge with the chefs but they were still able to wow us everyday with delicious meals.

The resort is pretty massive and has a lot of activities to do. The guys went golfing everyday while the rest of us found different ways to do much of nothing :) One activity we all took part in was the horseback riding, which was pretty awesome. On new years eve we went to the big celebratory dinner followed by the beach party with fireworks.

If you are looking for a great place to get away and just be in your own world...stay here. One word of advice, the hotel food is very pricey so if you have the luxury of staying in one of the villas as I did purchase your groceries off property.

I can't wait to go back next month!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyNY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for writing this amazing review, we are glad to hear your experience while staying with us was a great one. We hope that this year you and the entire family are able to experience The Sporting Life in Casa and try all our sporting activities. Be sure to check on the Resort and Altos de Chavon activities as this upcoming month is filled with amazing events for the entire family. Again we thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to having you back in Casa, as you are already part of the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just a few nights ago, I returned from Casa de Campo where I had the pleasure of spending 5 nights preparing for and then managing the experiences of one of my corporate clients during their time at the resort.

Casa de Campo is located in a breathtaking 7,000 acre setting. There was something for everyone in our group to do from horse riding to golf to beach to shooting. I went riding almost every day with Rafael and there was no shortage of places to explore on the back of Caffesita on the first day and Clara on the other 3 days. These well trained and obedient horses provided such a smooth ride at a trot that posting was not even necessary. They smoothly transitioned from a walk to a canter.

Our group enjoyed a delicious buffet at Lago Grill upon arrival and a welcome reception at the lounge in front of La Cana. The group dinner on Friday night was in the gazebos at The Beach Club by Le Cirque, a truly enchanting setting right on the beach. Portions at all meals were very generous and the cuisine was outstanding.

The group particularly enjoyed the opportunity to watch world class polo at the Whiskey and Polo event, a 6 chukka game featuring Nacho Figueras with non-stop action. There was an opportunity to sample Blue Label whiskey by Johnnie Walker throughout the event.

Nacho Figueras and Leo Matos, Enrique Bonetti and Alex Schad, his teammates wearing the navy Blue Label jerseys, won with a score of 11-9 win over the Casa de Campo team with Cali Garcia-Velez, Luis Paniagua, Julio Lopez and Anton Tejeda. After the award ceremony, as the sun set, Nacho mingled with the crowd and there were ample opportunities for photos.

For a change of pace, groups can head to Altos de Chavon, a replica of a medieval Italian town or the Marina that has an ambiance like Portofino.

I worked closely with Betty Medina to plan the group's time at the resort and she provided professional services that ensured that everything was executed without a hitch. Staff was helpful and professional.

Room Tip: You can select from spacious hotel rooms in low rise buildings overlooking the golf course or villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annethornleybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We would like to thank you for such a wonderful review, it seems you truly took advantage of all activities the Resort has to offer. We are glad you were able to enjoy such an amazing Polo Match like the one we had. We will certainly go ahead and share your feedback with Betty Medina, on behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you and hope you will visit us soon as you are already part of the Casa family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Where to start….upon arrival you are immediately greeted with the highest level of professionalism, even the maids treat you as loyalty!!

The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, the layout is also very convenient and well designed. Your rooms are made shortly after you leave in the morning and turndown promptly completed upon your return after dinner.

The food is great all places we enjoyed, my favorite (La Casita) by the Marina, their service is grand.

The pool and beach are clean and always with room available for seating, the service at both also present, you will not be left unattended.

The staff is very friendly and very attentive, no request is to big for them, concierge will go out of their way to please each and every one of their clients.

I would definitely call and make this my home away from home, and highly recommend as well return.

Until next time CASA DE CAMPO!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velezmedez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

When built this was no doubt amazing and many of its aspects still are. But the hotel is not on the beach, the beach (which you have to drive to) is just ok especially relative to other beaches in the DR. The rooms are very nice and the service is great. The food is good but not great. But the spa is spectacular. This is the second time I have gone and while very, very nice, I feel that there are other, better options. Unless of course you are a golfer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nowitsmillertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The property is ginormous even after staying at the Hard Rock in Punta Cana. To make it easier for guests, they give each room their own golf cart which is not only efficient but super fun! The room was very spacious with a sitting area, balcony or patio, large bathroom and a nice walk in closet. L'Occitane amenities are always a fave of mine. Internet was great, never had any issues.

I highly recommend getting the all inclusive plan if you are not staying in a villa. The restaurants there are fantastic and also pricey. One of their restaurants is the sister restaurant of Le Cirque in NYC. For the meals we ate, the all inclusive was more than worth it.

The beach is definitely small for the size of the property. Since we were there during low season it wasn't an issue but I could see it being one during busier times. We loved driving the cart out to the marina and the little village. Absolutely adorable! There was a lot to do besides just going to the beach which we enjoyed.

Staff was friendly but we sometimes got the feeling like we were bothering them. Again, it was low season and some areas of the village were completely dead and employees were aware of this. But at the resort, there were times we walked by employees and were completely ignored. Not something I would expect from a Leading Hotel of the World. Despite this, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissBabblicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We would like to first of all thank you for taking the time and writing a review, we appreciate all our guests feed back. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Casa and that you were able to explore the entire property while having a blast on the touring carts. We are surprised to hear that our staff was not as welcoming as that is one of the things we get the most praises on, but nevertheless we will forward this information to the appropriate department in order to address it. We hope you come back to Casa and as you are already part of the family, on behalf of our entire staff thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
38.5 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
7.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
38.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
36.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 113 in Punta Cana
4,436 reviews
38.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range: $188 - $1,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing