We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think I got ripped off”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brugal Rum Center

Brugal Rum Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.99*
and up
Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride
Ranked #5 of 42 Tours in Puerto Plata
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come and learn what makes Brugal a distinctive and worldwide awarded Rum. Be guided through our history, process and enjoy a tasting of some of our best rums. Passion, dedication and hard work. The core qualities which have defined us for 128 years. The five generations of the Brugal family have held firm to these, making our rum so distinctive and authentic, "La Perfeccion del Ron".
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I think I got ripped off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

so I went to the rum factory, puerto plata domincan republic. bought this rum called "brugal 1888" said it was aged for 14 years at 50$ American. came in a nice box however,

outside the box says dated 2006, and that equals 14 years. inside the box on the bottle it says 2013. so there ya go, I paid 50$ for rum I thought to be aged 14 years, not one year. they clearly got me good,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bellanoel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    139
    102
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Rum factory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

During our half day tour around the city of Puerto Plata we´ve got to this factory. Looking as in the modern business you go through the whole process of rum production. It is forbidden to take photo inside but outside is ok. In the end you come to the shop with plenty of bottles for reasonable price of 4 -6 USD. Good to see it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet Redpath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

See above.

At that time, they offered a quality domino Brugal Rum logo set at a very reasonable cost, which I have to this day. It is of high quality including a brass escutcheon pin in the center of each piece called a "spinner".


They made great tropical drinks, and when we retuned to our cruise ship, we hit our bunks and didn't rise until the next day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chet4sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
323 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ho-hum..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

It's primarily a bottling and distribution plant. The actual rum making function isn't visible here. There is a tasting and sales room. Overall, it's not worth the free admission.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mbin8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A nice getaway from resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We took a city tour from our resort and this was one of the stops. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly tour guide who then explained a little of the history of Brugal and showed us the various items outside that they used to use to make the rum. Once inside the factory they did not allow us to take pictures. The tour is quite fast as they do not take you through the entire factory only the finishing area. After the tour they bring you to the gift shop where you can sample some of the rum from light to dark in small plastic shot glasses. Nice touch. Very friendly staff and great prices. There is no charge to tour the factory.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brugal Rum Center also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Brugal Rum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing