We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly friendly staff; huge rooms; truly a boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during Spring Break, and could afford to stay there thanks to a special offer (flight & hotel combined on Travelocity.com).

* Upon arrival, the concierge gave us a personal introduction and tour through the hotel.
* The hotel has two beautiful buildings; in between there is a little rainforest with huge palm leaves, large trees with orchids and other tropical flowers and a little lake. It looks and smells absolutely fabulous.
* The small number of rooms ensures that it is always fairly quiet and relaxing, even though at night you may hear noise from clubs of surrounding hotels, but we never heard any such noise in our rooms; only when we were outside.
* We had the smallest available room (Junior Suite) and it was huge, very well equipped, with a nice terrace, AC, a beautiful bath (huge bath and separate shower), a separate WC, safe, Cable TV (50 channels), a Bose radio, huge and comfortable bed, etc.
* Only negative was that internet was only available at an additional cost of $12/day (no wireless service available).
* The pool is relatively small, but was just right for us. It's on the 3rd floor and there are 4 beautiful jacuzzis overlooking beach and ocean. Amazing!
* The hotel has a private, clean and quiet beach even though it is adjacent to less expensive hotels which may be a bit louder. Also, there are locals walking by trying to sell domestic products, but they were all nice and not pushy or aggressive at all.
* Staff in the hotel is kinder than kind. In one situation, one person ran after me just to be able to open me the door. On another occasion, we went to the beach at 11pm, and security staff made up the beds and provided us with cushions and towels.
* The hotel doesn't have a desk to offer guests tours (e.g. snorkeling tours, city tours, etc.), but they would call around to get you good deals and they'd also assist in getting you there.
* On the negative side, we wanted to go snorkeling and were told that tours were available in the afternoon. The next morning when we wanted to book, we were told tours are only available in the morning, so we lost on the opportunity.
* The hotel has a private cab service (golf carts) to bring you to any location within the Playa Dorada complex (e.g. restaurants, casino, etc.) and picks you up on the way back, which we used several times.
* In general, we only left the complex once as we could get everything we could wish for in the hotel itself or nearby.
* Gym (free) and Spa (at cost; good choice) are available.
* Two restaurants on the ground, one of which upper scale, but yet not really expensive.
* As mentioned above, we were there during Spring Break, but there were no young party crowds at all. Indeed, we only saw couples in there 30s (majority) to 50s.

To summarize: This is a boutique hotel with very few rooms only. Room standard was excellent and we felt like being in our own little paradise. Staff was super-kind and if we ever get the same offer again, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 540 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2010

We always have a wonderful experience at Casa Colonial. The melding of Colonial and modern design in the main building is just our style. The rooms, whether suites or regular, are always clean and comfortable. The staff are always helpful and dote on our two children. In fact, we ask them to clean our room early so that we can put the youngest child down for a nap, and they always do.
We usually visit when the hotel is not very crowded, so we often spend the morning on the beach with just our family. We take our coffee and breakfast on the beach as well.
We have visited over the Winter/Christmas Holidays when there are more people, and the service (food, drink) can be a bit slower. On both occasions they simply started a barbecue (Lobster, fish, Vegetables, etc) on the beach. Issue solved.
In short, highly recommended and the nicest hotel in Puerto Plata.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pelayo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

There is nothing worse than being stuck in the Caribbean with 3 days of thick clouds hovering over you.

We arrived and the hotel was stunning. I have stayed in some of the best hotels around the world. This hotel is definitely 5 stars all the way. The decor and attention to detail is impeccable. The rooms are clean and spacious. Housekeeping is incredible. During our 5 day stay, we never saw our room being cleaned or were disturbed ever. As if little fairies come out and do it after you close the door.

The roof top bar/restaurant is beautiful. You feel like you are in an ad for Architectural Digest. The mango or passion fruit daiquiris are sinful. The food is what you would expect at a US hotel, with a Dominican twist. Their signature restaurant is Lucia. It is elegant. and tasteful. The food is delicious, but as expected the portions are very small. The prices are more or less NYC prices.

The spa is designed to let you slip into tranquility before you experience a treatment. Sauna, steam room, scrubs, rubs and facials. The entire hotels has incense and oils burning to enhance the relaxing feelings. I do not like heavy scents, the smells are faint and unnoticeable, until you are aware of them. As is the soft Zen music at the roof top pool.

In the end, if there is ever a place to be stuck for a rainy weekend, this is it. I came home relaxed and feeling at peace. The smells, music, food and pampering in an absolutely beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacaforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We can recommend this hotel without any reservation if you are looking for an elegant boutique hotel, and want to retreat for a few days. We reserved two ocean front rooms on the third floor. The rooms were spacious, well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet (although most nights it is possible to hear a little noise coming from the neighboring hotels). We found all the staff to be very friendly (with one minor exception), and felt very welcome staying here.

You can have breakfast pretty much anywhere you like (on the beach, on the deck or patio, in your room), and it is excellent. The hotel restaurant, Lucia, is also good, although our impression was that the food is a little overrated, but the restaurant may be one of the best on the island. Service in the restaurant was excellent. A short walk (or ride courtesy of the hotel staff) gets you to another good restaurant, Al Fresco. We ate at Al Fresco three times. Our first experience was pretty bad with food not arriving, and we nearly did not return. However, even the hotel recommends this place, and the second two visits were most enjoyable.

There are several water sports available directly in front of the hotel, and a golf course within walking distance. A good trip is to take the cable car up the mountain and walk around the botanical gardens. It is worth paying for a guided tour so you fully appreciate the gardens.

Our experience nearly everywhere was very positive, and we found the locals to be friendly. One exception was a very bad experience when we went diving and snorkeling with Dressel Divers (based at the Iberostar resort). I cannot recommend this operation based on the treatment we received from the manager.

Puerto Plata is worth a quick visit, but definitely make time to visit Cabarete. It has a beautiful beach, restaurants on the beach, and some very nice stores for shopping. I think it was about a 40 minute drive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventure1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This a world class hotel...a mix between old world and modern, state of the art, elegant decorating set on a beautiful, private beach..friendly accomodating staff, excellent food/bar and infinity pools and jacuzzi's rounded out a wonderful travel experience with my husband! Go!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

A wonderful experience from check in to check out. The staff was friendly yet reserved. The architecture of the hotel is grand elegance and the rooms are up to par with the lobby. The rooftop pool is fabulous and gives one the sense of isolation even though other hotels are nearby. The beach area is private but the occasional vendor will wander up with their wares. The water is tranquil but not really conducive to snorkeling. The food is top notch, fine dining as its best. The menu is expensive especially by DR standards but less than any upscale restaurant in the US.

A great escape for couples, not a place to party. A very serene, sophisticated atmosphere. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_K_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Top flight in all respects. I have been to the south of France, to Paris, to Rome, to St Barth to South Beach, so that is my frame of reference. The best of all worlds in a sophisticated, elegant boutique atmosphere. Facility, guest rooms and grounds are in a grand villa style and each is breathtaking and immaculately maintained. Hotel has an overall exclusive ambiance as it is at end of road with huge wrought iron gates, yet is relaxed in its attitude. Restaurant is as good as any Manhattan top tier, for dinner, for room service, for beach/pool munchies. Fitness center and spa unusually large and clean. Service is spectacular, from Basilia, to Edwin and Israel the concierges, to Manuel and the other porter/drivers, to the bartenders, to Ted at the Spa, to the wait staff to the beach service. No doubt about it, THE best in Puerto Plata, and you feel privileged to be staying there! (I have read complaints that the beach is not the MOST spectacular.....the beach is just fine; Puerto Plata does not have beautiful white sand and the beach is not enormous, but it is more than sufficiently beautiful, with fine sand and turquoise water leading into beautiful azure blue waters). Also, I have read that Restautant Aleph is a must...in fact, IT IS!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STBARTH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $187 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing