We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip for a group of friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip for a group of friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked our villa through Prestige Worldwide Vacations and they were a pleasure to work with. Reed and Lisa were very responsive to every email and phone call and answered every question prior to our travels. Since we booked through them, we were given the gold bands that allowed us access to many more places than other vacationers. NV beach was our favorite, and we became quite close to the staff there. It was never crowded and the service was awesome. We were also allowed a golf cart that made it easy to get around such a large resort! The villa had a few minor issues, but Indiana, our representative, was there to check on us and take care of our problems in a timely manner. It was a pleasure to stay here, visit a new country and meet some lovely local people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimik303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for taking your time on posting such a nice and positive comment; we sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is a pleasure to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm hospitality that characterize the Dominican people and that you were able to experience it at its most. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    110
    69
    51
    62
See reviews for
254
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Jan. 18 as a group of 8. Someone in our group won the villa in a charity raffle so we only had to pay for the All Inclusive fee which was $805 for 2 people for a week. Hard to complain when it was such a good deal, but we had some definite issues.
The villa was very nice. We loved the pool ans spent most afternoons there. Carmen, our maid, was wonderful. She gave service with a smile and made us a very nice breakfast every day.
Carlos, our concierge, did not provide good service. He said he would take care of things, but then they would not get done. We got Gabriella later in the week and she delivered when and what she said she would.
The resort is well tended and everyone worked hard to make the grounds, beach, etc look good.
Cons: 5 out of 8 of us ended up with gastro intestinal issues. Every person I came across in the airport on the way home who stayed at Lifestyle had these issues. I have never gotten sick in Punta Cana or Mexico and I have been multiple times. Somewhere there has been a breakdown in food/drink prep and we paid the price having to cancel our fishing and snorkeling excursions due to gastro issues.
The food was very mediocre. We were not impressed. We ate at the Mexican, Asian, Blue Lagoon, Indian, and Simply a Gourmet. Simply Gourmet was the best of them all. Service was very good in all except the Blue Lagoon.
The consensus us that we would not return. There is very little beach and the best ones are VIP ONLY (which we were).
All in all, it was nice to spend time with friends and family, but we will do so st a better resort next time, and one that is not so difficult to fly to.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ctribbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for taking part of your valuable time to share your experiences with us as our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; we sincerely appreciate all feedback

Although when you express your satisfaction with the Villa, some of our staff and the grounds in general we sincerely lament that your vacation experience did not meet your expectations fully but hope you do reconsider visit us again.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I just returned from a trip that was booked thru Mark Austin.
He does not give you what you think you are greeting.
The pictures of the villa's that he is offering is not what you get.

Several families that I traveled with were confirmed in certain rooms and when they got to the resort they were told sorry and put in. He lowest class room.
When they contacted mark, he said sorry, I can't do anything about it.

I would never deal with this person again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Prior to this resort we have been to several all-inclusive resorts in Playa Del Carmen in Mexico , and Punta Cana, Dominican. We paid about 30% more for this resort expecting a more luxurious stay, higher quality of accommodations, food and service.
The resort wasn't even close to what you can find in Mexico or even in Punta Cana:
1. The Villa: Disgusting. We were promised a luxury villa, and paid the top price for it. We were very disappointed to get a very old Villa, where every day something would break or fall apart (showers, A/C, toilet). The kitchen was impossible to cook in, because of the mold in several places and ants all over the place. At times it took 6 hours to have someone from maintenance to come and handle the issue. They also have issues with hot water and sewer. PICTURES ATTACHED.
2. Food: was sub par... Little choice in the buffet, and whatever there is - doesn't taste good. An average time to wait for the food in the restaurant is 1-1.5 hours. We tried many restaurants, especially the ones available to the members only, and were very disappointed.
3. Beaches and Ocean: almost no sand, a lot of rocks and sea urchins, seaweed is all over the place. My kids were disgusted with it, and barely went swimming.
4. Service: it's hard to get good service, when no one understands English. The management, and the customer service representatives at the resort speak good English, but can't solve any issues really, and were very rude on multiple occasions.

"Tell it only to your best friends" is their slogan? More like "tell it only to your enemies"!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NeoEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked though Leslie Mitchell / Bob Mehr shareholders. Our experience was excellent. The commmunication from Bob was excellent. He helped us understand everything we needed to know. The Crown Villas were very nice. The setting with balconies, deck and pool was magnificent. The accomadations are a little dated and can use a sprucing up but we had a wonderful time. The VIP services rep, Ignatio was wonderful. He took care of anything we needed. The resort is very nice and really well kept. The Sunday party was amazing. The sax player is wow! The foam party was a blast. W all had fun. I highly recomend this resort. Book with a shareholder and get a gold armband and you will have access to just about everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Terry, on behalf of the management, the staff and especially Bob & Leslie we would like to thank you for your very positive comment on the services and the complex.

We will be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I booked again thru Mark Austin which is the best shareholder to deal with. He answers any questions you might have and goes out of his way to assist and make your holiday one that will be remembered. "Thanks again Mark!!"

We stayed in the Presidental Suites for 2 days which were amazing. The only down fall is no golf cart and I am a lazy person who wants to totally relax on holidays but my parents 72 and 80 loved the walking around the resort. They would refuse a ride when the shuttles passed.

We then moved to villa 2ab which was nice, not as nice a CP Villa but nice. We did have a few plumbing issues but not a big deal. Breakfast was great as before, something for everyone. My father loved the pool he could sit out and watch the workmen building the new villas for Costa Esmeralda. They were all very nice to him. We celebrated my fathers 80th birthday at the VIP Gourmet and they made a beauty firework display and a feast of deserts for him.

We were able to get access to Serenity beach and it is the most relaxing place I have ever been to. Good food and the crepes are to die for. The food at Harmony beach was great too. The chicken on a skewer was excellent and cooked well. The Jazz restaurant was excellant too. I have to say the food quality has gone up considerably since 2011.

I will be returning in the early spring and hopefully take a group with me. This is the only place that I have returned to in the 30 years I have been travelling. This says alot all on its own. It is not too expensive if you book through a shareholder like Mark Austin and you will always have a major contact to call if problems arise.

Room Tip: When requesting villas you don't know what you are getting until you arrive. You can request a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel2theSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank for choosing us for a 2nd time as your holidays destination, we are glad to learned that you had a great time here and together with your family you were able to create loving and fun new memories.
Be sure that your comments regarding the maintenances are already passed to the designated dept. for proper follow

We are looking forward to welcome you soon with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had great time on our first trip to the resort for this year. We had a group of 18 that came from Canada, Jamaica and various parts of the US. Our accommodations consisted of 2 villas (plus additional accommodations).

The service at the resort is exceptional. Our villa was adequately staffed for our breakfast service and was constantly replenished with refreshments, snacks and the drinks we ordered. The resort has a number of unique aspects to it. The resort staff, they are as sincere and friendly as I have ever been with. They makes us feel like family during each and every visit. The food quality is superb along with the many restaurant choices.

As with all other hotels there is always room for improvement...I believe the resort is aware. We see changes each time we visit.

We have been to various resorts in different countries, and we are now hooked on this resort....not sure for how long....... but at this time we have not seen another resort that offers the value, service, and amenities as Lifestyle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Irv thank you very much for taking part of your valuable time to share your experiences with us.
It is also a pleasure to know you have enjoyed many of your holidays with us and we will be thankful to welcome you and your family many more.

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.4 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
6.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
6.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Confesi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Villas are the ultimate in luxury and exclusivity, as each is a small estate home with sumptuous, private three and four bedrooms that offer guests a unique and exclusive vacation experience. All of these villas are a classical Spanish Mediterranean style architecture, with red tile roofs, stucco plastered archways and distinguished stone columns with generous tropical gardens where hibiscus, bougainvilleas and other magnificent tropical plants abound. All have a private swimming pool, shaded terrace, veranda, kitchen, and a full private bath leading directly off each bedroom. The villas are furnished with rattan, elephant bamboo and a natural Caribbean wattle work and are equipped with air conditioning, overhead fans, and cable television. The Crown Villas are part of the all-inclusive Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort and guests have access to all the facilities of the Resort (excluding the V.I.P areas). A personal maid and an exclusive menu in each of the seven Resort restaurants complete these perfect accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing