We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Bungalow with terrace and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bungalow with terrace and garden
Living Room Living area with view to the terrace and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Bungalow with terrace and garden
Living Room
Living area with view to the terrace and garden
bedroom
Kitchen area
Pool area and gazebo
Beach 150m from the property
Bathroom
Aerial view, property circled in red
Owner Family
Main Building
Free bicycle inside Costambar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Venture64...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This bungalow was literally a couple of minutes away from the beach. There was also a pool available to us which was amazing. It gets hot, we had to stay in the bedroom to feel the air conditioner, but that's expected. The hosts were VERY helpful, accessible, and was willing to answer our questions and provide suggestions which was so amazing because it was our first time and we didn't know anything. Also, they were looking out for us, told the driver if we didn't return she remembers his face! YOU CAN'T PAY FOR THAT. THAT YOU GUYS! (If it is your first time DO NOT EXCHANGE YOUR MONEY AT THE AIRPORT! I wish someone told us before we arrived. We got beat, we were so mad). There is a grocery store within the community. It's probably not obvious so I'll tell you buy dish soap. They provide dishes. In all, it was amazing, can't imagine another location. We chose a bungalow because my friend was from DR and didn't want the resort experience, more like actually living there. The hosts have a dog. He was great, posed with us in a pic like a pro. Definitely would return!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Thanks a lot for your detailed review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the chance to host you again in the future. We appreciate the useful recommendations regarding dish soap and the money changers at the airport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77Kerry
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

we were recommded by a friend to stay with Bertha and Michail and we were not disappointed . Beautiful bungalow on their property, close to the beach and restaurants. Bertha was a gracious hostess (Michael was away) and the place was as beautiful as advertised. Wonderful pool setting.

A few things to improve your guests stay.

!. The strength of the internet signal needs to be improved. Non-existent a few feet into the house.
2. The pool was great except not turned on one day. Also there is a port on the side of the building that should be covered up as the force of the water being sucked out is considerable and could be dangerous.

Costambar is great community and Bertha and Michael provide a safe, beautiful place to stay. Say Hi to Blackie for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The bungalow and the proximity to the beach
Liked least: Internet
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
Dear Kerry,

Thanks a lot for your nice comments, we are happy to hear that you liked your stay with us. Unfortunately I did not have a chance to meet you in person but I would be happy to host you again at our property.
Kind regards
Michael and Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
529jessic...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute bungalow perfect for people not interested in all-inclusive resorts.”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

After feeling a bit underwhelmed by extremely high prices at all-inclusive resorts and less than stellar experiences, I was on the search for cheaper places to stay within the Puerto Plata community. I was intrigued by this cute little bungalow because it was newer in construction and seemed to provide amenities I'm accustomed to in the United States, in a gated community a short walk from the beach, and was about 25% of the cost of a resort. I took a chance and booked it for 2 weeks, crossed my fingers and hoped for the best.

Upon arrival I was happy to discover that the bungalow was as it appeared in the photos. The living area was cute, bright from lots of natural light, and the kitchen area was perfect for travelers that prefer to cook their own meals. There was a full size fridge/freezer, plenty of cabinet space, running water, 2 burner stove and a microwave. All of your basic kitchen dishes, pots and pans and cutlery are provided, which was really convenient. I will say that this living area did get pretty hot, even with all of the windows open and ceiling fan on, so when we weren't cooking we hung out in the air-conditioned bedroom, which felt great especially when we had the ceiling fan on too. The stove ran on propane and it ran out of juice midway through a cooking session at about 7:30 at night and I sheepishly interrupted the owner's evening to let them know, but they were not bothered by it at all and came down to change out the tank for me happily. Very nice people. They even have a blender so we enjoyed fresh mango and banana smoothies daily.

The bedroom was small, but adequate. Just big enough for a queen size bed and 2 night stands. We had to store our suitcases in the closet for space reasons, but the sliding closet was big enough to accommodate clothing for 2 people for 2 weeks. The A/C and ceiling fan were wonderful. The bathroom was clean, cute and new. I was very surprised when Michael explained to me that we could not flush toilet paper down the toilet, which apparently is normal around the island outside of resort life. That was a bit of an adjustment for me. Shower was great and had plenty of hot water for my 20 minute showers.

The pool is small, but it was pretty. I have Dominican friends and asked if I could have a friend and her daughter visit me and use the pool and the owners were OK with this. They are very reasonable!

They have a washing machine by the pool, which they allow their guests to use. This was such a bonus that I could keep my clothes, beach towels clean at no additional cost.

We had a car for the entire 2 weeks and we parked outside on the street with no issue. In terms of sheets and towels, we could bring our dirty linens to the main house and they gave us clean ones. They also had a binder prepared in the bungalow with information about excursions they could help you book, which I thought most visitors would really like. The owners and their girls all helped out, which was cool.

Overall, I really enjoyed this Bungalow and accommodations although most of my days and nights we were out and about exploring the island. I highly recommend it and will definitely book there again in the future!!!

Suggestions for Guests:
-Clean VERY thoroughly after cooking and seal all of your food. We experienced an issue with ants consistently. Those buggers would swarm around even the tiniest crumbs.
-Purchase your own drinkable water to have on hand and cook with
-Pack LESS since you can wash your clothes and re wear outfits
-If you go grocery shopping, save your plastic bags so you can take out your bathroom garbage daily

Suggestion for Owners:
- laundry racks or laundry line for guests that wash their clothes
- Other helpful things to provide: dish soap, more ant killer products, kitchen cleaning products, garbage bags for kitchen and bathroom garbage cans

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody a
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful property and the owner and his wife are amazing people. Safe home and the dog Blackie makes you feel safer. Beautiful property. Beach is very close by with great places to eat on the beach (especially the Happy Hippo!) Great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: Shower
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAustin72
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quite, beautiful, friendly, safe place to stay while in Puerto Plata then this is the place for you. This bungalow sits on the beautiful private property of Michael and Bertha and their family. Attached to the main huge home they rent out a couple of studios and unattached to the property was this bungalow. The upgrade for just a few dollars more to have this bungalow is highly recommended. It's perfect, like a small apartment and has everything you could want. The bungalow has a small living room area with a futon couch which provides extra sleeping space if you need, a flat screen TV, refrigerator, and kitchen area. In addition, a private bedroom and bathroom are also in the bungalow with ac. The property also had a great wifi connection. Whatever you don't have and may need are just a request away. Michael, Bertha, and their two teenagers were always happy to help us with anything we needed including any questions we had about the area. My fiancé and I also enjoyed Blackie the family dog. He was sweet and friendly and was very alert and protective of the property. Having him around was in no way bothersome and we truly enjoyed his company. The property is beautiful, covered in tropical plants and well maintained. When you relax on the patio of the bungalow you can't help but feel like you are in your own tropical paradise. On the property you also have access to a clean, refreshing swimming pool. The beach is the best kept secret. A 1-2 minute walk outside the gate of the home you will be sitting on the beautiful Costambar beach. We felt very safe along the entire beach. The beach is lined with plenty of friendly yummy restaurants and bars to enjoy. So many beautiful shells to collect and if you enjoy snorkeling, bring a mask and snorkel. We snorkeled for hours one day and found so many treasures in the ocean. Be sure to check out the Catamaran restaurant at the very end. Paul and his crew have delicious food and great prices. The first restaurant on the beach from the property, I cant remember the name exactly "Something De La Rosa" ??? had great food served all day and delicious coffee in the morning. Be sure to check it out too. In closing, I found this amazing place here at TripAdvisor. I am already planning my next trip back to the area and will for sure be booking my stay at this bungalow. Thank you Michael and Bertha for a wonderful relaxing stay! I am so envious of your situation there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, safe property and just steps from the beach.
Liked least: To know ones fault, the mosquitos, bring your mosquito spray :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Thanks a lot for your detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday staying at our property. We are really looking forward to host you again.
Michael and Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Family Had a Great Time”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our family stayed for 1 week in this bungalow. It was my wife and I and our two girls 7 and 4 years old. We had a wonderful time. The house was clean and new. We felt safe there with the dog on the property that our girls loved. It was nice because Michael and his family live right there on the property and are very helpful. Whatever amenities we were short on they would bring to us. For example, we needed beach towels and dish towels and they had them for us in short time. Also, the washer was not working, so The family washed a couple of loads of laundry for us. The Internet worked great and the wifi signal was very strong. The best thing was being so close to the beach. It only took us a couple of minutes to walk down the road and enjoy a beautiful section of beach where the water was clear enough to snorkel and see some tropical fish. The worst thing was it was a little tight for our family. We knew that before we went because it only has one bedroom. (The girls had to sleep on a futon) it worked for one week, but if we were planning on staying there longer it would have been tight. The gardens on the property were beautiful. The only downfall to that was the vegetation attracted Mosquitos. We just had to be careful not to leave the door open to let them in and to keep repellent on when we were outside. Other than that, we had a wonderful experience.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine...
Ostfildern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Hallo Christine, vielen Dank fuer die ausfuehrliche Bewertung. Es freut uns sehr, dass es dir bei uns gefallen hat. Du bist uns jederzeit wieder willkommen.
Schoene Gruesse, Bertha und Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing