We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time and better than ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This resort is really hitting it's stride. It has always had a beautiful setting and great golf courses, including Teeth of the Dog, rated on everyone's Top 100 list of the World's Best Golf Courses. About 5 or 6 years ago they renovated what were tired rooms and the central restaurant/pool area. On this trip we noticed that the service of the staff had been elevated a notch. Very attentive without being imposing, everyone went out of their way to assist in every way. The food here is always very good with the exception of the Chinese restaurant, Chinois. All their other restaurants put out food much better than what you typically get an all inclusive. And the breakfast buffet is excellent with eggs, pancakes, smoothies all freshly made for you. And of course, Antonio is always there to fill your coffee. Golf courses were also in excellent condition and the caddies do a very good job. Finally, with the new highway between Punta Cana and La Romana this is now a very quick 40-50 minute drive, compared with what used to be an almost two hour trip. And Jet Blue flies into La Romana one day a week which is only ten minutes away and a very small and manageable airport. Overall this is a great place to spend a week to get away from winter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlynnDog05495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to write the review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We strive to give our guests the best service and we are glad you liked the hotels renovation. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you and we hope to have you with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and i just got back from a Carolina's Golf Association golf tournament--more fun than tournament--with 48 people. The resort is just outstanding. The service couldnt have been any better--all of the staff bent over backwards to do anything the could for you. The restaurants are first class and the golf courses are world class. As for advice I would recomment the beach club over the pool--get there a little early or a bit late as they are less crowded at these times. Also I recommend the restaurant at the beach club. These were our favorites--which we discovered on our last day--wish it would have been the first--we would have spent most of our free time at the beach and eaten at the beach club more often. You should probable take about $20 for tipping each day in addition to arrival and departure tipping. Also make reservations for dinner in advance by contacting the concierge at the hotel via email. I can be a little intimidating when you arrive at Punta Cana airport but the porters are very helpful--dont think they are trying to take advantage of you--get one and he will get your bags and lead you through all of the checkpoints and all the way to your transportation--if you go--!!ENJOY!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing time here at Casa! We do our best to keep all our guests happy while staying with us and are glad you enjoyed our restaurants so much. We hope to welcome you in the future and enjoy our repeat guest Resort Credit. On behalf of our entire Casa staff thank you and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at Casa de Campo. It couldn't have been nicer. The resort has undergone a complete renovation and we were happy with almost every aspect. The room was light, clean and came with multiple servicing that kept it picked and well stocked. The golf courses are all beautiful, interesting, and very different. The restaurants on the all inclusive package were all good. We really liked the Casita in the marina and La Piiasetta in the Alta village. The only improvements to the whole experience would be a better lunch choice in the Lago Grill and a better lunch selection at the Alta golf Course. The staff was well trained and helpful although sometimes you might have a problem finding someone with English. I don't remember that on our trips before. Take plenty of ones and fives for tips and you will have a great trip with great service!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been going to Casa for 20 years...while it is still the beautiful property it has always been, there are changes going on. We decided to rent privately this year, as opposed to going through the resort, since the prices have risen considerately. We rented an absolutely wonderful, 3 bedroom golf villa on the first tee of Teeth of the Dog. You are now charged a $20.00 per day, per person, resort fee, which entitles you beach access. I asked if the rafts were included, which, in the past, always were...yes, of course, any non motorized is included...so I was told. When we checked out, the rafts were charged to my account at $10.00 per day...when we told them we were told they were included, we were told we should have read the paper with the inclusions...a paper we were never given.
Renting privately, you are not given the option of the all-inclusive program...which, for some of us, is fine since some are not big drinkers, or eaters. The food prices have gone up and so have the drink prices....
Next, the golf prices....if you rent through the company, you get one golf price, if you rent privately, there is another price...if the owner makes your tee time, another price, and if you play with the owner, another price again.....
While I still love the location and the weather, I think we'll be finding another resort for next winter. I feel the management is starting to nickel and dime people to death, and are almost making it impossible to rent privately. The golf courses were empty, and for peak season, this used to be unheard of.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelorPhila_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've vacationed at Casa de Campo four times now with family. We've stayed in the main hotel, rented Villas through the resort, and the last time booked a Villa directly with the owner. Each time we go CDC gets better and better. From the wonderful golf courses, restaurants, marina, Altos de Chavon (a medieval village overlooking the Chavon River), and beach, there is plenty to do and not enough time to do it all! You don't have to be a golfer to enjoy this resort... they also have stables, polo, a shooting center, shopping, and a spa too. It's perfect for families and also couples. We'll definitely go back again!

Room Tip: If you are considering renting a villa through the resort, you may want to consider renting directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharbear412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are thrilled to hear you and your family have enjoyed all your stays here with us. You are indeed part of the Casa family. There is no denying you have had the full experience, from all our activities, restaurants and different accommodations. On behalf of our entire team, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Idyllic resort...The overall impression is of peace and quiet. Because of the vastness of the complex is it so uncrowded most of the people you pass are gardeners and security guards.. the gardens are beautifully kept. A rather long buggy ride to the beach but fun , as soon as you arrive you have your sun beds set up. The restaurant Beach Club is fantastic, especially at sundown for the views. Lunch is the best meal when you have a whole grilled fish.
La Cana by the pool is good too, personnel charming and professional (as all in the resort).
Last but not least the Lago Grill for breakfast, where I must mention our coffee man Antonio.
Room service excellent and bedding very comfortable.
Golfs beautifully kept. Dye Fore near the river, must mention Kelvin our caddy who shown us minute birds and an iguana.
Teeth of the dog is out of this world. A hello to our caddy Jose Manuel, a very polite young man and with a good eye, Jacques nearly had a whole in won, missed by an inch, thank heavens..

Arriving at reception to check out full of smiles to be greeted by the receptionists Louisa and Victor no smiles

“Sorry but we will have to charge you the amount of your stay as we have not received payment from your travel agency” !!!

Makes you feel like cheap, unwelcome guests trying to avoid paying !

We cannot call out agency as it is 8 p m French time. Hands tied. !!

Yes, they know the agency, “They have always paid. They have not answered our emails. The manager says we must charge your credit card to the full amount of your stay. When we receive payment from the agency we will reimburse you ”.

We were so shocked. Showed the receipt from our agency . (which they photo copied). To no avail. My husband refused to sign. We would contact our agency on arrival . Louisa agreed to wait until they received a call from me within 24hours before debiting our account.

On arrival in France from the airport I called out travel agent who was shocked at the behavior of a 5 star (leading hotels of the world). So true.

I called Louisa as promised “Sorry madam, we have charged your credit card in US$ but we have reimbursed you of the same amount !” As soon as we left they debited our account… and then found or received the payment of the vouchers..


What a feeling, crushed and lied to ; such a sad end to our holiday.

We will see if we have exchange rate expenses from dollars to Euros but that is besides the point.

This is the first time in my life I have written a complaint (70 years old) and I feel like crying to have been so insulted.

Room Tip: golf lodge room less expensive but no view of sea nor golf. but for the difference in price I was ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank di r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are happy you had such an amazing time while staying with us, you truly had the full experience.

We are sorry your stay ended like this, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, however these are our policies with the travel agencies. We do apologize, that because of your agencies late payment you and your husband had to go through this difficult moment, and are glad the situation was resolved. We hope to welcome you in the future and enjoy our repeat guest Resort Credit.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

went with a group of 18 friends and not 1 complaint from any of us.the BEST and most enjoyable expierience was the pleasure of meeting Yunoir Romeo at the beach club bar.his service was above and beyond and we all felt instantly like we had found a friend the entire staff grounds resort and food could not have been better we all highly recommend this paradise

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
38.5 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
7.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
36.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,364 reviews
34.5 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#8 of 112 in Punta Cana
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range: $168 - $1,899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing