We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$173
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$170
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Presidential Suites by Lifestyle(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$307
$170
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$204
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$208
$92
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$342
$260
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playabachata Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
451
72
14
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
72
14
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolboutique hotelrecommend casasmall luxurybeautiful small hoteldominican breakfastwe ordered room serviceocean frontdominican republicthird floorturn down serviceplaya doradarooms are largeinclusive resortsour honeymoongoatjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 568 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We loved every minute of our time at this beautiful, quiet, private place. We were pampered from the moment we arrived. The buildings and grounds are spectacular and meticulously maintained. The room was wonderful, large and open with a balcony looking over the beach. The pool area is breathtaking. The staff was friendly, accommodating and professional, and they capably walked the fine line between being extremely attentive and allowing privacy. The food was excellent regardless of where we ate - in the restaurant, on the veranda, and poolside. The beach was scenic and fairly private. Everything about the facility was of the highest quality. (We did not take advantage of the spa.) We made a reservation here almost by accident, but we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beach-side rooms have the best view, although the trees block some of the view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We appreciate receiving your kind review. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service and we will certainly pass on your compliments! This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Casa Colonial very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Please read my full review here http://archerabi.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/dominican-republic-2/

We stayed at a resort called Casa Colonial. The resort is designed like a colonial villa and is located right on the beach. It is located, along with many other resorts in a walled area called Playa Dorado. The Playa contains everything a tourist would need for the duration of their stay, including a pharmacy, restaurants, shopping center etc. Pulling up at the entrance one will immediately realize that this resort is a class above every other resort in Puerto Plata

Room Tip: Oceanfront Lanai
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank archerabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved the dining room and chef John Carlos(spelling may be wrong).Being there at low season gave us the advantage of speaking with him each night for recommendations and what wonderful dishes they were,both delicious and presented beautifully.He is a very talented chef.We dined looking out at a gorgeous garden with orchids winding around a tree outside the window.We also enjoyed the breakfast/lunch restaurant on a deck overlooking the beach and the ocean.Ramon,Noel and Augustin were friendly,competent servers and made it very pleasant.At both restaurants,since everything is cooked to order,prepare to enjoy the ambience and conversation.
The suite we stayed in was lovely and comfortable.The service was excellent.The beach is beautifully maintained and security is always present.I enjoy beach shopping so the occasional vendor was not problematic.Being a beach person,I spent no time at the pool but it is stunning and the view from the roof is delightful.
The biggest negative we encountered was that the resort is not well set-up for those with a walking disability.There are a number of 2 or 3 step staircases and these do not have banisters.The ramps are too steep too walk with a cane or walker.However,the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback and we will definitely pass along your comments to Chef Giancarlo Fiori. You are correct that the hotel is not set up for guests with disabilities, and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused, but we are pleased to hear that the staff was able to provide assistance. We certainly hope be able to welcome back to Casa Colonial again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Casa Colonial has the right recipe - great design, superb service, dedicated staff, top line products (Frette bedding/robes), and fantastic location. Upon arrival, your welcome sets the stage for a truly relaxing and indulging getaway. This is the type of small, boutique property that pays close attention to every detail and truly wants to satisfy its guests. The hotel management is very visible throughout the property - welcoming and engaging guests. Basilia, the GM, is a lovely individual who truly cares and expects the very best of her staff to ensure that guests and the hotel are well tended to. Casa Colonial really takes the guess work out of booking taxis (done and charged by hotel), finding tours and restaurants. There's top shelf offering at all bars with very well trained bartenders ready to pour a delicious drink. The beach area is impeccably maintained offering very comfortable cushioned teak chairs with uniformed staff monitoring your needs and keep tight security on the property's beach perimeter. Yes, you still get the local vendors - but they don't linger as much. At night, security is heightened even more to offer guests the opportunity to enjoy a moonlit stroll on the beach. The food was delicious - albeit the service is sometimes a bit slow - you know Caribbean time.
Our room - ocean front junior suite - offered all the luxurious amenities that we love and the balcony was large enough to relax and offered comfy seating areas. It was perfect for two adults and a child. The soaking tub was enjoyed by all! Nightly water/ice and cookies service was that special treat that brought a smile to our faces before going to bed.
Our only suggestion is for Casa Colonial to consider adding a large, comfy game room area of some sort - like offer board and table games so that visiting families can enjoy a bit of a break. It would be truly lovely if this hotel offered a top notch kids' club so parents can enjoy a quiet early dinner or lunch on their own.
We cannot wait to return and spend time here. Thank you for making our stay so special! See you again soon!

Room Tip: The best are ocean front junior suites.. but the garden views are also quite lovely...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WonderousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Four of us stayed here in two beautiful rooms over looking the ocean. We all loved the place. The spa was wonderful, the dinner at the restaurant was amazing and the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel make this a place where we are sure to return. Unlike other people, we had no problem with the wifi...I was able to watch March Madness on my slingbox from home.

As a tip, if you are dining at the restaurant on premises, get the mushroom risotto and the ahi tuna tartar. Both are fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ufalum88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews