We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a Good Start” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Campo Re

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Campo Re
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a Good Start”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have a special birthday celebration booked with my wife at Casa de Campo (leaving in 2 days). When I noticed they have reduced the rates (same room) I called and asked if we could get the new rate. They said absolutely not my rate is what I booked. When I pointed out that the difference is about $500 over the stay I asked for some type of "good faith" gesture (credit, spa, dinner, etc.) they said "NO". I was shocked considering I had already ordered a bottle of champagne and fresh flowers to be in the room upon arrival. Not exactly the best customer service....too late to cancel but at least now I know what to expect when I get there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Nelson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Director General at Casa de Campo Re, responded to this review, October 7, 2015
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay at Casa de Campo. We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced before arriving. We will share your comments with our management department and work to improve our services since our main goal is to enssure our guest’s satisfaction

We reiterate your gratitude and hope that this situation does not stop you from coming to Casa de Campo based that we would like to have the opportunity to change your perspective about our services.

Best Regards,
Daniel Hernandez
General Manager
Casa de Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    221
    63
    40
    40
See reviews for
233
261
12
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed at several 5 star resorts in the past few years. The level of service at Casa De Campo was better than anywhere i've stayed before. Incredible service, incredible food, and an incredible experience! Enough activities for a 2 week stay adults and kids. I was pleasently surprised at the level of security also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the time you pull into the community, you will be amazed you're in the DR. From the resort itself, to the golf courses, to the cool pool, to the work-out area, to the beach to the little town on the property with a magnificiant marina, there's not much to desire. i suggest grabbing a golf cart or moped to get around the property, or your car. The hotel, beach, courses, and marina are relatively spread out. The homes on the property are "lifestyles of the rich and famous". The house we stayed in had a full time staff and has seen celebrities from the Jonas brothers to JayZ and Beyonce. Cool spot on the island with amazing views and a lot of chill. The only warning is to stay on property. The drive to get there from the airport takes about an hour and the areas around are a little sketchy. But there is literally no reason to leave - the property has it all. Definitely play golf here - you'll think you're at Pebble Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dominican Republic is beautiful and the people are very nice. One of my favorite people in the world, Nina, lives in La Romana with her family and two children. We rented a house in the community and it was exactly what you would see in a movie. Super cool pools. Ocean views that are just amazing. The marina is a very cool area with a few good restaurants and some nice shopping. The marina area is very clean and classy. Rent golf carts to get around the community.

Room Tip: Make sure to rent a golf cart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemst, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family and I found paradise on earth.
What a great place.
The service was outstanding.
The room are huge.
The complex is safe and secure.
The diversity of thing to do i enormous.
At first I was skeptical about booking this resort due to the long distance from our home and it's vast size, numerous rooms and villas. I am SO glad that we stayed at the resort and we will be planning a return in the near future if time allows us of course.

Room Tip: all the room are good. We were in hotel rooms 141 and 145 not 140 as the exterior ice machine is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KoenLecluyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a beautiful place, fun to be at, a little off the beaten path but wonderful overall. They've cleared out all the animals to make way for the humans, so don't expect to see monkeys or anything beyond the occasional lizard. If you want wildlife go to Costa Rica.

This place is very expensive as you are basically stuck on their resort, so expect to pay out the nose for everything from breakfast to beer.

The staff is friendly, well-meaning and for the most part well-trained, but service is not exactly snappy - room service takes a long time and you can be waiting for your check for quite a while at some of the restaurants. I guess they just figure you're not in a hurry, and I suppose for the most part you aren't. We were woken up at 1am by some of the staff having somewhat loud conversations with each other, and then again by one of their trucks they left idling at 1:48am outside our room. Nevertheless despite these nits I do recommend this place. It's a 5 star resort with 4 star service which overall is very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank specadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

At first I was skeptical about booking this resort due to it's vast size, numerous rooms and villas and what I perceived to be less than quaint- which I prefer. I am SO glad that I stayed at the resort and we will be planning a return in the near future. I typically travel to small, luxury boutique resorts and tend to love personalized service- Casa has some of the best service I have ever experienced. The rooms come with a golf cart so you are free to drive all over the 7,000 acre resort and roam where you want. The food was very good, the grounds were amazing as was EVERY staff person we encountered. Although the resort is huge there are so many different areas to experience (pool, beach, golf,marina, shooting range, horse stable) we never felt crowded. We flew into La Romana which I would recommend and we were at the resort 10 minutes later. If you have reservations about staying at Casa JUST DO IT you will not regret your decision.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Viveutvivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
38.6 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
16.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
7.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana
Dreams La Romana
#2 of 14 in Bayahibe
4.5 of 5 stars 8,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
39.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
34.4 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#37 of 107 in Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Re? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Re

Property: Casa de Campo Re
Address: Carretera Principal, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Campo Re 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean - Casa de Campo - a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including a private beach, expansive marina, tennis and polo facilities, and three championship golf courses - including Pete Dye's masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, number 1 in Caribbean and 52 in the world. And, if all this still isn't enough, Casa de Campo contains a full-size replica of a 16th-century Mediterranean village and amphitheater, filled with art, history, and cute little European-style cafes. More than 20 restaurants and 15 bars and lounges at Casa de Campo offer a dizzying number of ways to unwind or enjoy meals. Feel like a kid again, driving your golf cart to move within the resort. You will have much more fun than anywhere else! But more than anything, Casa de Campo is a state of mind and a way of life rather than just a mark on the map. For new guests, we welcome you to experience our warm hospitality. And for those who have already experienced our incredible resort, we can't wait to welcome you back. Daily cleaning service, included in your room rate. Complimentary 4-passenger golf cart. Separate bathroom with glass-enclosed shower. Even a relaxing bathtub and private lavatory. Front desk and concierge services 24 hours, 7 days a week. We strive as much as possible to make our casa, your casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa de Campo Re reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing