We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
462
72
15
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
72
15
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool boutique hotel recommend casa dominican breakfast beautiful small hotel we ordered room service ocean front dominican republic third floor nicest hotel playa dorada rooms are large our honeymoon goat junior suite all inclusive hotel golf cart
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 580 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2018

Just returned from five glorious days at the charming Casa Colonial. Everything about this lovely boutique was perfect. Our suite was very large and beautifully appointed and had three balconies, each with a different breathtaking view of the sea or the luxurious tropical vegetation. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly and the ratio of staff to guests is huge. The roof top pool and jacuzzis were an added plus and finally, the several restaurants were all outstanding, both in the food and the ambiance. This place should not be missed. It's truly magical.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kimbaptiste2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

Late December through early January we spent a week at Casa Colonial ~ including New Years Eve.
It is a gorgeous & sumptuous boutique hotel with excellent service.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was stellar & the GM is ever preset.
We had the Don Isidro suite & the junior suite next door as we traveled with our adult children. Don Isidro has the outdoor cast iron tub on the balcony - heavenly! Both were spacious & sparkling clean and I imagine the DI suite is the best they offer. Great location on a corner of the 3rd level which is quiet & private.
The NYE celebration was lovely fun ~ elegant & magical, with a few surprises, and I would love a return visit to celebrate again.
Food is exceptionally good & the atmosphere at Lucia is enchanting.
Grounds are immaculately kept from the beach to the gardens & the walk between the main bldg and beach rooms feels like a walk through an avatar inspired garden.
Comfy chaise lounges on the beach & attentive service, however, you are continually in the path of the trinket sellers on the sand that are non-stop from morning till late afternoon. They are, for the most part, not bothersome and by the 3rd day you barely notice. This is no fault of the hotel as the beaches are public. Might I add, beach area is very well maintained.
There is daily yoga in a small lovely beach side pavilion, which we did not partake and platforms where they do spa treatments - mainly massages & are open air. My daughter and I had massages in the spa itself, which was unimpressive, though the treatments were fine. I would absolutely recommend the outdoor massages as I wish we had done.
The only negative for the hotel is location - set amongst large all inclusive hotel properties and on the Atlantic side of island. If you're looking for blue, crystal clear caribbean water & white sand beach you will not find it here. The beach was not bad just good to know so your expectations are not diminished. I did my research going in and knew exactly what to expect.
So my last bit of advice is one Puerto Plata town tour, that the hotel will set up with a driver & guide, then just plop yourself at Casa Colonial and allow yourself to be taken care of by the wonderful staff.
A week was a bit long and for next trip will probably do a 5 night stay.
Shout out to Edison & Wody for making the best caipirinhas!

Stayed: December 2017
3  Thank people2people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

Just came back from a wonderfully relaxing family time ( our kids are 14 and 21) at Casa Colonial. Manicured grounds, beautiful interior decor, great food and very individually tailored customer service. My son was looking for a HDMI cord and manager found him one!
The place is very peaceful, perfect place to forget cold winter weather and craziness of NYC.
We loved our 80 minutes massages at the Spa.
What ever you need, manager on duty will go out of her/his way to accommodate!
Easy direct flight from NYC.
Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Lena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Colonial and that you appreciated our restaurants and spa as well as the resort. We look forward to having your family back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

The hotel is inside Playa Dorada in Puerto Plata. Not know for high end hotels, but Casa Colonial is an exception.
Beautiful small hotel. Excellent service and the food is actually good. The rooms are big and some of them are beach view. The lobby is just beautiful...great please to have a drink with your couple. It is not a party hotel...it is a romantic hotel or if you want to have a stress free weekend.
From here you can go to Sosua, Cabarete, Playa Grande, etc. There are plenty of options around to have a different day every day.
The only reason I did not give this hotel a 5 star is because the beach is not great. It is fairly good, but in the DR there are too many great beaches, but not necessarily great hotels like this one.
My only suggestion for the hotel is to have a better set of furniture at the balconies so that guess can enjoy more than area.

Room Tip: get a room in the third floor and looking to the beach. Also enjoy the pool at the third level
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FRDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

This was our second stay at Casa Colonial.

Our first visit, three yrs ago was an absolute pleasure.This visit was good as well, but surprisingly we did experience some disappointments.

Let me begin with the positives...

The staff at Casa Colonial is among the best we have ever experienced in the Caribbean.Their professional attitude was so very much appreciated by us.

Dining at the hotel restaurants was very good.... so.much better than our last visit...food was well presented and always had a variety of dishes to choose from . Overall cost was quite reasonable..

The rooms are large and have kind of an eclectic,chic decorating vibe to them . Bed linens,towels etc, are all top quality....bathroom was a decent size with a separate water closet and separate shower stall.

We had an oceanview room on the third floor. It gave us limited water view but also provided us with a pretty view of the mature resort gardens.

So now for the negative points we encountered.

Our beautiful terrace was constantly full of tiny ants .. The terrace doors are not sealed so of coarse the ants have a way of finding their way into the room We did not get many inside but there were so many on the terrace it made it difficult to enjoy our morning coffee outside.On day two of our stay we requested some sort of spraying to be done and this did help a little but only for a day or so.
On the last night of our stay it rained ,,a pretty heavy downpour which seemed to produce many moth type insects that collected around the lighting in the hallways at the resort.(open to outside)..We returned from having dinner to hundreds of these moths lurking in the hallways,..,on the walls ,around the lighting and of coarse many clinging to the exterior of our room door.
Upon entering our room we noticed the interior window coverings were covered with moths..I suppose they entered through the unsealed terrace door as we had left one light on in the room and this must have attracted them.
As we turned more lights on the moths began to swarm the room and needless to say it was certainly not a pleasant situation. My husband managed to get things under control and suppose if it would not have been our last night at the resort we would have asked for a possible room change. The floor in the room had many dead insects so we tried to clean things up the best we could.

We certainly do understand that insects are a fact of nature but did have some difficulty accepting so many of them into our room...Perhaps sealing the doors may help a situation like the one described but am not really sure.

I guess the question now is would we return to this resort ?...

Undecided at this point but seeing Casa Colonial has many positives perhaps one day we would consider another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews