We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best EXPERIENCE Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have never stayed in a more BEAUTIFUL hotel such as Casa Colonial! I walked into this impressive colonial building with white pillars, encasing a garden, consisting of beautiful exotic tropical flowers and herbs. It was a breathtaking moment that I relished every minute over and over and again.

The hotel is located on a beautiful white sandy beach, that is absolutely clean and clear of debris. The wind factor was minimal to none the whole time I was there, which I found to be amazing, having left Punto Cana, and it's fierce beach weather. The staff, the food, the building, the landscape was magnificent and so inviting!! We had breakfast on the private veranda, looking into the blue ocean. Mimosas and other cocktails were brought to us on the beach at a minute's request. Though I was never hungry enough for an afternoon lunch, they did serve it daily right on the beach. We enjoyed cocktails in the hot tub deck on the roof top that overlooks the beach, and dinner at the Lucia Gourmet Restaurant with views into the garden and nightcaps at the gazebo to close out the night. The hotel provided service everywhere you were at, either in the gym at 7 o'clock in the morning, the spa in the mid afternoon or in the gazebo at 11 o'clock at night.. I did not stay in the room very much, but it was as immaculate and inviting as it's surrounding setting. I felt as if I was in a magical bubble and hoping it won't burst. I have never experienced a more PERFECT combination of product and service. I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! I want a do over!

Room Tip: I assume all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinaExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent vacation with us! The resort team works hard to provide excellent service so it is always gratifying when that is reward with kind words. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef and the rest of team. We hope you get to come for your ‘do over’ very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 535 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for 8 days.

When we arrived, we were told that our room had been changed from a king size bed to two doubles. At first, it didn't seem so bad but my husbands feet hung off the bed, which was uncomfortable for him.

Everything seemed great at first but over time we started to experience multiple inconveniences. First, there's an area to the back where someone constantly was pounding on something. It sounded like construction, but we had to call the reception to have the person stop. It stopped on the first day, but it continued for the remainder of our stay. The noise would start at about 8:30am till about 10pm. We could also hear music from the neighboring hotel, but it wasn't as bad as the construction/pounding noise.

They don't update their menu often. Whenever I ordered something, I was always told a main ingredient was not available. If they don't have an item for an extended period of time, they should consider changing the menu or just having seasonal menus.

The hotel was incredibly understaffed at lunch time. There were about 20 customers and one person taking orders and bringing out food. For 8 days, I always received my drink well AFTER I completed my lunch. They also don't write down orders. I ordered some things and after waiting for a while, I asked to find out where my order was. The woman told me she forgot! Also, one of the guys who worked at the restaurant near the beach was a complete jerk.

On the brighter side - the hotel is beautiful, it's on the beach, and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing Casa Colonial for your holiday vacation. We do appreciate your comments and the information as these assist us with making improvements that may be necessary to maintain the level of quality that is known at VH Hotels & Resorts. We do appreciate your comments about the food and service, but please be assured we will address these items and hope the situation experienced will not deter you from returning to our resort. We hope you enjoyed the Champagne we sent you for your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the lovely Casa Colonial hotel. The property is luxurious and our experience was further enhanced by the warm and helpful staff. Basilia Diaz and her team went out of their way to make our stay comfortable especially looking after our little baby. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beach is gorgeous and the pool and hot tubs have the most stunning views. Throughly recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rpar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We are truly delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We think “Gem” is the perfect word to describe our little piece of the world! We do hope you will be able to return for another stay very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Casa Colonial is the best hotel in Puerta Plata so far as I know. It is a "boutique" hotel directly on the beach such that all of the ground floor rooms open onto the sand. Being "boutique" it is not a mega resort which is a little unusual in the Dominican Republic where all inclusive seems to be the norm.

We were planning on going to Punta Cana but everything available was all inclusive. Read something in the Trip Advisor forum where the author suggested looking on the North Coast. This was a lucky break since we were not looking for all inclusive. We wanted the option of trying other places to eat and generally prefer to be somewhat independent. So we switched from Punta Cana airport to Puerto Plata and reserved at Casa Colonial.

Casa Colonial is a very nice property. Nothing "dated," all very newish and quite tasteful. There is a huge clean soft sand beach and the entire property is within a secure area that is access controlled. You can leave the hotel and turn left on the beach and then run or walk for a couple of miles. You can also take a jog around the golf course area without venturing beyond what is essentially a private community.

The staff was very friendly. The General Manager, Basilia, was very cordial, caring and helpful.

This might seem like a very sugary review but it is a consequence of our reviewing most of the prior reviews for hotels in Punta Cana, La Romana and Puerto Plata. Even after doing that there is still some trepidation going to a new place and it is a great relief when everything turns out well which it did!

So the Dominican Republic seems dominated by all inclusive hotels that are very much like cruise ships on land. One price, all you can eat and drink though not super great and some preplanned activities. If that is your interest then neither this review nor the Casa Colonial is for you but there is in the DR. For the really unlucky there are plenty of condo and vacation clubs that will take your money.

If you you were looking for something more inclined to luxury than Casa Colonial might be your only choice. The don't sell condos, time shares or any of that crazy stuff.

It's minutes into town by taxi or rental car though driving can be a bit of a challenge (think something in between Manhattan and Delhi). The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport. In town there are some great restaurant choices which give you an alternative to eating at the hotel. We went to Mares (gourmet) and Ponderosa Del Mar (local Carib, not fancy but delicious lobster right out of the tank -- two people with bottle of wine $125). If you don't want to leave the hotel you can eat for three or four days in their restaurant with no regrets and they have a wide selection of wines as well.

No insect bites despite walking the beach for hours. YMMV. There is a "water sports center" nearby where you can rent a kayak, jet ski or arrange a dive trip. If you turn right and head down the beach in that direction you eventually run into a security guard who advises you that the beach beyond is not secure so we didn't venture past though many people did seemingly without a problem. Free Wifi worked most of the time. We didn't try the spa but it looked nice. Everything was super clean. Photos are accurate.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the ocean so only question is what floor? 1, 2 or 3. Ground floor rooms m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FL450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

What a lovely review - thank you so much. We are so pleased to hear that your research paid off! Your comments will no doubt be useful to future guests. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to the staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and next time, please do experience our spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Wow, our family enjoyed every moment of our 4 night visit to Casa Colonial! The setting is sophisticated yet relaxed, and the main hotel reminds me of a stunning mansion not a commercial hotel. Despite its pristine beach, lush landscape, clear warm water and picturesque grounds it is the staff who made our stay one of the most special and intimate experiences we've had in a long time. All of the people who work here are thoughtful, kind and friendly and make you feel welcome and well cared for. Many stand out but especially the restaurant staff Ramon, Diane, Ambrosio and Nathan the concierge. Others whose names we never learned were no less caring including the beach front and spa staff and housekeeping. Thank you ALL, your made our son's birthday quite festive and memorable, and we look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Splurge on a beach front, the views are wonderful and easy access to the beach and pool. As for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We are so pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you choose Casa Colonial for your son’s birthday! Thank you so much for posting your kind comments. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to all of the staff you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

You never know what to believe when viewing comments and photos online. Believe me when I say that this is one of our best travel experiences ever. There is a reason that Casa Colonial is ranked #1 on the North Coast. I expected Robin Leach to come strolling through giving his exuberant approval. From the time Julian the Bellman greeted us, to nightly pre dinner cocktails served by Manuel in the lobby bar, until our final meal at the rooftop pool with server Leandro, we were impressed. The entire staff was laid back, but very accommodating. This place is all about peace, quiet, relaxation and luxury. The ocean front room was spacious and luxurious. The large bathroom was as nice as home. The food and drink was outstanding but slightly over priced. We learned quickly that we should head to the local liquor store and buy spirits and mixers to keep in the room and take on the beach. The morning breakfast at the Veranda was tasty. The Santa Domingo French Roast coffee that was being served was so good that we sought it out at the local market and brought some home to the US. The gardens were in full bloom and made for a beautiful stroll from the residential quarters over to the main house. The front desk was very helpful with sight seeing excursions to Puerto Plata and to Santiago for Dominican Winter League Baseball. The last few days we really enjoyed the rooftop pool and spa. The first few days we spent several hours a day on the pristine beach. There are Playa Dorado approved vendors walking the beach, but they always walked away when we politely responded, "No thank you". We plan on going back as soon as possible! We have now found our home away from home in the Dominican Republic. If you are looking for a large party atmosphere that would satisfy your average cruise or all inclusive traveler, look elsewhere. This a cut above. - Darin & Mary Davis - Trophy Club, TX USA

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DarinDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

What a lovely review - thank you so much. We do truly believe that attention to detail certainly makes the difference and that is so important in a small boutique hotel such as Casa Colonial. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to the chefs and to all of the staff you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a lovely resort. As you enter the front doors you are immediately swept up by the airiness and beauty of the lobby. With high ceilings, shiny stone floors and white fluttering drapery your initial impression is of luxury. We were greeted, registered and given a welcome cocktail, with ease. The air of the resort was of calmness and serenity. There are orchards everywhere....very beautiful. Our room was on the third floor that looked out to the ocean. Ocean view was not quite ocean view as the view was obscured by the palms and the too tall seagrape. The room was well appointed with a four poster king bed, a sofa, chairs, desk, a balcony with chairs and a very large bathroom. The bed linens were crisp and the towels big and fluffy. The grounds and beach are very clean and well maintained. The restaurants are spacious with lovely decor. The food was very good as was the service.
The biggest downfall for us was the lack of Internet. It was spotty at best. Since this is important for my husband's business it was a disappointment.
But, this is luxury, calm and service at its best. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank barbinbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are pleased that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your complimentary feedback with our team. We will look into the internet issue, normally the signal is strong. We very much look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $189 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing