We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort & Experience!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort & Experience!!!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is what you call a luxury resort!! I can not rave enough about Casa De Campo. I stayed here this past December leading into New Years. I must say it was one of the most enjoyable experiences I've had. I went with a group of friends & family, we shared a beautiful villa and had the time of our lives. The staff was wonderful, they went above and beyond to take care of our every need. We had 2 chefs, a maid and a nanny; the language barrier proved to be a bit of a challenge with the chefs but they were still able to wow us everyday with delicious meals.

The resort is pretty massive and has a lot of activities to do. The guys went golfing everyday while the rest of us found different ways to do much of nothing :) One activity we all took part in was the horseback riding, which was pretty awesome. On new years eve we went to the big celebratory dinner followed by the beach party with fireworks.

If you are looking for a great place to get away and just be in your own world...stay here. One word of advice, the hotel food is very pricey so if you have the luxury of staying in one of the villas as I did purchase your groceries off property.

I can't wait to go back next month!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyNY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this amazing review, we are glad to hear your experience while staying with us was a great one. We hope that this year you and the entire family are able to experience The Sporting Life in Casa and try all our sporting activities. Be sure to check on the Resort and Altos de Chavon activities as this upcoming month is filled with amazing events for the entire family. Again we thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to having you back in Casa, as you are already part of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    264
    75
    52
    46
See reviews for
317
354
18
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just a few nights ago, I returned from Casa de Campo where I had the pleasure of spending 5 nights preparing for and then managing the experiences of one of my corporate clients during their time at the resort.

Casa de Campo is located in a breathtaking 7,000 acre setting. There was something for everyone in our group to do from horse riding to golf to beach to shooting. I went riding almost every day with Rafael and there was no shortage of places to explore on the back of Caffesita on the first day and Clara on the other 3 days. These well trained and obedient horses provided such a smooth ride at a trot that posting was not even necessary. They smoothly transitioned from a walk to a canter.

Our group enjoyed a delicious buffet at Lago Grill upon arrival and a welcome reception at the lounge in front of La Cana. The group dinner on Friday night was in the gazebos at The Beach Club by Le Cirque, a truly enchanting setting right on the beach. Portions at all meals were very generous and the cuisine was outstanding.

The group particularly enjoyed the opportunity to watch world class polo at the Whiskey and Polo event, a 6 chukka game featuring Nacho Figueras with non-stop action. There was an opportunity to sample Blue Label whiskey by Johnnie Walker throughout the event.

Nacho Figueras and Leo Matos, Enrique Bonetti and Alex Schad, his teammates wearing the navy Blue Label jerseys, won with a score of 11-9 win over the Casa de Campo team with Cali Garcia-Velez, Luis Paniagua, Julio Lopez and Anton Tejeda. After the award ceremony, as the sun set, Nacho mingled with the crowd and there were ample opportunities for photos.

For a change of pace, groups can head to Altos de Chavon, a replica of a medieval Italian town or the Marina that has an ambiance like Portofino.

I worked closely with Betty Medina to plan the group's time at the resort and she provided professional services that ensured that everything was executed without a hitch. Staff was helpful and professional.

Room Tip: You can select from spacious hotel rooms in low rise buildings overlooking the golf course or villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annethornleybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for such a wonderful review, it seems you truly took advantage of all activities the Resort has to offer. We are glad you were able to enjoy such an amazing Polo Match like the one we had. We will certainly go ahead and share your feedback with Betty Medina, on behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you and hope you will visit us soon as you are already part of the Casa family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Where to start….upon arrival you are immediately greeted with the highest level of professionalism, even the maids treat you as loyalty!!

The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, the layout is also very convenient and well designed. Your rooms are made shortly after you leave in the morning and turndown promptly completed upon your return after dinner.

The food is great all places we enjoyed, my favorite (La Casita) by the Marina, their service is grand.

The pool and beach are clean and always with room available for seating, the service at both also present, you will not be left unattended.

The staff is very friendly and very attentive, no request is to big for them, concierge will go out of their way to please each and every one of their clients.

I would definitely call and make this my home away from home, and highly recommend as well return.

Until next time CASA DE CAMPO!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velezmedez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

When built this was no doubt amazing and many of its aspects still are. But the hotel is not on the beach, the beach (which you have to drive to) is just ok especially relative to other beaches in the DR. The rooms are very nice and the service is great. The food is good but not great. But the spa is spectacular. This is the second time I have gone and while very, very nice, I feel that there are other, better options. Unless of course you are a golfer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nowitsmillertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The property is ginormous even after staying at the Hard Rock in Punta Cana. To make it easier for guests, they give each room their own golf cart which is not only efficient but super fun! The room was very spacious with a sitting area, balcony or patio, large bathroom and a nice walk in closet. L'Occitane amenities are always a fave of mine. Internet was great, never had any issues.

I highly recommend getting the all inclusive plan if you are not staying in a villa. The restaurants there are fantastic and also pricey. One of their restaurants is the sister restaurant of Le Cirque in NYC. For the meals we ate, the all inclusive was more than worth it.

The beach is definitely small for the size of the property. Since we were there during low season it wasn't an issue but I could see it being one during busier times. We loved driving the cart out to the marina and the little village. Absolutely adorable! There was a lot to do besides just going to the beach which we enjoyed.

Staff was friendly but we sometimes got the feeling like we were bothering them. Again, it was low season and some areas of the village were completely dead and employees were aware of this. But at the resort, there were times we walked by employees and were completely ignored. Not something I would expect from a Leading Hotel of the World. Despite this, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissBabblicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We would like to first of all thank you for taking the time and writing a review, we appreciate all our guests feed back. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Casa and that you were able to explore the entire property while having a blast on the touring carts. We are surprised to hear that our staff was not as welcoming as that is one of the things we get the most praises on, but nevertheless we will forward this information to the appropriate department in order to address it. We hope you come back to Casa and as you are already part of the family, on behalf of our entire staff thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were excited about our first visit to Casa de Campo and had high expectations. I have to say that without a doubt every aspect on our experience while at Casa exceeded our expectations (staff, facility, service, food beverages and hospitality)!

We could not have had a better place to spend a week with our daughter and her family! Only regret we have is that we did not have more time to stay and take advantage of all that Casa offers to its guests!

“Thank You” for a great experience on our first, but certainly not our last, visit to the Dominican Republic and Casa de Campo!

Room Tip: Strongly suggest anyone that is going consider the "All Inclusive" plan. You won't reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review. We are thrilled to hear your stay at Casa was all you hoped it would be. Our Resort is definitely oriented towards family, so you picked the perfect place to spend some quality time. On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank for all your praises and we hope you visit us real soon as you are already part of our Casa family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Casa de Campo has 7,000 acres of property and 20 billionaires -- yes, that's with a 'B,' folks -- own property here. The Kardashians vacationed here, Drake filmed his 'Started from the bottom now I'm here...' music video here, the Beebs has stayed here, etc., etc. It's an off-the-grid, serene and sanitized bubble to experience gorgeous Dominican Republic weather and get beachy. The hotel, meanwhile, is very reasonably priced and more for the "every day" normal traveler. If you're a golfer, Teeth of the Dog is ranked #34 in the world and #1 in Latin America, so that's a big draw. The one thing some people don't realize is that pretty much everything is man made, including the village, which looks like it's plucked right out of Europe. On one hand, that's really cool and impressive. On the other hand, that's why there are some limitations (like a smaller beach, per one reviewer's complaint). I'd recommend it for anyone who wants to visit the DR and just be stress-free and safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christiegriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
39.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
38.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
7.4 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,238 reviews
37.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
38.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Property: Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing