We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Family Vacation falls short"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Southington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“" Family Vacation falls short"”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booking a vacation 8 months in advance, you have an excited expectation of something fun with the family. Our vacation was booked through a shareholder, and that is important and will discuss later. We visited from July 12-19, 2012. We confirmed several times and the shareholder was always very responsive to my brother, who shared all information and answers with me. Entering DR, I was aware of the $10/person charge. From that point on, it was a myriad of unanswered questions, redirections and explanations of what we did not get, as opposed to what we did receive. We booked a 3 bedroom, 4 bath villa for the week. Our driver at the airport insisted on waiting for 30 minutes for a second group that never showed from the flight. After setting out, we arrived in about 35 minutes at Lifestyle Crown Villas. It was beautiful as described by many reviewers. We also pre-booked a golf cart for moving around the resort grounds. We checked in and immediately the unfriendly customer service began. " You cannot go to these beaches or these restaurants, and your concierge will explain all details. Here are your bracelets and these cannot be lost or we will charge you $100." We had been given Blue bracelets, although the ads indicated that you get everything an owner/partner receives without limitations. This is much different from customer service responses- we had to contact the shareholder to straighten this out. We were told that the shareholder could inform them of the change, however, there was nothing they could do. Our group of 6 was directed to the Sportsbar, where we would wait for Jorge. We waited 45 minutes and Jorge arrived to take us to the Villa. It was Villa #58 and was very nice, if it was ready. Since noone rented the previous week, everything was shut down, and so the villa was very warm, the pool had leaves and debris floating and the fridge was off. Also, contrary to the add, there was no A/C in the main living area. All minor annoyances, but nothing outrageous. Besides, we were on vacation. Jorge wanted our drink orders-we were enttled to 6 bottles of alcohol and where do we want to go to dinner. Mind you we just arrived and noone has explained this to us. So we asked if we could get our bearings and then let him know tomorrow. He explained it was 6 bottles total- including juice. That seemed weird, Moving on, we settled in and found the pool wonderful, and we spent most of our time there. Our golf cart seemed like it was on its last leg. It leaked oil, and only would fit 4, so this meant multiple trips for any lunch or dinner visits. Also, we were able to have breakfast in the Villa, however, not a chef- the maid would cook. She would show up with 12 eggs, and everything from the buffet wrapped in plastic. It was all cold. We asked for breakfast at 8:00 and it was 9:45 when we ate. The maid waited for the food to arrive. Replenishing drinks was an issue. We would ask for water, soda and juice; it would arrive 6-8 hours later. All the staff was polite, as they would smile and nod. English was sparse, which we understood, however any resolution of questions or issues- never happened without raising a bigger issue. even then, most things were never addressed. We were even told that there was no manager as the manager was on vacation. We went to the Buffet na dbooked the restaurants. The food was gross. I saw people handling food with their hands and placing it back, birds landing next to the food and picking at it, chaos with people cutting in front of each other, no glasses for drinks were available, people were not waiting for food to be placed in the buffet line, instead, accosting the employees bringing the food from the kitchen, and in one case causing the employee to drop the tray. Kids were not monitored and running everywhere. The food in most cases was inedible. Stick with the pasta made in front of you or theomelet station. Everything else is off and tastes awful. The desserts are attacked by the birds. There is no air conditioning, all are open air; so pack extra clothes, you will sweat while you eat. The staff tries, but the people were incredibly selfish and it was a free-for -all. I explained to the manager, Annette, but there were no changes. The restaurants require reservations. So we planned dinner at Bellini, Rodizi-Brazilian, Blue Lagoon. The VIP Gourmet- we tried, but reservations were taken. It is interesting that you need to make these on Sunday at 12, for the week. There are limited seats and not one restaurant was ever at capacity. There are dress codes, so bring pants. We ate at Bellini 3 times, it was the safest. Everyone seemed to like this the most. The Blue Lagoon was a joke. The fish was served raw, we sent it back. The filet was Sirloin less than 1/4" thick and probably 5 oz. The brazilian restaurant had the best service, although the ribs were very fatty and the meat chewy. One time through the 6 meats and they are looking for you to leave. Okay... The beach was great, just go early and reserve one of the beds. Avoid the beach vendors. Other issues- A/C was broken in one room, which required a minor fix. The excursions were limited, and a little pricey- our favorite was the ATV's and Dunne Buggy's. The snorkeling was okay- but there is a 75 minute ride, not 30 minutes, to get to the boat-Ouch! The staff was helpful and while we booked for 3.5 hours- it was 6 hours. Bring drinks and towels. The biggest headache was the Sales Pitch. we specifically indicated no presentation, and a man named Jean lied and said no- "we are going for a tour." He dropped us at VIP building and again we said no presentation. He indicated that we would get a welcome package- hat, towel, beach bag; Instead we got a small bottle of run and yes, "the sales presentation." We had a tour of all the areas we do not get as we had a blue bracelet and not a gold bracelet. we could update to gold immediately if we purchased a membership of between 30K-80K. We again said, "No." Other gold band members told us, "Don't do it!" we asked a simple question- what would the investment get us that we didn't get today- 2 more beaches and access to 4 restaurants?" You still need to purchase the meal plan at $75/person; and the week's rental which maybe different for everyone based on when the shareholder purchased their shares. The fee is up to the shareholder. Once we convinced james, the salesman, that we were not purchasing; he raced us back to the lobby and told us to wait for the shuttle with other guests to get back to our Villa. VIP services was no help. They either nodded and smiled or directed us to the Shareholder. The WIFI access was non-existent. Don't even bother. Lastly, AMEX users- we had to pay for our meal plans upon arrival. Use VISA and Not AMEX. There will be an exchange fee because the resort "has direction from accounting" to charge in Pesos and not USD. For VISA, they will charge in USD. The charge was $48 for me, not alot, but I was given no reason why? (I know why, AMEX charges a larger handling fee than VISA). All in all, it was vacation, but I will not be back. Their motto, "Tell only your best friends," ironically was removed from the outside wall while we were there. Oh yes, the trip came with its own rememberence- upset stomachs for 3-5 days. I have heard this from countless guests. Over $6000 and many annoyances, nothing disastrous, just annoying. Be forewarned- not a member or traveling with a member, you are treated less than a member.

Room Tip: Insist on Villas. Avoid the Buffet and go to restaurants. The large party on Sunday-avoid, too many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LesterP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest Lester P:

Thank you very much for posting a review about your stay at the Lifestyle Crown Villas and for choosing us for your holidays. In the name of our management, we want to express how sorry we are to acknowledge that we could not fulfill all your expectations regarding our hotel premises and services. In Lifestyle Resorts our guiding principles such as to provide the best service, to offer a unique gastronomy and to upkeep our grounds leads us to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests. We feel very sorry to hear that we could not accomplish our goal during your visit.

We appreciate the observations concerning the service and the staff, and we are sorry that we were not able to impress you with some of our services despite of all our team efforts, your observations will be treated with the utmost interest since we believe that this is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention to improve in all aspects.

We do hope to welcome you in the near future, we guarantee you that our visitors receive the quality service they deserve and our company is recognized for.


Kind regards

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    128
    78
    61
    72
See reviews for
297
102
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is our fifth year and we plan on coming back again next year. Our vacation was awesome and we leave happy!! The accomodations, food, and service are excellent, which in turn has made us repeat customers.

We had a 6 bedroom villa for 13 girls this year - and - it was simple beautiful. The pool was cleaned spotless every morning - it was crystal clear and clean. Loved the cabana beds outside on the pool patio - nice touch!!

Breakfast was prepared every morning in the villa. You could not want for more - omlets and eggs made to order, fresh fruit, meat, cheese, pastry, etc.... and I could go on naming items that were present every morning on the table! It was a small feast!! What a great way to start your day!!!

You can dine in a wide variety of restaurants on the resort. Diverse menus in each restaurant allows everyone in your party to enjoy "familiar" foods, as well as "trying" something new.

There is so much to do, but you can also relax at the beach (Serenity) and enjoy the service provided their too. I LOVE the beach service!! Can you say "Green Finger"!!

The staff is always helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable.

We booked our annual trip through Mark Austin. Mark did everything to ensure our vacation was memorable, but he does that every year!! This is the reason we come back.

Room Tip: We stay in a villa every year. It does not matter the location on the resort - they are all beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are very happy that you also this year had a great time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you for another unforgettable vacation experience!

With best regards from your home away from home

Annett Fiedler
Crown & Royal Villas Manager
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We booked our 2 week vacation for 4. My partner & I, and our two friends. No children this holiday, total relaxation was planned.
We have stayed at this resort before and were aware that there was a colored band system for access to amenities. We were guaranteed by kevin dickinson that our bands would be gold, which meant that we would not be restricted.
Sure enough - there was a chauffeur waiting with our name printed on a board outside the main doors of puerto plata airport. We were delighted to be transported to resort by limousine - with champagne, beer and water inside.
At resort check in was simple - here we paid the all inclusive fee for food and drink, got our gold bands, and were shown to villa 51. This was not one of the newer villa's but it was beautiful. Private pool, beautiful grounds, and secluded.
We had a golf cart provided with the villa, which we found hilarious, as we had to push it over the speed bumps - it had no life in it at all - (believe me - we may need to shed a few pounds but we're not that heavy), we took the cart back on day 2 and were promptly given another one!
Since our last stay in resort Lifestyle have grown. There is now a beach called 'harmony' with fantastic beds, food available all day until 5pm and also an ice cream parlour. 'Serenity Beach' was my favourite, with beds, and hammocks everywhere. The staff were brilliant, and if the only bed available was in the sun and you wanted shade, they would carry that king size bed to wherever you wanted! The new creperie on Serenity was to die for - making spicy, savoury or sweet fillings.
The food we loved, The jazz restaurant,azul, and the gourmet being our favourite. There were one or two restaurants that we avoided, Indochine, and mexican - not that the food is bad - just knowing from previous stays that it was not what we liked. Casablanca is the main buffet area. Standard buffet style, spit roast, pasta, salads, stews, fish etc - something for every taste, although it can be a bit of a stampede at peak times! We had a BBQ at the villa, with our own chef and waiter. Freshly cooked lobster, Fillet Mignon, chicken, King prawns in garlic....Superb.
The sunday welcome party was brilliant, there was enough food to feed the five thousand! Fireworks display was fab, and the groups playing were good to - catering for all types of music.

I have read some negative reviews on trip advisor, and cannot understand why unless these people didn't have gold bands. We didn't come across any surly staff, only people wanting to do the best for you. On this occasion we did go for a look around the resort with the guys trying to entice you to be a member - but they were not pushy - you only need to say no! At the end of the spiel, we said we would rather book through a high up member and get more than they were offering! Job done! We really only wanted a tour around resort to see we hadn't missed anything!
Customer service office is in the ground floor of the lifestyle tower if you need it - but a customer service rep will visit the villa each day, so if there were any problems or anything that you couldn't get across with the language barrier then these are the people to speak to! Dana was our service rep, he was frienldly and thorough, from organising our transport and restaurants to eat in - to making sure we had yogurt delivered to the villa. Taking the children next time - they love it too.
Advice - book through a shareholder to avoid any disappointment. If there is anything you want - just ask - through my experience the customer service will do all they can.
I would book through Kevin Dickinson again - thanks for everything.
Don't forget it costs $10 per person to enter the Dominican Republic, and $20 each to leave!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Annett Fiedler
Crown & Royal Villas Manager
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have been vacationing with 2 other families for 8 years and this has been one of the best yet! There was a total of 14 of us (6 adults and 8 kids) coming in from two opposite ends of the US. We booked through a member (Bill) who was a pleasure to work and did everything in his power to ensure we had smooth travels and an amazing experience at the resort. From the moment we stepped passed customs we were treated with impeccable service. We flew into POP airport where we found a stretch SUV limo awaiting our arrival. Check-in at the resort was very quick and easy. The VIP staff came to our villa just after check-in to arrange all our dinner and ocean world reservations for the week.

The resort is very large with many pools, eateries, activities and private beach areas to explore. As guest of a member (Bill) you will have VIP braclets which will grant you access to everywhere on the resort. Our favorite beaches were Harmony and Serenity because they had great snack bars (crepes on the beach!) and were more exclusive to members which meant no crowds.

We've been to many all-inclusives and I would say that the food at the buffets was just ok but the ala carte restaurants were wonderful. Our favorite part of the trip was having breakfast made for us every morning by a private chef and the private BBQ at our villa. The food was abundant and delicious!

The Ocean World excursion was an amazing day for the kids. The free exhibits were great and all the shows were done very well. Can't believe this was included in his package as well!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments regarding our beaches, A la Carte restaurants and other facilities. It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed all of our services and that your vacation experience was a unique one.
Thank you for making Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Annett Fiedler
Crown & Royal Villas Manager
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We traveled to Puerto Plata for the first time and stayed at the Lifestyle villas. We loved it!! Now to be prepared because this is how it works.

We booked though RCI. I would not recommend booking though any other company. If you plan on going book directly with the resort. If you choose to book a different way then know you will not get the perks like if you would booking directly with Crown Villas, We learned the hard way.

Before getting to the resort, I contacted them to make sure our reservation were listed with them since we did book though RCI and you never really know. I like to always double check. When I spoke to them they advised we would not be able to get a golf cart even though we were staying at one of there villas. We also were not able to get some of the perks the other VIP customers got booking directly though them. So that was not cool. Beside that the Villa we received because we went though RCI was really not that pretty. It was ok but you can tell it was run down and need some fixing.. We enjoyed the beach and our private pool. the food was very good to. We had arrived at the villa on Saturday. Sunday evening they do a welcome party for all their guest. They really do a great job and good food. We were put in a good spot since we came in though RCI they were interested in selling weeks to us ofcause. That Monday my husband and I along with my aunt and uncle who are awesome people by the way went on a tour of the resort. It is absolutly gorgous!! There was so much to see and we didn't even know it. Well finally my aunt and uncle purchase and we got the GOLD BANDS which is the highest you can purchase without owning stock at the resort. Once that happen on Monday things did a 100% turn around. We were moved to a 6 bedroom VILLA that was beautiful... All up to date furnisher a BBQ shack that you can tell was new, a golf cart access to two beautiful beaches, access to private resturants, a cook every morning and a maid, free laundry, free limo drive back to the airport (which when we go back we can also get a helicopter pickup from the airport) all top shelf liqour you can want or need, a BBQ in our villa with steak and lobster and much more. It became a totally different vacation. Don't get me wrong the VIP is great but the VVIP is awesome!!! Again you will notice the different color bands.. The gold and black are the best....
We plan on going again next year but for two weeks. It is paradise and we didn't want to go home...
Enjoy your vacation!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experiences with us. Our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; our guests’ feedback shifts our focus and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
Thank you for making Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back next year again.

Sincerely,

Annett Fiedler
Crown & Royal Villas Manager
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

First let me say that my first visit to Lifestyles was back in February and, not knowing any better, booked thru Cheap Caribbean which had a great deal and for the money we paid $29 AI per day it was well worth it. Doing further research and reading trip advisor, I found that you can rent thru shareholders etc. and decided to rent thru Bob Mehl and Leslie Mitchell. The resort is what it is.. It's beautiful, fair to good customer service, it is big with many bars and restaurants so you can always find something to eat yadda yadda.

Now on to my experience renting thru Bob and Leslie. One word OMG (actually that's 3 but....) - You get exactly what is promised no BS and no empty promises. They were always honest. Any requests I made they would tell me they look into it and get back to me whether it was yes it can be done or unfortunately not available @ this time. And that is so appreciated. Always responded to my many questions and emails promptly. Bob/Leslie our villa was great! Close to everything. We got our VIP gold band as promised and had the same privileges as "owners". As a matter of fact, we were treated as owners the entire time. Our cleaning lady Rud was fabulous, making a nice breakfast each day & maintaining our villa. Our rep (forgot her name, sorry) - was very attentive and went out of her way to accomodate our requests. Our pool and grounds were cleaned daily. We had no problems with any of our dinner reservations. We had a gentlman come & replenish our fridge each day (in our case, full of beer & water - but whatever you wanted they would bring). The only request i have for a change is for the in villa breakfast. Each day the same thing is prepared. It would be nice to change that up every other day. The best surprise was the helicopter ride back to the airport as I had requested this to/from but it wasn't available but later became available.

Thank you to the animation staff for your great entertainment and attention..... Caramelo, Lenny Kravitz, Barbie, etc.... you're the ABSOLUTE BEST!!! Luv ya all!!!

In a nutshell... I will return and VIP is the only way to go!!! I will only rent thru Bob & Leslie ...they are friendly, reliable and most important honest. If it can be done, they will get it done for you. Bob/Leslie thank you for assisting in making this a great vacation. FYI ... one of my guest has decided to get married on the property.

Room Tip: I had villa 9B. It was close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcasiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Crown and Royal Villas Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Annett Fiedler
Crown & Royal Villas Manager
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester , NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

So their tag line is “Tell it only to your best friends” which is exactly who booked this trip for me and my family. She is an owner of a 4 bedroom villa. We booked it back in February and at that time; they tried to charge her more for our 1 week stay. Then she was told that her account was not active. Right then and there, still here at home, they were trying to scam us. 15 emails to try to get the story straight and it looked like it did- so we thought.
We finally booked the trip and just came back. When we arrived at the resort our villa was # 29. It should have been #1 since it was run down, old and literally falling apart. Yes we had a pool that had weeds growing through the flagstone deck. The refrigerator was rusted as was the stove. The villa was dirty from the minute we got there. The kitchen was so small that 2 people could not stand in it with the frig door open. The frig had rust on it and sounded like it was going to die any minute. We saw that this is not what we expected we went to customer service. They could care less. They were rude, standoffish and that was not only the customer service person (Laura) but the supervisor (Vance) as well. We were told that since we were not owners, we “get what we get” and were all booked up since it’s 4th of July- not; we were there a week early. 300 villas and all booked? Don’t think so. They were not even smart enough to give us a peace offering- like the use of a golf cart since my wife just had surgery, dinner at 1 of the upscale restaurants- nothing. They could care less. . Unless your name is listed as an owner, it does not matter. That what they essentially told us. Their other tag line is “I work for you”. If these 2 “customer service people worked for me, I would fire them.
We were treated like second class citizens. Since we were not owners we did not expect amenities or access like owners. We expected a clean, modern villa like we would look at everyday across the way. We expected something like what we see on the website not the community “spares”. The MBR A/C broke 2 days before we left and they were able to fix it. The fan blower was so loud we almost could not hear the TV in the room.
This is how this place works: If you are a member you get a gold bracelet- they will treat you well-maybe. You will get all your amenities and issues addressed. If you are a guest of a member, good luck. You get a “blue bracelet” They won’t even acknowledge you until they try to recruit you to meet with them to buy. If you stay at the Presidential suites, then you might be OK.
This is a cast system. The color of the bracelet dictates what you get. The real issue is that someone will be a higher level than you and they will trump you if there’s an issue. If you book on line and have low expectations then you might be ok. I’m in sales for 25 years and customer service is king. This place survives on having people go with the owners (if so you get a gold bracelet and have all access and your set-maybe). They applying the old bait and switch- something you would never get at a chain a chain hotel/ timeshare.
So what can I do? No much. I was able to convince 4 people not to buy while I was there. I told them exactly how we were treated and how they have this “too bad” attitude. The resort is beautiful with plenty of pools. The resort is well kept and clean. The food is average. The front line working staff is friendly and helpful.I would score it lowere but the wotrking staff tries to really help. The maid that made our breakfast, drivers, deliverymen were all very nice and accomadating.
Beware of the "white shirts"- they are the wranglers to get you to sit with the guys with the blue shirts who give you the pitch. If you get sucked in, ask them to see villa #29. You decide if you’re really getting what you think.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAP441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest MAP441:

We are sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations since we are in the business to bring an enjoyable and unforgettable experience to all of our guests. We sincerely regret any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and for not having had the opportunity to amend any misperception you could have had while were with us.

As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed; this in not a usual situation in our Villas, reason why we do feel the need to correct a few of the statements in your review:

Our staff is very friendly and trained to be helpful even under stress they usually perform very well, we typically receive extremely positive reviews about them, and often hear that, in many instances, the staff made the difference for many of our guest’s vacations, especially the staff that works in the villas that offers highly personalized services to its guests. Please accept our apologies for any staff member who did not display those qualities.

Our Villas are generally in very good conditions and we have a continuous maintenance improvement plan in place.

We must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality of the services and facilities at the villas has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our satisfaction questionnaires.

For us, there would be no biggest reward than to have the opportunity to show our commitment to customer service. We hope that despite your disappointment, you will consider choosing us again when planning future travel to The Dominican Republic& Lifestyle Crown Villas.

Sincerely

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.5 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,772 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: | Lifestyle Tower, Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classical Mediterranean style Villa, with red tile roof, archways and stone columns with a magnificent tropical garden. The Villa offers a private swimming pool, a superb location, shaded terrace, veranda, kitchen, and a full private bath leading directly off each bedroom. Also included is a maid and a golf-cart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing