We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming Haven in Puerto Plata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Welcoming Haven in Puerto Plata”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband's and my first visit to Casa Colonial was in 2009. Five years later after a second stay I am happy to report that Casa Colonial remains a lovely small boutique hotel. My husband and I booked Casa Colonial to spend a few days decompressing prior to departing Puerto Plata on a live aboard snorkel boat trip. During our latest visit (3 nights) we never ventured off of the grounds, being total slugs while relaxing and enjoying every minute of it.

For best views I recommend an ocean front room/suite although the garden suites offer soothing views of lush tropical greenery. From our third floor (top floor) room, the water view was partially filtered by beach trees but that lent one privacy. Sea breezes on one's veranda are refreshingly welcome on a hot sultry day. Both of us enjoyed lounging on our lanai watching waves roll in or colorful birds flitting about in the beach trees.

Our room was maintained beautifully. The hotel staff kept our room spotless and well-supplied with soap, shampoo, ice and fresh towels. The bed was very comfortable with crisp clean linens. Fresh smelling towels were thick plus there were always plenty of them available. Turn down service was available each evening; as a goodnight treat a little tasty sweet or cookie was left by housekeeping. Ice was brought to the room in the afternoon. We were both pleased that it was very quiet in our room as well as when we sat on the lanai. I am happy to report no loud racket from the All Inclusive resorts down the beach ever marred our stay.

Electrical outlets were not plentiful in our room, making charging electronics and camera batteries a challenge. I recommend traveling with a little travel-sized extension cord that offers multiple outlets. This was very helpful at Casa Colonial. One other unusual thing about our room was that the in room coffee pot was stored in the bathroom on top of a bureau yet there was nowhere to plug it in by the bureau. We had to plug the coffeepot into an outlet near the floor in the sitting area of our room, the coffee pot left on the floor while coffee brewed. This was a minor inconvenience. All in all, the hotel room was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

The expansive beach at Casa Colonial is tranquil, a far cry from the crowded All Inclusive properties located on either side of Casa Colonial. My husband and I are not beach bunnies, preferring not to bake in the strong tropical sunlight. Fortunately, Casa Colonial has abundant shade trees overhanging part of the beach to protect one from the sun; one can lounge underneath the beach trees while enjoying the view of the water. Be sure to lather up with sunscreen though. It's easy to get burned even in the shade (we got some sun that way). One can order drinks and food on the beach as well, a pleasant way to while away time counting the waves roll in or maybe enjoy some kite surfers speeding across the sea. Tables with chairs and chaise lounges with cushions are located on the beach, all placed at a good distances from each other for privacy. The view across the water of a point of undeveloped land is very attractive. It should be noted that on the uncrowded beach one will occasionally encounter some hawkers wandering about who want to braid your hair, sell you jewelry, sign you up for parasailing, etc. They are not the gadflies we have encountered at other places we've been but I still find them annoying when they interrupt a conversation or just get in one's way when trying to dreamily stare out to sea. Mercifully, at Casa Colonial there are no Time Share salesmen constantly pitching resort sales.

Several dining options are available at Casa Colonial. A beachside terrace restaurant, a rooftop poolside eatery with great views of the water and an elegant dinner restaurant are on premises. The food was very good at CC. One can also dine in one's room at no extra charge (we did that several times for breakfast and twice for dinner). The restaurants offered good variety, enough so that we were never bored with our meals over the three days we dined at Casa Colonial. My husband and I both ate raw foods (lettuce, tomatoes, fruit, etc) at Casa Colonial's restaurants and did not become ill. We also drank beverages with ice in them at Casa Colonial. The ice is purified. (Please note: do not drink the water from the tap at the hotel. Small bottles of purified water are provided by housekeeping although my husband bought some larger more economical bottles of water for our use at a little convenience store located in a tiny mall near Casa Colonial.) Some favorite recommended preparations were the lobster rolls, lobster crepes and a mushroom risotto (the delicious flavor was rich and earthy although the risotto is not as creamy as I commonly expect). We especially liked the airy open air third floor rooftop lunch place at Casa Colonial; expansive views of the water from there were delightful plus it was pleasantly breezy on hot days. A romantic candlelit dinner on the beach can also be reserved for US $195 + 38% tax and service charge. Wine is extra. If you book the beach meal I recommend doing it on a quiet weekday night rather than on a weekend; the All Inclusive resort next door sometimes throws beach parties that make for less than romantic dining.

The rooftop pool is inviting plus there are four little infinity-style Jacuzzis that have a great view of the water beyond.

The hotel's Bagua Spa is inviting and immaculate with a clean, private shower area. My husband and I reserved 1 hour 20 minute massages. In both cases, we thought our masseuses were among the best we had ever encountered.

One very nice note is that we had to be at the Ocean World Marina (25" from Casa Colonial in Cofresi) to board our whale snorkel boat at 5 pm. I requested a late check out from Casa Colonial. Reception allowed us to stay in our suite for an extension. It was very, very accommodating of the hotel to honor our request. Of course there are no guarantees that this can be done but it's worth asking. Reception was helpful with reserving taxis as well as answering questions about what to do in Puerto Plata. Prior to our arrival I requested Reception arrange a private airport transfer via email. All was handled expertly and efficiently.

Casa Colonial offers an a haven of tranquility in the midst of busy Puerto Plata's Playa Dorada. I can easily recommend this welcoming property.

Room Tip: For best views I recommend an ocean front room/suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whalegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you returned to us after 5 years. Your tips will no doubt be very very useful for future travelers – that was so kind of you to leave such details! We certainly hope you will not wait another 5 years for your 3rd visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    65
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
311
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The place is miles from removed from the fast paced all inclusive resorts. The rooms are extremely clean, the beds are clean and the hotel is spotless. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Slightly overpriced for the value but if you are stuck in puerto plata this is the best hotel in town, we spent two days checking.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our luxury, boutique resort. We do occasionally run special offers, so please do sign up to receive our newsletter from our website so you can be informed of these special deals. We do hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is out third year returning to Casa Colonial. In the past 30 yrs. we has vacationed in several Caribbean Islands and stayed at various very reputable hotels but this one is our very favorite. Aesthetically this boutique hotel is exceptional. The rooms very clean, well appointed and the beds so very comfortable. We had a room with balcony and ocean view..what a way to decompress, starting the day with coffee or sunset with a drink in hand listening the ocean waves. Casa Colonial has a new chef from Italy and he is slowly changing the menu with some truly exceptional dishes. Home made pasta is mouthwatering and so beautifully presented! We always found the meals very good and fresh but Chef Roberto has raised the bar many times over. Try the gnocchi with pesto or any of the new appetizers.. buonissimi! We had all our meals at the hotel and they were all wonderful. Great wine list as well.
All the staff are professional, courteous and always ready to please. Great to see so many of the same staff each time we return. The Spa facilities are very good and are open even after hours for sauna, steam or gym, great way to end a day of suntanning or from walking the long beach. Afternoon drinks/relax in one of the four hot tubs overlooking the beach is another key feature of this wonderful resort.
We have already booked out 2 week stay for 2015.

Room Tip: all rooms excellent. the gardens are exceptional so a non ocean view room is just as wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Your continued patronage just means the world to us and is the highest compliment we can receive. We will certainly pass your kind words onto Chef Roberto and the rest of the staff. We can’t wait to see you both again in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The doorman said it best when we first arrived - "welcome home". These simple words couldn't have been more true. The Casa Colonial, one of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, came to represent an oasis in Puerto Plata. From the glorious accommodations, to the fabulous staff, to the quiet rooftop pool, this is truly the only place to stay in Puerto Plata. While it would be considered expensive when compared to the neighbouring all-inclusive resorts, it epitomizes the phrase that "you get what you pay for". When you looked from the beach at the resorts on either side of the Casa Colonial, you saw crowded facilities and non-stop noise while the beach at Casa Colonial was open and peaceful. When we ventured off the property to tour the town or attend a scuba dive, we always felt like we had arrived home when we got back to the resort. Our thanks to the entire staff for making our week very memorable. As for the noise concerns previously noted - the all inclusive resorts that neighbour the hotel can be intrusive. But if you turn the air conditioning on high (but at a higher temperature so you don't end up an ice cube) then the "white noise" helps in this regard. Besides, would you rather be a neighbour to the noise or be in the middle of it?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBandHillaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
What a lovely review - thank you so much. We love your poetic wording! We do truly believe that attention to detail certainly makes the difference and that is so important in a small boutique hotel such as Casa Colonial. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to the staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a stunning property with spacious rooms and excellent personalized service. I had a wonderful dinner at the fine dining restaurant with outstanding food. I had the special mushroom risotto and it was as goi as it gets. The rooftop terrace and pool also has the best fish tacos you will have anywhere. A real jewel and I highly recommend as a chic and romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kattraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We love the ‘chic and romantic’ getaway – we may just use that! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa Colonial. We will share your compliments with our chefs and staff. We do hope we will see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The property and location was excellent! We had a great room overlooking the beach with a balcony. The furnishings were up-to-date and the room was a good size. The beach is beautiful and not crowded - it was nice to not have to rush for a chair on the beach or pool in the morning. Though the hotel is expensive, the drinks and food are very reasonable. The spa area is very nice and the massage I got was very good.

The customer service was very good, however, my only complaint is the speed of service when ordering from the beach (the resume for 4 stars versus 5). It took quite awhile to get a drink and oftentimes we had to seek out a waiter since they weren't coming to the beach area frequently. Overall another great experience with a Small Luxury Hotel (SLH) property!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielleknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our quiet and peaceful resort. We are sorry to hear that you experienced slow service at the beach. Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority and we do hope you see an improvement on your next visit, which we do hope will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXWORLDTRAVEL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Spent 4nights at Casa Colonial in DR - absolutely phenom experience from the meet n' greet at the airport throughout the entire visit!

Pluses:
- Personal VIP Meet n' Greet as I got off the airplane through Customs and Immigration (well worth the added expense)
- Bar (WOW!) ... best Vodka Martini in the Caribbean
- Restaurant ---- EXTREMELY civilized and worth visiting
- Pool (WOW!!!) ... how awesome is that view!
- Room ---- outstanding!
- Spa --- incredibly relaxing
- Staff --- some of the best I have worked with in many years of travel
- Single bill included everything I spent (including taxi services)

Casa Colonial is definitely on my list for a return visit! I was NOT interested in a HUGE mega hotel with lots of noise ... Casa Colonial was extremely civilized and well secluded.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXWORLDTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – thank you so much for pointing out the pluses you experienced in each area of the resort! We will certainly pass along your compliments to the staff and we do hope your next visit will not be too far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,719 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing